We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gyeongju
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Decent stay for two nights. Well maintained and serviced rooms. What we were not happy about this property is about food. Breakfast was so so but charges were as high as $8 and it was very basic cold breakfast. They do not provide lunch or dinner unless you have a large group

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank W1bb1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
9
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Double bed hard up against wall so one has to climb over other to get in or out of bed. Moved bed to retrieve dropped pen - under bed filthy with used condom packet and much dirt. Had to specifically ask for a "normal" size towel as they only had face towels in room. Shower recess has no lip so water goes all over bathroom floor. Kept awake by bright light all night ( room faced the floodlit front of hotel and only one of the two curtains was blackout curtain - External flood light poured in thru the other plain curtain.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing hillside to avoid floodlit room at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank XR6Bogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We chose Swiss Rosen because it was one of the few left which was around £80 per night (we stayed in Aug - peak season). I agreed with a reviewer below that the place was a once glory but has lost it's attraction due to lack of refurbishment and maintenance.

Most people stayed there were Koreans. Our room was ok but I found few hairs on the bed (just under the bedsheet) and several more in the toilet/shower. The bathing robe wasn't cleansed after previous use and again I found few hairs there. Perhaps other people don't mind but to me this is a big minus.

The managers are great and do speak good English. We were attracted by the potential BBQ outdoor when we made the booking but in fact it was just a small balcony facing the car park, so we didn't try at all. The swimming pool is also on the small side.

It's within walking distance (around 20-25 mins) to the nearest point of the Bomun Lake where you can take a cruise. There is a restaurant and a shop next to the hotel (5 mins). But you can also walk to a small "town" where there are few more choices (it's about 20 mins away on foot but you wouldn't want to do that in hot summer) That is also where the Gyeongju expo is.

Transport - if you are planning to stay around this area, it's better to have a car. There are two bus stops outside, one goes to Singyeongju station where you can take the KTX to Seoul. The other goes to town.

The room has kettle and tea bags etc. The air conditioning is wonderful - just what we needed after a whole day outside in deep heat......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

After checking out several love motels near the bus station we opted to try the SwissRosen despite it being outside the city in the resort area. We were pleasantly surprised. The price was right, the room was very clean and spacious. It was little dated and funky but it felt safe and comfortable and the staff were very nice and helpful. It was also very easy to get into town as there were frequent buses (#11 into town, #10 back) from a bus stop 5 mins walk away. Also there were frequent buses to Bulguksa temple. I'd have no hestitation recommending this hotel as a great mid-range option in the Gyeongju area.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

A funky but dated tourist hotel. We stayed three nights in the off season and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The manager bent over backwards to help us rent a car, which is essential to seeing many of the temples and other sites outside of town. If you just want to hang around the lakeside tourist complex you won't really need a car, but if you want to go into Gyeongju proper or see other sites you'll want a car or you'll be stuck on a bus which is the only other option for getting around, though I suppose you could use cabs to get around if you needed to.

We had one of the large, circular deluxe rooms which was somewhat bizarre by western standards but perfectly OK by Korean standards. Funky 1980s-1990s decorating and color schemes which was somewhat garish to our eyes but is apparently the norm in Korea. Libarace would feel right at home. Anyway, the room was fine and clean but there was a god-awful sewage smell that wafted up through the floor drain in the bathroom. Attempts to block the stench with wet towels were unsuccessful. We kept the door closed and tried to go in there as little as possible.

When my wife booked the hotel she was drawn by photos that showed happy tourists cavorting on the deck and enjoying a meal in the onsite restaurant. During our visit, however, it was totally dead and it was somewhat depressing. The restaurant was closed though the manager did offer to serve us meals if we wanted them. We didn't have the heart to ask. The manager said that it picked up on the weekends, but the impression we got was of an establishment in decline. Other hotels nearby, including the equally funky hotels right next door seemed to have much more business, even mid-week and during the off season. My guess is that this hotel was one of the first hotels in the area, and was probably first class by the standards of the day. It has, however, been surpassed by newer establishments closer to the lakefront. The saving grace is the excellent service offered by the manager. Still, its an OK value when compared with the nearby Hilton and other lakeside establishments, but make sure to ask for the room without the sewer smell.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank empty-quadrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel was clean and the people were friendly. The location is walking distance to a couple main attractions in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stodds73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gyeongju hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Gyeongju
Hilton Gyeongju
#1 of 19 in Gyeongju
693 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
Hotel Hyundai Gyeongju
#3 of 19 in Gyeongju
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
Commodore Hotel Gyeongju
#6 of 19 in Gyeongju
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
GG Tourist Hotel
GG Tourist Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gyeongju
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
The Suites Hotel Gyeongju
#2 of 19 in Gyeongju
130 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
Gyeongju Kolon Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gyeongju
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju

Property: Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju
Address: 465-37, Bomun-ro, Gyeongju, Gyeongsangbuk-do 38116, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gyeongsangbuk-do > Gyeongju
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gyeongju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel is located in Bomun Resort Complex of Gyeogju, the capital city of old shilla dynasty with the easy access to the tourist sites. It features deluxe class of rooms and facilites and provides warm hospitality of guest oriented staffs and comfortable relaxatio with the reasonable price.the boutique scheme of design with Mediterranean architecture style will present unforgettable and pleasant time with you.For the relaxable days of the guests, the hotel serves American style breakfast and barbeque dinner in the restaurant.For the summer season, outdoor swimming pool is on the 1st floor. Seminar room and ondol room is facilitated for the group guests such as families, companies, and groups.Business Center, Free 2 cups of tea (Restaurant / Americano / 2pm~4pm), Free wireless internet service, Free Parking, Free Pick-up Service, One hour free bicycle rental service (limited to prior reservations)The Business Center equipped with PCs, Internet, word processing and printers.ServicesFree internetCopy and print (black and white / color) (paid)Fax (paid)This medium-size seminar room can accommodate up to 80 people and small seminar room can accommodate up to 30 people. Equipped with a large screen, beam projector, and sound equipment, it is perfect for family gatherings, seminars, business meetings, public agency assemblies, and more.Facilities- Free wireless internet service- Sound control system- Beam projector and large screenCoffee Shop & Restaurant>The caf?/restaurant features a terrace where patrons can enjoy the beautiful scenery of Bomun, and an exotic interior design inspired by San Torini. It also boasts a billiard table where friends and families can enjoy a memorable time together against the backdrop of Bomun's beautiful scenery. The restaurant serves breakfast, coffee, beverages, and simple snacks such as home-made burgers, as well as alcoholic beverages such as beer.Capacity: 60 seatsEscape the daily grind! Treat yourself to a comfortable vacation. We have American smoke charcoal, which is used to cure meat, ready to fire up the grill upon request. The barbecue garden is open from 17:00 to 21:00. To use the barbecue facilities, please book one day prior to your stay. Capacity:50 seatYou will find a swimming pool on the ground floor where family and loved ones can hang out during the hot summer months. There is a large outdoor movie screen that plays music videos and movies at night. Enjoy it with a beer or other drinks on the side.Location: 1st Floor OutdoorSize: 8m x 4.5m x 1m(depth)There is a karaoke bar in the underground level of the hotel. It’s a great place for families and couples to show off their singing skills. The area is divided into separate rooms for privacy.Capacity:70 seats (7 individual rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Benikea Swiss Rosen Hotel Gyeongju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing