We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, typical issues in Korea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Interciti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Interciti
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Daejeon
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel, typical issues in Korea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The interciti is an acceptable option for the American business traveler. It offers "OK" food options, but there are several options out on the road. They are not the friendliest group at the front desk.........but I've found this to be typical in South Korea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank umbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
4
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The InterCiti hotel (formerly the Spapia to those familiar with Daejeon) is located in the Yusung area of Daejeon and very convenient for KAIST and Chung Nam Universities. They refurbished the hotel a couple of years ago and the rooms are now bright and modern. They have free internet which runs at OK speed and they do have tea and coffee in the room. I did not use the exercise room this time, but last time I did it was not great, and I think there is still a small charge for it. The breakfast buffet is ok but also over priced in my opinion.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, and convenience stores to buy beer if you don't want to suffer the mini bar syndrome. They actually have a fridge that you can just fit your own beer into.

The staff on the desk are always friendly and polite, as you expect from most hotels in Korea.

They do seem to cater for a lot of tours, so its not unusual to find them booked up some days and they sometimes ask to move your room halfway through a stay which I find irritating. Not this time though.

In my experience this is a good choice in Daejeon for a Western style hotel. There are not that many, which is a little surprising. You will pay almost 2X what you pay at the local Korean hotels, but these are for the brave as they have zero language skills and the rooms are quirky to say the least. You do get to meet ‘interesting ‘ fellow guests in those places!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlantheRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Hotel Interciti is a recommendable hotel with a few little drawbacks. It is located near Daejeon station and can be quickly reached by taxi. The service and the food are very good. They have an excellent breakfast buffet, which is not too expensive and, in my opinion, absolutely worth the money. The rooms are certainly big enough but the furniture is rather ancient. I could not really sleep in the bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rio-Reginald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a week. Staff (with one exception) were friendly and very helpful. Good location. Needs a minor refurb as the carpets and walls are generally showing heavy wear. Convenience stores and a park nearby. Try the free public foot spa (wash feet before going in - locals will show you :) Room wasn't huge but well layed out. Large bed and good quality bedding. Be warned though, the beds are hard by Western standards! Koreans traditionally sleep on a thin mattress on the floor so these beds can feel quite similar. Housekeeping was thorough. Good bathroom with a large shower. Basic freebie toiletries, nothing flash. No power outlets near bed but a few behind the TV and a couple in the bathroom. Free WiFi in the public areas but only LAN in the room. Buffet breakfast was good and a great range including an 'egg chef'. Room service (food) was OK. Dinner menu offers good mix of Korean and Western dishes. A tad expensive but very nice. Some of the cab drivers still know it as the Spapia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great service and food. Location is not far from the Daejeon train station by cab. Outstanding breakfast buffet for very reasonable cost. Rooms were good sized but tired. Beds reminded me of box springs - I'll bring an air mattress next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

In June of 2012, I stayed at the Hotel Interciti in Daejeon. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful to ensure that the room I reserved were ready for me even though I arrived late. This hotel always has someone at the front desk who speaks English. Because I was staying for more than a week, the staff delivered a WiFi access point, a humidifier, and the Korea Times English newspaper every morning.

The breakfast buffet is very extensive. The food is a mix of western and Korean. Every morning offers the typical western staples (scrambled eggs, bacon, different breads) and Korean dishes. On my first time at the buffet "Snail Hangover Soup" was offered. One thing to note about the buffet is that while they have everything to make lox and bagels, I did not see any cream cheese so you may want to keep that in mind.

As for the room, it was on the corner of the building so I had a tremendous view of northwest Daejeon. You can see a good distance as long as the air is not hazy. During my stay the weather outside was humid and did not clear until the fourth or fifth day. Please note that the A/C temperature is controlled from the front desk and Korea takes energy conservation very seriously. If you're used to a cold hotel room, you won't find it here.

The location of the hotel is convenient to the Yuseong Spa subway station which is a 10-minute walk. This intersection also has a Pizza Hut and a coffee shop. In the immediate vicinity, there are three convenience stores including a GS25 in the next block. The 7-11 is three blocks away. The hotel is on a major street and taxis are plentiful.

The hotel has its own convenience store in the annex accessible from the second floor. I did not use the fitness center during my stay. I also visited "The View" bar which had a cozy ambiance.

If you are planning a stay in Daejeon, look no further than the Hotel Interciti.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors. If you can get a corner room that would be the best bet. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for a week in May, and I loved the room. Good bed and spacious room. The breakfast was nice and coffee to. Friendly staff. The area has several bars and restaurant, and myself I walked to the park and crossed the river to the nearest underground station. Fun to use it to go downtown. The bar at the hotel is ok, and I found it a bit odd that smoking was allowed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daejeon hotels
2.9 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Daejeon
0.5 mi away
Yousung Hotel
Yousung Hotel
#11 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera Daejeon
Hotel Riviera Daejeon
#6 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laon Convention
Laon Convention
#12 of 36 in Daejeon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Toyoko Inn Daejeon Government Complex
4.5 mi away
Benikea Hotel Daelim
Benikea Hotel Daelim
#10 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interciti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interciti

Property: Hotel Interciti
Address: 92, Oncheon-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Daejeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Daejeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Interciti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Interciti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing