We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Excellent Service”
Review of Sugar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 102 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
1,852 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,222 helpful votes
“Good Value, Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this love hotel, which also caters to tourists. The major drawback for us was the hard-as-concrete bed. We were so tired our first night that we managed to sleep on the slab. The second night found me looking for other possibilities in the room. I tried using the sofa but it proved to be too small. Eventually I was able to fall asleep on the bed by putting the comforter beneath me and using my coat as a blanket. We have traveled extensively throughout Asia and are quite used to firm beds, but this one took "firm" to a new level.

So why have I rated this lodging as Very Good? The rest of our spotless deluxe room was exceptional, from the jacuzzi tub and separate shower room to the 50-inch flat-screen TV. Though there were only two hangers and a couple of hooks and no drawers or storage shelves, this is not unusual for moderately priced Asian hotels. We paid $65 (U.S.) per night. We had two computer stations and excellent wi-fi service. The small refrigerator held two free bottles of water and two complimentary juices daily. A simple breakfast (3 choices) was included in the room price and delivered promptly each morning at our requested time. Our choice: toast and jam, juice, yoghurt, coffee/tea and a banana.

A comfortable room is the only refuge for guests in the hotel. There is no seating in the very dark reception area and no reception desk that is found in standard hotels. Check-in takes place at a half window with a "Information" sign above.

Service proved to be extraordinary. For example, the owner's wife picked us up at the high-speed train station (20 minutes away) at no charge. The pick-up is offered to those staying for at least two nights. We also received free laundry service. Though no one spoke much English, we were able to communicate. When we had a couple of complicated questions, we emailed the owner and received the answers that we needed.

The location met our needs perfectly. It was just a 3-minute walk to the two bus stations (local and express) and to Tourist Information. We could also walk to the Downtown historic sites. There were many places to eat in the neighborhood. The street, however, features many love hotels with neon signs, which may be a turnoff for some people.

But if you are more concerned with a clean, comfortable room at good value rather than immediate surroundings, then the Sugar Motel would be a good choice. Just be prepared for an exceedingly firm bed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front do not receive construction noise at the back.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
73
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Down the street with all the Love Motels, this one was a great place to stay. Very neat and clean, with tons of accessories, good TV, wifi etc. Can walk to tumuli park, good restaurants nearby, Very close to both bus stations so very convenient for transportation. Staff was good, owner speaks English a bit and was helpful. Free breakfast, 3 choices.
On back side of motel in Oct / Nov 2013 they were constructing a building so a bit of noise during the day, not at night, but they do start at 7 am.
Cost W60,000 and W70,000 Sat but well worth it.

Room Tip: If construction, quieter in the front. Not sure how long construction will last.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidStanley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's a Nice Motel. Clean, wide bed, free breakfast. I stayed there on 16-18 October 2013

To the owner, we're very sorry that we need to check out earlier (late night) cause we're going to Sorak on that night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blu3ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On the road with other motels with their spectacular neon signs the sugar motel was a delight. We had the deluxe room with massive TV sliding huge ceiling blind that opens to the sky , jacuzzi and sauna ! Not that we used many of these. The huge comfortable double bed and lovely breakfast were really nice. So really nice kitsch but well equipped, safe clean place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djfaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our visit to Gyeongju, which is a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is located in a great location and great value for money. The double room we stayed in was amazing! It had such beautiful and unique decor. The facilities were great and the room was very big. Since we stayed for 2 nights, they picked us up from the train station. We walked to most of the tourist attractions like Anapji pond, Tumuli Park, Museum etc. Also, there is a tourist information center within 5 minutes walking and a supermarket within 10 minutes walking distance. They serve a big breakfast in the room, which is also included in the price and we could pick from 3 choices. There are restaurants/cafes all around the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here very much!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonrisa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I shared a twin room for 2 nights in Sugar Motel. We were very impressed by the facilities and service. The room was a reasonable size, scrupulously clean, with jacuzzi, sauna, shower, cable TV, a/c, fan, air purifier, fridge containing free soft drinks and sterilising unit for cups and glasses. The beds are comfortable and a range of toiletries is supplied. Free laundry is offered and the staff kindly offered to do some ironing for us. We enjoyed a simple continental breakfast which is included in the room rate. All staff seem to speak some English and if need be, it is possible to communicate by email with someone whose English is very good. We did this in order to arrange for a late checkout. The motel is ideally located for easy access to both bus stations, taxi rank, tourist information office and city tour office. Before coming to Gyeongju, we had considered staying in one of the more expensive hotels up by the lake. I am so glad that we decided to opt for Sugar Motel instead. It is fantastic value for money and being in centre of town means that there is ample choice of restaurants. The staff are very helpful and can offer advice on where to eat. We ate in a nice bibimbap place which was 2 minutes' taxi ride from the motel and a 10 minute walk back. I will definitely use this motel again on future visits to the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you follow any food plan and need a microwave, be careful. I booked a standard double room through Agoda, which listed it as having a micro in the room. I was skeptical though - since booking.com had the same room listed without the micro. There was no micro when I got there - but the owners were really nice and actually cooked my food for me using their micro. They were also very accomodating to food allergies and made bfast exactly as I requested. I would highly recommend staying here - felt very safe, even as a solo female traveler in my mid 30's. Very helfpul to have free water bottles and a desktop computer in the room (even though the main screen were porn ads.) Bathrobe was clean. Only drawback was beds were hard (which is throughout Korea) and their English was not the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50Lorraine_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.8 mi away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 20 in Gyeongju
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 20 in Gyeongju
139 reviews
5.0 mi away
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 20 in Gyeongju
705 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#4 of 20 in Gyeongju
198 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blueboat Hostel Gyeongju
Blueboat Hostel Gyeongju
#1 of 54 in Gyeongju
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel

Property: Sugar Hotel
Address: 34-1, Taejong-ro 685beon-gil, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38157, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing