We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the Hustle and Bustle of City Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Jeju
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Away from the Hustle and Bustle of City Life”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is along the shores of the beach, and it is very quiet. We arrived at the hotel around 7pm, and needed to find some place for dinner. We enquired at the front desk, but they spoke very little English, and it took us some time to understand what they meant. If you need to find a place for food, walk out of the hotel and turn right, and walk on for about 15 - 20 mins, and you'll come to a place called White Castle. It has 2 restaurants - BBQ pork and Japanese food. We had the BBQ pork and it was totally value for money.

The room is spacious (there were 5 of us); there were 2 beds, and we had to call for another mattress for the 5th person to sleep on. There were 2 toilets, of which one of them is like an 'open' concept. From the bedroom, you can see through the shower room, and there is no skirtings or curtains or doors. The drawers at the kitchen cabinets were so tough to open, and makes us wonder why did they design it in such a way. There isn't much English channels for us to watch on the TV. To get around Jeju for our activities, we hired a local cab driver who will bring us around where we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aveline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Location:I agree with most of the previous reviews. I think it's a good hotel and a nice choice if you want some quiet time. As in Jeju most of the attractions are far away from each other, you need to rent a car anyway, so there is not so much difference in term of convenience with other hotels more downtown. Also restaurants are quite far away, so really better to hire a car!

Facilities: the rooms are quite big but there is not a lot of space where you can store your clothing (to give you an idea: in a two bedrooms room there is no 1 single drawer if not the bedside table ones). Have the feeling they are still furbishing the place. There is no gym.

Service: the staff, as everyone in Jeju, tries hard to please you. There is a big but: their English is not so good.

Breakfast: they only serve Korean breakfast. Another thing is: there is only one fresh available fruit in the morning. Ok, no big deal, but twice in the morning the taste was kind of gearing toward onion. We said it to the management and they prompted said it to the cooks. The next day the taste was slightly lighter but still the same...what we think is that for Koreans this is not a big deal as they mostly eat vegetables.

So, if their market is the Korean one, I think they are already doing a good job, but if they want to attract a more international crowd, they need to work hard on two points: language and food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kikka1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
176 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Villa de Aewol is more a resident style hotel. It comes with a small kitchenette and has also a wash machine and a dryer. The rooms and bathrooms are all brand new and very modern. But it misses some small things that would really make a 5 star hotel. E.g. the breakfast is ok because it was included in our rate but is lacking of variety of food.

The location is a bit far off and the next beach is also not in walking distance. But usually as a tourist in Jeju you should have a rental car and explore the island. If you want to go to the beach then try out some near beaches - there are some.

The pool is ok but the water was very cold. And there was no employee at the pool and no pool service though it was summer.

But if you consider Villa de Aewol as an alternative to the to over-expensive hotels in Joongmoon Area then it is a real good alternative. And Jeju City is 20 min drive so you get everything that you need from the city.

Room Tip: Views are all similar..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang_FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is new and it is very nice. The twin-double room that we booked is roomy and clean. Bed is very comfy and big. It is 2x2 m each bed, so it can easily fit for family of four. Breakfast was good with some local dishes.
The area of the hotel is lovely, because it is located near the shore. Few restaurants and convinience stores are nearby, although it is not a walking distance. One of my fav is bbq black pork restaurant.
One drawback about the hotel is that you need a car. However, renting a car is important in Jeju, considering the distance to cover every attractions in Jeju.
Overall, it is a very satisfying stay at the Villa de Aewol Jeju and I would like to stay again, if I go to Jeju.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JnJTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Nice hotel, with very nice rooms, super quiet, good bed quality and bathroom, lots of space in the rooms. Good swimming pool. As pointed out by others, the rooms could be better furnished, especially with something to lay the suitcases on. The breakfast is very Korean style but ok, not like in a 4 starts hotel though, much more simple. The main issue being the limit understanding of English of the staff, not very helpful to find restaurants or other things to do around. the location is good if you have a car, even though there are pleasant walk and restaurants in the nearby area. A tip to find the good restaurants around is to look for the ones full of the locals or of visiting Koreans from the mainland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute of our stay here. We booked the twin Double, it was incredibly spacious though ours came without a balcony which was fine..The bed was super comfortable. The room came with small electric cooking top, fridge and a huge bathtub good for two, with Bliss toiletries.

Most of the staff do not speak any English except one, Mr Byun Y.H. Our trip would not have been as awesome if it wasnt for the staff's dedication and excellent service, even during his off days to help us!! He would answer my calls to assist me regardless if we are in a restaurant, or even when we were almost lost on an island, getting other locals to help us. We were apologetic to bother him so often but he was very understanding, politely telling us it was fine. Other Korean staff could not speak or barely knew English, yet one staff Mr Jung D.O tried his utmost best surfing the net trying to source information for us such as bus schedule, locating possible restaurants. Though I must admit it wasnt as convenient as I would like, spending 30mins to communicate something that would normally take 5mins otherwise, yet, I would applaud the sincere efforts they displayed and i DID get the answers I needed. As for taxis, we had ABSOLUTELY NO problem. They helped us called for a taxi driver. Though the driver did not speak English, the hotel staff ensure that the driver knew exactly where to take us for the day, and what we want to do before we board the taxi. The driver was so good that we booked him for the next whole day and he brought us to all the local sights we wont have known!! The only downside to staying here without a car, is that eating options are limited. There is a convenience mart about 10mins walk away from the hotel but we were not warned of the insects that left red swell bites as we strolled back. There is a black poek BBQ place called The white castle, and if you take a cab further down (about 4000won) u will find a lovely place called UFO cafe, where the owner speaks fluent English and Mandarin, and equally helpful to give us tips and advice. Another nearby dining spot will be Japanese Fusion Aruyo.

The hotel pool is also lovely, although it is still cool at 19-20degrees during summer. The Korean breakfast is FANTASTIC and filling. We literally skipped lunch. However, they only serve a variety of concentrate juice and coffee. Tea drinkers please bring your own tea bags. The rooms are generally quiet, however, we did experience odd knocking noises coming from neighboring room and upstairs (heavy footsteps) However, it isnt that bad that will keep u awake.

There are no gym but there are golf screen rooms, pool table and a spa which is on the expensive side. There are no room service as food is only served during day time, but if you planned your day correctly, you can make eating your last stop before coming back to the hotel to rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VavaVroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends and family. We don't speak korean, and unless the manager is there to speak english, everyone else couldn't help us at all besides for calling a taxi. it was frustrating to communicate with the staff. The restaurants around the area were also not great for sashimi or BBQ. The location was far away from everything, which made it expensive to go to jeju city or to any of the attraction. There is only breakfast too that opens at 7 am, did not help when our plane was at 725am. The hotel looks decent on the outside, but the rooms were spacious yet decorated weird, not my kind of taste. When we did get to see the manager once, he recommended us some attractions we should se that ended up great, but we had a horribly planned first day without any help from the staff on helping us figure where to go with taxi. They didn't give us a taxi card and gave us a brochure, which was no help since it was in english and most koreans can't read english. We were lucky to have people in the area to tell the taxi driver for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trung H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeju hotels
1.9 mi away
Tamna Stay Hotel Jeju
Tamna Stay Hotel Jeju
#28 of 151 in Jeju
18 reviews
7.4 mi away
Maison Glad Jeju
Maison Glad Jeju
#3 of 151 in Jeju
353 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Jeju
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Shilla Stay Jeju
Shilla Stay Jeju
#2 of 151 in Jeju
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luston Villa & Hotel
Luston Villa & Hotel
#23 of 151 in Jeju
27 reviews
9.8 mi away
Ocean Suites Jeju Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol

Property: Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol
Address: 516-7, Aewolhaean-ro, Aewol-eup, Jeju, Jeju Island 63047, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Jeju
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Jeju
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Villa De Aewol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing