We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse with tumulis view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gyeongju
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This traditional korean guesthouse is really nice. Around a lovely courtyard with tables and couch, traditional korean rooms. Staff is friendly and helpful. The best place to taste korean bed : a little bit hard !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeleneSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am glad we were able to stay two nights here. Staying in a traditional korean house is a memorable experience. The architecture, heated floors, paper doors, and beautiful surroundings are unique. And for a history buff, being able to see some of the beautiful Royal Tombs of Silla across the street from the guesthouse is a real treat! However, as mentioned in a previous post, you pay for the experience, not the comfort. Just hope that your neighbors are quiet because you can hear everything. And to get to the shared bathroom and shower, you had to take a little walk outside. But other than that, the room was clean, the bunkbed comfortable and the owner is very nice and helpful. I enjoyed eating breakfast outside in the courtyard, among the flowers, and the birds, and was able to see why Korea is called "The Land of the Morning Calm". We had a very hard time finding the place even though we had a map and directions written in english and korean that the owner had sent us by email. From the bus stop near the guesthouse, after twenty to thirty minutes of walking around in circles showing the map to residents who didn't have a clue where the guesthouse was, we finally reached our destination. Tip: if you arrive in Gyeongju by train, take a taxi from the train station to the guesthouse. Make sure you have a copy of the address in korean. The taxi drivers who speak english are very rare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very happy I managed to stay here for at least one night even without a prior reservation - this place is extremely popular, so booking in advance is a must.

But do remember - you pay for the traditional experience, not the comfort. So this means sleeping on the hard floor in a tiny room with paper-thin walls. Perhaps this is exactly why you came here in the first place, but it still needs to be said. :-)

Located in a housing cluster next to the burial ground of ancient Korean kings, it may be a bit difficult to find at first - but they have a huge sign on the wall, so if you pass by it, you will not miss it. It is some 20 minutes walking distance from the bus station.

Simple breakfast is included and you can enjoy it in a sunny inner yard, where the only disturbance to your inner peace is the owner's dog enthusiastically running around.

It is a great starting point for exploring several Gyeongju sights - e.g. the burial ground or Observatory, but you will need to do a bit of walking to get dinner in the city center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Super location, great support, simply everything you need on your way with backpack. Kitchen is ready for you, wifi is available. We were afraid of sleeping on ondol, but its duable. Also dont worry for temperature, we had around 10 degree and no issues with standard (provided) blankets. Communication regarding reservation took some time and it doesnt make sense to write sooner then 2 months before, dont give up :-).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked this guest house via email, the owner spoke English so it was easy to reserve a room.
We stayed in a traditional Korean ondol room that had an en suite bathroom. There was hot water.
They were able to provided extra mattresses on request.
Breakfast was available to make yourself in the communal kitchen between 6-11am. Plenty of eggs and sliced bread plus tea and coffee. There were two full stoves, 3x double sinks, fully equipped with utensils, pots etc so plenty of space for everyone to cook out of each other's way.
There was a hot water filter machine to make hot drinks that you could use any time.
Location was very good, central, just a short walk to the main road. There are lots of restaurants cafes, convenient stores near by.
They had useful maps with information on how to get to sites, buses etc and you could ask the couple for further information, suggestions, book a taxi etc as they both spoke English.
There was free wifi that worked, it just took a bit of time to connect to it.
The walls of the rooms are made with the traditional korean paper so you can hear others in rooms nearby if they flushed a toilet but apart from that everyone wasn't loud.
There are two family dogs which didn't cause any problems, they kept them tied up so they didn't run around.
The couple both very nice friendly and helpful, keeping a lovely traditional Korean style guest house. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed here for a few days. One of the most unique places I've ever stayed. It's a traditional ondol style Korean guesthouse in a 120 year old building, consisting of 8 rooms surrounding a courtyard. The rooms are so unique, with open beams and mat floors, sliding Korean paper doors. Bed are traditional roll out futon style with heavy comforters and are quite comfy. The owner, Mr. Choo and his wife speak excellent English and are quite helpful with information about the area. The free make it yourself breakfast of toast and eggs was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: The location is up a lane next to the Tumuli Park and some taxi drivers can't find it. Refer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leland S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This guesthouse is adorable. You will have an authentic experience while staying here. The owners are helpful and wonderful with each guest. They make you feel right at home. Plus, their English is amazing.
The breakfast (eggs and toast) was perfect and the kitchen was never too crowded. People came and went and enjoyed the serenity of the building.
We went during the winter, so it was a bit chilly to hangout outside, but the courtyard would be entertaining during warmer weather. Several picnic tables and chairs to enjoy everyone's company.
The guesthouse is located near the bus terminal. Its about a 10-15 minute walk or you can grab a cab for the minimum price. The Sa Rang Chae website has exact directions, too.
Reserve early, they will book up quickly with the warmer weather.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleygirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
4.1 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 24 in Gyeongju
740 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 24 in Gyeongju
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floral Space
Floral Space
#9 of 106 in Gyeongju
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sugar Hotel
Sugar Hotel
#1 of 106 in Gyeongju
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gyeongju GuestHouse
Gyeongju GuestHouse
#9 of 66 in Gyeongju
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homo nomad Guesthouse
Homo nomad Guesthouse
#7 of 106 in Gyeongju
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse

Address: 238-1 Hwangnam-dong, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sa Rang Chae Guesthouse Hotel Gyeongju

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing