We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“local noodle with scratch-made soup base”
Review of Ollae Guksu

Ollae Guksu
Ranked #6 of 7,557 Restaurants in Jeju
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

a good breakfast option

it offers only one dish - noodle.
you can add chili paste, sauce, vinegar, pepper and othe seasoning on the table if you want.

staff are friendly

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank chanman529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 242 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2017

Place was originally at 261-16, Yeon-dong but has since shifted to current location at 24 Gwiarang-gil, Yeon-dong. The previous site has now been torn down and is under construction.

Read reviews online that they used to serve tons of dishes like hotpot, but now that they've moved, they only serve 1 dish - Pork Noodle Soup, which was pretty good. Costs about ₩3,800 if I recall.

You've to go into the store and tell the lady that you want a seat and she will give you a number and a post-it telling you an approximate time to come back.

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank limc813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

A restaurant famous among locals for its seared fishes and hotpot. Ordered an abalone hotpot set and stir-fry squid set, worth around 40,000 won. Can't say it was cheap but you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank stansiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

Pork noodle soup and kimchi was simple and delicious, but didn't think it was all that.. We only went bc the menu from the original place had options of noodle soup we can choose from, but now there is only one option they offer.
Just expect nothing special, it's just a bowl of noodle soups with fatty pork bites.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Angelina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

Was curious about how good this place must be that it came up as one of the top few places to eat. When you serve only one item on the menu it never goes wrong!

There was a queue when we arrived around lunch time and sat in the queue for about 5mins when we realized people in the middle of the queue were getting called. It was only then we realized that you should register your name and they'll let you know the estimated seating time. That's fantastic so you'll know what time you should be back and not have to sit and wait.

The moment you sit down, someone comes, indicate the number of people you have and your lovely pork broth noodle will be in front of you in 2mins! Nice change from the usual stews that we've had and noodles were of the perfect texture. I will definitely be back the next time I visit Jeju, and very value for $ at 7000won a serving.

They have however moved from the original location so do look out for that, as we weren't sure if or when they would be moving back. The new place is not far from the original shop, ask your hotel and they should be able to give you directions.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ollae Guksu also viewed

 
Jeju, Jeju Island
 
Jeju, Jeju Island
Jeju, Jeju Island
 

Been to Ollae Guksu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing