We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic-Amazing-Incredible!”
Review of Tae Gong Gak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seogwipo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tae Gong Gak
Ranked #1 of 184 Seogwipo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic-Amazing-Incredible!”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We found TGG via Tripadvisor and after reading all the positive reviews we booked room 101 online for our short stay of 3D2N in Jeju.

What they reviewed here is 100% accurate!

Sylvia and Peter are very friendly, very helpful and know our needs very well. They recommended fantastic affordable food, suggested places worth visiting within our time frame and advised against certain places that are over-hyped. They wouldn't recommend places and food that are too touristy and gave us very detailed directions to find places so that we wouldn't be lost all the time. They also wrote food order for us! All these, without us prompting for it!

The room is very spacious, luxurious.. it's like staying in 5-star hotel. Towels and mineral water are provided - we don't see that often in guesthouses/inns. Even though the room rate is higher than others in Jeju, it's truly worth your money! We felt so much at home in TGG, chatting without restraint with the owners, had good rest and sleep in the room and enjoyed the fantastic view from the rooftop (Sylvia ran out to the terrace to give us warm blankets so we won't catch cold.. awww) We even saw snow in Jeju during our stay, we witnessed it with Sylvia :)

On the morning we left, Sylvia packed special tuna sandwich so that we won't be hungry on the way to airport. She is so thoughtful, kind, friendly and hospitable! The tuna sandwich is so delicious.. I want more!

Will definitely go back to TGG again, I miss them already!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophistafunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
146
140
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Traveling around Jeju was one of the best thing I've ever had in my life. Of course it's a magnificent island but I'm writing this because of TGG, their accommodation definately made my trip thoroughly enjoyable. It's a place overlooking all of Seogwipo including waterfalls. Seeing Jeju from their rooftop just took my breath away. It's indescribable! They also have their own tagerine orchard in the backyard. Also the place's very clean- it's been renovated recently, and they helped me with variety pleasant services. Not to mention the hosts were personable.
If you are looking for a trip, go to Jeju and don't miss the opportunity to take it with TGG. You would love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipity2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Sylvia and Peter were hospitable. They speak English. Phew.
If you want to drive around Jeju, make sure you get yourself an International Licence or Sylvia and Peter can hook you up with some cool taxi tours with Mr. Kim and Mr. Koh, who will bring you around the island, take your pictures while practicing their English on you :)
Stay in the inn and not anywhere else on Jeju. Not even Hyatt. Tae Gong Gak is the one for Jeju.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzybellyhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Arrived TGG after 80minutes in the airport bus #600 as stated by excellent instructions from Sylvia. When we arrived, Peter & Sylvia checked us in. Peter insisted to carry our very heavy luggage upstairs. There is no lift in TGG. Room was super clean. Heated floors (Temperature was -3C when we arrived at 2pm). Bathroom was not heated, so for us, its quite cold when we enter the bath area. We were quite hungry as it was past our lunchtime and Sylvia's husband insisted to take us over to the lovely traditional Korean restaurant which was about 1km away from TGG and ordered the set meals for us, WOW ! (Korean restaurants in Jeju are not able to speak good english, generally). We were so impressed by the hospitality shown by TGG.

TGG have powerpoint slides with photos & directions to show all the restaurants and areas. You cannot go wrong. We booked a taxi tour to the east side of Jeju and TGG arranged an excellent taxi driver, Mr Kang, who took us to all the interesting places plus the UNESCO Heritage Sites. We can choose our destinations too. The tour was from 9am - 6pm. It was a private tour and Mr Kang took us to a very good korean seafood restaurant for lunch.

I would recommend TGG to anyone who are looking for a good, quiet and private stay in Jeju. Sylvia & Peter, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thevisionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I stayed in TGG last year in October with my family. Sylvia and Peter are just great ! Very very helpful and friendly. The room is comfortable and clean.Situated near shops and restaurants,The breakfast spread at TGG was great too and you can have free internet access at the common area. Everything about TGG from its rooms to the breakfast has a homely and welcoming feel to it.

The only con would be its distance from the airport.- about an hour plus by car. Otherwise, it was a truly pleasant and memorable stay. Thanks Sylvia and Peter. Keep up the good work! :)

I DEFINITELY recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank crymsonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at this establishment for 4 nights early January 2011, and have nothing but praises for Peter (staff) and Sylvia (owner) who both extended their warm welcome, and friendliness (and friendship) to us right from the moment we stepped through the door.

Facilities were good and location was excellent. Heaps of restaurants around, and Peter's suggestion was always spot on. They even have a Powerpoint slideshow of the route to take (with pics of buildings and points-of-interest) when you ask him about going someplace. (A GPS of sort)

It was sad to leave on the last day but Peter even insisted on helping us with our luggages to the bus stop for the airport bus some 200 meters away from the establishment. Surely a call beyond duty.

This is is truly a unique setup with wonderful staff, and we were so pleased to have found it from previous reviews on this website.

We went there as visitors but left as friends of Peter and Sylvia.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyVegemite888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, Korea
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The best part about this Inn is the staff. They were so kind, friendly, helpful and generous. And they were like that with every guest I saw them interacting with at the Inn. I was traveling with my partner and mom, and on our third night on Jeju my mom got food poisoning (not from anything at the Inn) and at 2:00am one of the staff drove us to the hospital and stayed with us the whole time to help out and translate for us. They were honestly some of the nicest people I've ever met in my life!

The Inn itself was recently remodeled and was very simple and tastefully done. Our room and bathroom were a good size and impeccably clean. There is also a kitchen area that allows you to come and go as your please free of charge. There was cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, juice, coffee, tea and other breakfast things to choose from (you had to get up early to get a bagel). It was also a nice place to meet the other people staying in the Inn and chat with them.

Overall, I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone. There were families, solo travelers, small groups of young people and couples all staying there. It's just such a nice place I think anyone would like it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seogwipo
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Jeju Seogwipo Ocean
0.1 mi away
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
Jeju Ocean Palace Hotel
#11 of 87 in Seogwipo
255 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 155 in Jeju
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
8.7 mi away
Lotte Hotel Jeju
Lotte Hotel Jeju
#3 of 87 in Seogwipo
725 reviews
8.0 mi away
Benikea Jungmun Hotel
Benikea Jungmun Hotel
#1 of 87 in Seogwipo
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tae Gong Gak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tae Gong Gak

Property: Tae Gong Gak
Address: 369, Taepyung-Ro | (Seogwi-Dong), Seogwipo, Jeju Island 697-812, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Seogwipo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Seogwipo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tae Gong Gak Inn sits atop a hill that looks down on the famous Cheonjiyeon Waterfall in Seogwipo City on the south coast of Jeju Island. By taking #600 airport limousine from jeju airport you can easily arrive at TGG. TGG provides with top-of-the-line amenities including 29-inch flat-screen plasma TV, refrigerator, air conditioning, and WIFI. Our new rooms feature sweeping views of Jeju's natural wonders, including Seogwipo Harbor and Mt. Halla. In addition, from our rooftop you can enjoy panoramic views of the South Sea (Seop Island, Moon Island, and Sae Island). It is easy and convenient to reach any part of Jeju Island from Tae Gong Gak Inn by public transportation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tae Gong Gak Inn & Guesthouse Hotel Seogwipo
Tae Gong Gak Inn And Guesthouse
Tae Gong Gak Seogwipo, Jeju Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing