We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but one metro stop to city centre”
Review of Hotel Crystal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Crystal
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Daegu
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Average hotel but one metro stop to city centre”
Reviewed November 8, 2009

The hotel itself seems very old.The rooms are dark and don't seem too clean.

The personnel was okay.They were very helpful even though they couldn't speak English.

The big advantage was the location - metro was just outside the hotel and it was only one stop to city centre so quite handy.

Other than that I'd look for a different place if i ever go to Daegu again (doubtful)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
1
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I was very surprised that this budget hotel far exceeded my expectations, especially since I had read the "not so good" reviews on this website. It was small (same size as a 4 star hotel in Daegu I stayed at later that week), but quiet and clean. There was no coffee in the room (same as that other 4 star hotel), but I was served a free American breakfast the next morning. Service was great at the desk. Free Internet downstairs was a plus. Convenience store right around the corner, and Daegu bank for exchanging currency across the street. It's close to Seowon Market place, so be sure to visit there before heading for downtown. When walking around, I found a fruit auction going on, and a restaurant serving authentic Korean meal (have to sit on cushions on the floor). Menu had pictures.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seniorstudent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2009

This hotel was probably built in the 70's and nothing has been updated since. The non-smoking room smelled like old smoke and the carpet and fittings looked like it came out of an old movie. It was amongst one of the cheaper deluxe hotels listed on a few internet hotel websites - and you do get what you pay for. If I had to do it again, I'd pay twice the amount to stay in a nicer hotel in a better area.

The hotel is located in a light industrial area with scattered high rise housing a short hop away. A couple local restaurants in the vicinity but nothing to shout about. The only good thing about the hotel is that it's right next to a subway station so getting to and from the hotel is no problem at all (15m from Exit 3 Bangogae Station on line 2 of the subway system). And trust me, you want to get away from the hotel as quickly as you can!! There really is nothing much to shout about!

Having said all that - I also have to compliment the helpful front desk staff. I couldn't get the free internet service working (bring your own laptop / no wifi). She came up to the room and we worked out the problem in a matter of minutes. All this was done with her not speaking a word of English and with me not speaking a word of Korean.

At the end of it all, a helpful staff doesn't make up for all the other shortcomings of the hotel. If you intend to stay here, keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finendandy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daegu hotels

Amsteram, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

Based upon some good review we booked the Chrystel for 3 days. When the taxidriver dropped us of at the hotel we already had second thoughts about the booking. The hotel seemed to be more a 'short term' stay hotel based upon the content of a machine offering a wide variety of condomns and clean underware in the lobby.

The absense of wireless internet and a working airco also helped us to decide not to unpack but look for another hotel. The Novotel Daegu City Center seemed to be a very good choice and out of a different world compared with the Chrystel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daegu hotels
0.8 mi away
Daegu Prince Hotel
Daegu Prince Hotel
#27 of 41 in Daegu
28 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eldis Regent Hotel
Eldis Regent Hotel
#3 of 41 in Daegu
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel North Tel
Hotel North Tel
#20 of 41 in Daegu
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Top Hotel
Top Hotel
#8 of 41 in Daegu
12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apsan Business Hotel
Apsan Business Hotel
#19 of 41 in Daegu
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Daegu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crystal

Property: Hotel Crystal
Address: 1910, Dalgubeoldaero, Dalseo-Gu, Daegu, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Daegu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Daegu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crystal 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the center of the business and entertainment district of Daegu City, the Hotel Crystal will satisfy the diverse needs of all its guests with a convenient range of amenities, including comfortable rooms, coffee shops, wedding halls, and convention halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Daegu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing