We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in the Best Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Interciti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Interciti
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Daejeon
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in the Best Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

In June of 2012, I stayed at the Hotel Interciti in Daejeon. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful to ensure that the room I reserved were ready for me even though I arrived late. This hotel always has someone at the front desk who speaks English. Because I was staying for more than a week, the staff delivered a WiFi access point, a humidifier, and the Korea Times English newspaper every morning.

The breakfast buffet is very extensive. The food is a mix of western and Korean. Every morning offers the typical western staples (scrambled eggs, bacon, different breads) and Korean dishes. On my first time at the buffet "Snail Hangover Soup" was offered. One thing to note about the buffet is that while they have everything to make lox and bagels, I did not see any cream cheese so you may want to keep that in mind.

As for the room, it was on the corner of the building so I had a tremendous view of northwest Daejeon. You can see a good distance as long as the air is not hazy. During my stay the weather outside was humid and did not clear until the fourth or fifth day. Please note that the A/C temperature is controlled from the front desk and Korea takes energy conservation very seriously. If you're used to a cold hotel room, you won't find it here.

The location of the hotel is convenient to the Yuseong Spa subway station which is a 10-minute walk. This intersection also has a Pizza Hut and a coffee shop. In the immediate vicinity, there are three convenience stores including a GS25 in the next block. The 7-11 is three blocks away. The hotel is on a major street and taxis are plentiful.

The hotel has its own convenience store in the annex accessible from the second floor. I did not use the fitness center during my stay. I also visited "The View" bar which had a cozy ambiance.

If you are planning a stay in Daejeon, look no further than the Hotel Interciti.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floors. If you can get a corner room that would be the best bet. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    46
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
4
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for a week in May, and I loved the room. Good bed and spacious room. The breakfast was nice and coffee to. Friendly staff. The area has several bars and restaurant, and myself I walked to the park and crossed the river to the nearest underground station. Fun to use it to go downtown. The bar at the hotel is ok, and I found it a bit odd that smoking was allowed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Nice Hotel with nice rooms and great service. The spa and gym we didn`t use.
The bar was nice, but the name "the wiev" was not good, because ther was no wiev at all.
The area Yuseong is very nice, much space around the Hotel, but you have some distannce to the city center.
This hotel is not som good for family with children, this is for bussiness.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pema33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

The Spapia is a very comfotable Hotel in Daejeon. Its located in the Yuseong Area where most of the Hotels are. The Hotel offers all services that you expect from a Hotel of its class. Nice rooms, nice service at a reasonable price. There is a Spa and Gym in the house. I will come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schoella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

This is not a great hotel, although nothing was particularly bad about it.

The place is clean and breakfast was pretty good, comparing to my recent adventures.

However, the rooms are small and outdated. The bathroom was particularly small and it was awkward to take a shower. I didn’t go into any of the other hotels nearby, but most others looked more modern, and either new or refurbished. The Spapia is due for a renovation.

The location is fine, only if you have business in that area, otherwise there are few restaurants and lots of strip clubs nearby. The subway is about a 7 minute walk and taxis are always available.

  • Liked — They give lots of Pillows on the bed
  • Disliked — Location, size of room, decor,
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zinc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2005

Daejeon is not a tourist town. It's a Korean city, by and for Koreans, and it has the look and feel of many comfortable industrial towns, lots of huge apartment blocks and new construction, not much in the way of visual charm. I happened to be here on business: Aside from a much-vaunted turn as host of the World Cup a few years back, there is not too much that would bring one to Daejeon. The Hotel Spapia is a well-priced business hotel, and includes such welcome amenities as a computer and free internet access in each room, western-style bathrooms, in-room thermostats and safes, large screen TVs, good closet space, and, on the upper floors, terrific views. The beds are very firm, some might say hard, and the minibar and room service are expensive. However, the service staff, while notably short on fluent English speakers, is very solicitous and fast: A complaint about a backed-up toilet was met with a plumber at the door in under 5 minutes. I would compare it, in decor, amenities and condition, to a Ramada or a newer Holiday Inn.

The Hotel Spapia is located, like many other hotels in Daejeon, in an area directly above natural underground hot springs, and it features as most of these hotels do an in-house "spa". This is not a spa in the Elizabeth Arden sense of the word, but in the Asian sense: It has the vibe of a public swimming pool, and is a place for men or women to congregate, visit, unwind, and attend to personal grooming. The spa offers separate facilities for men and women. I (a woman) had the previous experience of visiting Korean-style spas in New York City's Little Korea, and was glad I had or else I might have felt confused by the protocols. When you enter, on the women's side at least, you are given a locker key and two towels. You strip naked and enter the "wet room". (NB: You could wear a swimming suit if you were exceptionally modest, but it might make you feel even more self-conscious doing so as the entire clientele-- Korean women of all ages, shapes and sizes-- is also naked. Better to blend in, in my opinion, as nobody cares a bit what you look like). You are first asked to take a THOROUGH soap shower: Use your small towel as a washcloth to scrub yourself from head to foot, and shampoo. After doing this, you are permitted to enter the central hot pool, fed by the underground springs. This feature is very relaxing and social: Women often come with friends or relatives and hang out in the pool, chatting and relaxing. On my first visit, one woman walked about the pool, chatting with friends and eating an apple with a knife.

One central purpose for a visit to a Korean spa, other than the social intercourse, is for a serious self-administered exfoliation (you can also hire someone to do it for you, which is very nice but a "luxury" at W 12,000, or about $12 US). This is nothing like the kind of exfoliation one might achieve in a typical American shower, with mild scrubbing lotions or soft "shower puffs". This is serious stuff, and seriously wonderful. The implement of choice for stripping off dead skin in Korea is a simple viscose mitt (available for purchase in a vending machine in the dressing area for W 500, about 50 cents, and at most supermarkets in the personal care aisle) that is soft when dry but extremely abrasive when wet. Alongside the central hot pool is a bank of low counters and mirrors, with a faucet and shower wand at each "station". Low plastic stools (for squatting) and small plastic basins (for rinsing) are provided, as are communal bars of soap (although I brought my own, and you should too, along with your own larger room towel, shampoo, comb, lotion, and any other toiletries you might use after a shower-- the spa provides blow-dryers and some products, though). You sit/squat at your station and, using your viscose mitt, you vigorously and meticulously scrub yourself from head to toe. The goal is to take your time and enjoy the process, which increases your circulation and sloughs off an almost alarming amount of dead skin. It's amazing what a difference this particular sloughing tool makes: The first time I used one, I was shocked to see how much junk came off my skin, which I had previously considered to be fairly well-exfoliated.

Once you have finished, rinse off and visit the steam room, or the sauna, or the cold pool, spending as much time as you wish. (Some visit the sauna/steam rooms first, as they help soften skin prior to exfoliation, but it's your choice.) Overall, it's a quiet, convivial atmosphere, and employs a style of communing with your fellow humans that is quite non-existent in the west. Western women (particularly those of Anglo descent) tend to be secretive and modest about nakedness, attitudes that are quite absent among Korean women in this setting. Instead of feeling embarassed or uncomfortable, I felt comfortably accepted and, even better, ignored (and for the record, I'm a size 18, which is large by Asian standards).

I found the spa to be one of the highlights of my trip to Daejeon and, as this particular spa enjoys a reputation as being the top one in the city, I'd specifically choose to stay at the Hotel Spapia if offered a choice, simply so I could visit the spa again during my non-working hours.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daejeon hotels
2.9 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Daejeon
0.5 mi away
Yousung Hotel
Yousung Hotel
#11 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Riviera Daejeon
Hotel Riviera Daejeon
#6 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Laon Convention
Laon Convention
#12 of 36 in Daejeon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Toyoko Inn Daejeon Government Complex
4.5 mi away
Benikea Hotel Daelim
Benikea Hotel Daelim
#10 of 36 in Daejeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Interciti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Interciti

Property: Hotel Interciti
Address: 92, Oncheon-ro, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Daejeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Daejeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Interciti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Interciti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing