We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "love hotel"”
Review of Sugar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 106 Gyeongju B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We chose this hotel because we read a review saying this is a regular hotel, not a typical Korean love hotel, despite the corny name... However, in the rooms and even in the elevator there were explanations in Korean about how to book a room by the hour. In the room you could find all sorts of advertisements for pornographic materials in Korean. I think at the moment they are trying to cater for both couples who rent by the hour and foreign tourists. I would not recommend this hotel for families travelling with children, but it might be a nice experience for couples.
We were disappointed we could not use the bathtub because it was dirty. The bed sheets and the towels were clean though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Easy to find as can see sign from bus station ( came from Seoul) very good modern, clean, suprisngly tasteful - as is in love motel street. Spent 3 nights there, they did some washing for us & offered a drop off service. Nice little breakfast in our rooms. Handy to walk every where/ eat out.
Good value. Even standard room had spa bath, electric loo & large tv with shampoos, hair spray, moisturiser etc all provided

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EYggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I mistakenly booking at wrong date trough Agoda. It supposed to be June, but i booked for October. The owner, Mr Hee (forgive me if i'm wrong), help me to change my dates trough agoda. I dont even have to change it my self. The worst thing is, the room i book is full. The only avalaible room needs an upgrade. I told Mr. Hee, as long as i get the room, i dont mind paying for the upgrade. You know what, he said, no, i dont have to pay for the upgrade. Unbelievable..this is amazing, my best experience in Korea. Kamsahamnida Mr. Hee. The room was nice, clean, large bed, large bathroom, huge LCD TV. The room has air purifier, fridge, personal computer and wifi. Location near Bus Terminal, just 10-15 minutes walk to the motel. Close to bus stop that will take you to main attraction in Gyeongju. There are also tourist information and bicycle rent near the bus terminal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank faldy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

They don't rent by the hour and there are no condoms in the room or even condom vending machines on the property. Koreans do weird English word choices for their businesse names. They don't do English well. (e.g. in Busan there are 3 side by side new residential 80 story towers called "We've the Zenith". I think they meant "We're") All this aside, The Sugar Motel is really a new 7 story hotel. The premises are exceptionally clean, free espresso machine in lobby, robes, slippers, king sized beds, plush towels, a 50" flat screen built into wall at foot of bed, Andy Warholish art, quiet air conditioner, breakfast delivered to room, huge bathroom with free standing round whirlpool bathtub, glass enclosed shower. I would pay $400-500 a night for this room in Tokyo or New York. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomBrodehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After leaving my templestay, I needed a central location to explore Gyeongju for 2 days. This place served me needs for the following reasons:

- The location is very close to bus terminals and bicycle rentals
- There is a convenience store on the corner for late night food cravings and cheap dinners
- The hotel is inexpensive given that it is a love motel but comes with good extras like breakfast (you can choose noodles or toast & yoghurt), wifi, free laundry, nice tv etc
- The room is clean. Not super super clean but it won't gross you out
- The management is really nice and helped me with my bags, internet, directions etc even though we had a language barrier
- The rooms are quite large for a solo traveller like myself so that was fantastic

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quicny10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through agoda and it was a bargain for what you get. Yes, this is a love motel, but I stayed here as a solo female traveller for two nights and felt safe, relaxed and comfortable. The room was massive, I think I booked a deluxe. Bed was firm but still comfortable with good pillows. My room had free wifi, two computers, fridge with free water and drinks daily. It had a big bathroom with round tub, separate shower and toilet cubicles. You get complimentary breakfast (3 choices) delivered to your room and there are toiletries that you can use also. Tea and coffee, kettle and hairdryer are all provided. I was really surprised at the attention to detail and the staff were all lovely. I would stay at this 'love' motel again, with or without company.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Sugar Motel, not sure what to expect. Upon arrival, we discovered a clean, spacious room on the 6th floor with hand and bath bar soap, bathrobes and towels which were changed daily, room computer, WiFi, lots of lighting options, separate toilet from bath/shower and two sinks in the room. Three breakfast options were available for delivery to the room. We chose the ham/cheese sandwich, yogurt, soup, sometimes fruit, orange juice and coffee option which was quite filling. For stays of two days or more, pickup or dropoff to the train station is included. In addition, free laundry is available when one stays for two days or more. The staff was very friendly although spoken English was somewhat limited. For the services included, it was a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.2 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 24 in Gyeongju
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
141 Mini Hotel
141 Mini Hotel
#3 of 24 in Gyeongju
72 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
#2 of 24 in Gyeongju
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apple Motel
Apple Motel
#2 of 106 in Gyeongju
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gyeongju Happy Village Syeobul
3.4 mi away
Bellus Rose Pension
Bellus Rose Pension
#3 of 106 in Gyeongju
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel

Address: 34-1, Taejong-ro 685beon-gil, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38157, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Gyeongju
Price Range: $42 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing