We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Improving Always Pricey”
Review of The Shilla Jeju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shilla Jeju
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Seogwipo
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Always Improving Always Pricey”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I wrote a review of this hotel in 2009. Since then we have been back to the Jeju Shilla numerous times and I thought I would provide an update. The Shilla is still the No. 1 hotel in the entire island. The staff are courteous and professional. The rooms and food are all top quality.

What visitors should know about are the omnipresence of small children - everywhere. If you are a parent of young ones (like me - 6 year old son) then this is not an issue. But if you are a business traveller or a couple, you should know that during the weekend there is a good chunk of families who come down from Seoul to Jeju for the weekend and this is where they all stay. This explains why the Parkview - as humongous as it has become - still has lines of people waiting for tables after 9 am.

Another relatively new feature of the hotel is the Glamping/Camping Dinners. Basically the hotel has set up several tents and have outfitted each tent with a dinner table and a barbecue. They provide an icebox full of food to be grilled (abalone, sausages, beef, veggies, pork) and also provide some additional side dishes. You can then retire to the tent or have your kids run around in a small playground set up in the middle of the tents. Glamping ("glamour camping") is a more expensive set up where there is a large sofa, a record player and an electric fireplace set up in a larger tent. It's fun to try once. Most people especially from North America will probably scratch their heads at why Koreans will pay USD 150-300 per person just to get a tent and a grill.

In terms of activities we have come back here so often we don't really hang out at the hotel anymore. After breakfast we meet up with our regular taxi driver (who is always parked at the hotel) and he has taken around all over the island. One of our favorite activities is to go to the port opposite the small island of Cha-gyi-do to rent a boat to go fishing. We have yet to take a boat trip here and come back empty handed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammedyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    175
    47
    13
    15
See reviews for
242
143
15
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Even though the hotel may be far from downtown Jeju-si but the stay was worth it. Check in was fast, the room was large and bathroom spacious. Nice soft big bed. Breakfast had many choices. The meeting room was ok and had banquet dinner later which was delicious (good enough to cater for us vegetarian/non beef eater). Free wifi at room and lobby but not in restaurants or conference rooms. Well kept gardens with nice scenery. Staff were friendly and helpful but could have smile more. Limo services were good. Could have more English TV channels though. Not all rooms got complimentary bottled water. Overall: enjoyed my stay there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drhattasabah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very nice hotel, clean, friendly, and with good facility. Breakfast is nice, the pool, both indoor and outdoor is fantastic, and you can also jog around the hotel garden. The take care of every little small things, and the welcoming gift is very nice. Choose rooms with sea-view (I am not sure if they have all rooms facing the sea).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChoongSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is certainly a extremely well maintained property owned and run by the hospitality division of the Samsung Group. It was only after a few days staying here that we realised that most of the other people staying here were in some sort of free junket paid for the company. This may also be one of the reasons that virtually everyone wore beachwear, whether by the pool or in the restaurants and bars in the evening (regulation baseball cap and crocs seemed to be de rigeur for the men and women)
The staff to guest ratio must be one if the highest anywhere in the world, but the feeling is nonetheless somewhat stifling as there are staff members everywhere. Few of them seem willing to speak a word of English, to the extent it seems easier to say no rather than assist. As other visitors have already commented, food and drink in the hotel, while of a consistently high standard is extremely expensive (fruit juice by the pool which my 5 year old inadvertently ordered was billed to my account at 19000 Won). There are no kiddie options and you have to wander out to the mini-mart to buy an ice-cream.
Sadly on our recent trip, the weather was the real let down and so we were forced to spend more time inside the hotel than we had planned. There is a decent beach, but it is an arduous walk down and especially back up to the hotel and here is no food or bar service available (just coffee or tea).

Room Tip: everything is in Korean so don't forget to ask for info on all activities or you will miss out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonRoastbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osan, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

From the minute we walked in we were pampered. The staff showed us to a table to sit down and served us honey tea while we waited to be checked in. They came to our table to explain our room and about the hotel. The location was perfect! Most of the attractions I wanted to see where on the south end of the island and after flying in and driving through the city of Jeju, I knew I didn't want to stay there. The breakfast buffet is amazing... just about everything you could imagine at breakfast. I admit I did not tour much of the grounds because we were so busy out and about around the island. My only complaint would be the beds were very hard. I know that in Korea this is the norm but I do love a soft pillow top bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

There. I said it. This hotel rocks. Great location. Awesome view. Private beach. Great landscaping. Very large property. Cute mini-zoo for the kids (love those adorable ferrets). Best breakfast buffet I ever had.

Is it expensive? Of course. Is it worth it? Yes!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The staff is very hospitable and friendly. The food is excellent. We came for the IPVS 2012 convention. Unbelievable! The grounds are absolutely beautiful. I wish this place was closer to Canada! If you visit, please check on the ferrets, make sure they have water ok!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the traditional rooms. They looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherieChloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.2 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#3 of 87 in Seogwipo
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jeju
Hyatt Regency Jeju
#8 of 87 in Seogwipo
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kensington Jeju Hotel
Kensington Jeju Hotel
#7 of 87 in Seogwipo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
17.2 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 154 in Jeju
270 reviews
25.8 mi away
Haevichi Hotel & Resort Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shilla Jeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shilla Jeju

Property: The Shilla Jeju
Address: 72beon-Gil | Jungmungwanggwang-Ro, Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-807, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seogwipo
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Family Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Seogwipo
#2 Spa Hotel in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shilla Jeju 5*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Shilla Jeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shilla Jeju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Hotel Seogwipo
Shilla Cheju Seogwipo
The Shilla Jeju Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing