We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband has had more experience staying in traditional places, but this was my first. And it was a great experience! I loved staying here. The owners, who live on the premises, were very welcoming and friendly. They have 2 dogs and my husband, who is not keen about dogs, was a little nervous but after introducing ourselves to them, the dogs accepted us. It is a traditional Koren house with traditional sleeping arrangements - you sleep on the floor on thin mattresses. We are middle-aged and so are getting a little stiff, but it was easy to get used to and ended up being comfortable. Basic bathroom facilities at the back of the room with no towels provided - but available on request. There is a common room with free breakfast and WiFi. The location is wonderful - easy walking distance to many archaeological sites of the Silla kingdom. Opposite a tumuli park and easy walking distance to the town. We had a wonderful 2 meals at a traditional Korean BBQ - opposite to the historic sites, just turn left at the end of the street. Stay here if you are visiting Gyeongju - quiet and relaxed - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yrinsyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here based upon the many glowing reviews seen on this site but maybe my expectations were driven too high by reading these prior to going...

Sure, it is well located within walking distance to the tumuli, the parks, the town centre for food etc but I think that the reviews here fail to highlight just how "backpacky" this place is and the target market they clearly aim and cater for. It was not the easiest place to find (we had our own rental car) but that's not a major issue of course. However the place itself was pretty average. The communal areas like the dining area and the kitchen were grubby and worn and not kept clean. Breakfast was, contrary to the many reports here saying it was fine and adequate, very disappointing ! I mean...staying at a "traditional Korean guesthouse" doesn't one reasonably expect a Korean breakfast instead of "do-it-yourself" toast and fried eggs...what's all that about ?! The room itself was very basic, again everything appeared not very clean, dusty and worn out. The courtyard was untidy with scruffy furniture (a strange mix of old wooden things with a few white plastic chairs thrown in) and a couple of unkempt-looking dogs running around barking (one of which was vomiting fluorescent yellow stuff over the courtyard while we were trying to sit and relax on one of the chairs) - if you don't like dogs may be worth considering whether this is the place for you. In general it had a very "backpacky" feel to it and not what I was expecting for the price. I fully agree with the comments regarding the owners / staff being friendly and helpful though.

In summary we stayed a few guesthouses during our fabulous trip to Korea but this one, I'm afraid, was the most under-whelming of the lot. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This traditional korean guesthouse is really nice. Around a lovely courtyard with tables and couch, traditional korean rooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. The best place to taste korean bed : a little bit hard !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeleneSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am glad we were able to stay two nights here. Staying in a traditional korean house is a memorable experience. The architecture, heated floors, paper doors, and beautiful surroundings are unique. And for a history buff, being able to see some of the beautiful Royal Tombs of Silla across the street from the guesthouse is a real treat! However, as mentioned in a previous post, you pay for the experience, not the comfort. Just hope that your neighbors are quiet because you can hear everything. And to get to the shared bathroom and shower, you had to take a little walk outside. But other than that, the room was clean, the bunkbed comfortable and the owner is very nice and helpful. I enjoyed eating breakfast outside in the courtyard, among the flowers, and the birds, and was able to see why Korea is called "The Land of the Morning Calm". We had a very hard time finding the place even though we had a map and directions written in english and korean that the owner had sent us by email. From the bus stop near the guesthouse, after twenty to thirty minutes of walking around in circles showing the map to residents who didn't have a clue where the guesthouse was, we finally reached our destination. Tip: if you arrive in Gyeongju by train, take a taxi from the train station to the guesthouse. Make sure you have a copy of the address in korean. The taxi drivers who speak english are very rare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very happy I managed to stay here for at least one night even without a prior reservation - this place is extremely popular, so booking in advance is a must.

But do remember - you pay for the traditional experience, not the comfort. So this means sleeping on the hard floor in a tiny room with paper-thin walls. Perhaps this is exactly why you came here in the first place, but it still needs to be said. :-)

Located in a housing cluster next to the burial ground of ancient Korean kings, it may be a bit difficult to find at first - but they have a huge sign on the wall, so if you pass by it, you will not miss it. It is some 20 minutes walking distance from the bus station.

Simple breakfast is included and you can enjoy it in a sunny inner yard, where the only disturbance to your inner peace is the owner's dog enthusiastically running around.

It is a great starting point for exploring several Gyeongju sights - e.g. the burial ground or Observatory, but you will need to do a bit of walking to get dinner in the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Super location, great support, simply everything you need on your way with backpack. Kitchen is ready for you, wifi is available. We were afraid of sleeping on ondol, but its duable. Also dont worry for temperature, we had around 10 degree and no issues with standard (provided) blankets. Communication regarding reservation took some time and it doesnt make sense to write sooner then 2 months before, dont give up :-).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this guest house via email, the owner spoke English so it was easy to reserve a room.
We stayed in a traditional Korean ondol room that had an en suite bathroom. There was hot water.
They were able to provided extra mattresses on request.
Breakfast was available to make yourself in the communal kitchen between 6-11am. Plenty of eggs and sliced bread plus tea and coffee. There were two full stoves, 3x double sinks, fully equipped with utensils, pots etc so plenty of space for everyone to cook out of each other's way.
There was a hot water filter machine to make hot drinks that you could use any time.
Location was very good, central, just a short walk to the main road. There are lots of restaurants cafes, convenient stores near by.
They had useful maps with information on how to get to sites, buses etc and you could ask the couple for further information, suggestions, book a taxi etc as they both spoke English.
There was free wifi that worked, it just took a bit of time to connect to it.
The walls of the rooms are made with the traditional korean paper so you can hear others in rooms nearby if they flushed a toilet but apart from that everyone wasn't loud.
There are two family dogs which didn't cause any problems, they kept them tied up so they didn't run around.
The couple both very nice friendly and helpful, keeping a lovely traditional Korean style guest house. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
4.1 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 24 in Gyeongju
764 reviews
0.5 mi away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 24 in Gyeongju
72 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 24 in Gyeongju
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
0.5 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gyeongju
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
Jin Hanok Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Gyeongju
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse

Address: 238-1 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse Hotel Gyeongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing