We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, close to airport but average service”
Review of Hotel W Shinjeju

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel W Shinjeju
Ranked #38 of 157 Hotels in Jeju
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The biggest advantage of this hotel is its spacious room and relatively low price. You may take Bus 500 from the airport and get off at after around 3-4 stops (there are two 500 going to two directions so make sure you take the one to Eunnamdong) But taking the taxi is also very good. We took a taxi from there to the airport and it cost around 5000 won only. If you choose taking the bus, get off at Eunnamdong, Then walk down the street until you reach Milano Crown hotel and Starbucks, you will see a horizontal pedestrian walk full of Chinese seafood restaurants called 寶健路in Chinese. walk down that traffic-free road and turn right at the first block, you will see the hotel. The hotel is indeed surrounded by restaurants but I feel that they are over-priced. for example we asked two seafood restaurants how much a king crab was, they charged 100,000won/kg, which was 50% higher than what you would pay for back in Noryangjin Market in Seoul. If you want more affordable seafood, you can take a taxi to Dongmun Traditional Market where you will probably get good sashimi and abalone at a more reasonable price. The location is far from most popular tourists sites so you will have to either take a taxi to different places or take a bus (but you need to know how).

The room is very spacious and clean. But the cleaning lady forgot to wash our cups. Also despite we paid for three persons, they only gave us two sets of cups and towels. When I asked for one more glass, the counter staff only pointed at the coffee machine and told me to get paper cup over there, so don't expect high quality service. Also the male hotel staff does not speak English but he did understand all my request such as lending me an adaptor, a knife, and calling a taxi for me. Wifi in room is rather unstable. You won't get warm service but you get a very spacious and clean room at a pretty good price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank woy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 59 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I was in Jeju, South Korea in November 2013 for the Thanksgiving break and I stayed in Hotel W for my holiday. I love the location of this hotel. It is just few steps to restaurants specially sea food restaurants, of course. Shops around the area are plentiful. Room is huge but basic and clean. The front reception employee speaks minimal English but I get by. I recommend Hotel W if you are looking for convenience to nearby restaurants and shops with just few steps from the hotel. I felt very safe when I was there!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank SwimDiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel W for 2 nights and had a pleasant stay. Great location, steps away from several restaurants, bars and shops. My room was very spacious, clean, quiet and well equipped: 50' flat screen Samsung TV, computer, large refrigerator with complimentary bottle of water and juice; stainless steel electric kettle, large and comfortable bed, nice linen, bathrobes and slippers. Bathroom was also spacious and clean, loved the modern Korean toilet stool, powder room with professional hairdryer, styling tools, hair gel, hairspray and skin gel firming!

Bottom line: Ideal hotel for a short stay and if you're not concerned about amenities. Keep in mind that there's no restaurant, room service, gym, sauna nor swimming pool in this hotel and Receptionist speaks very limited English.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

it's just next to a walking street where a lot of restaurants and shops there. the room is spacious. but a larger rubbish bin is highly suggested.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinchillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel W Shinjeju (not to be confused with Hotel W Topdong) is conveniently located adjacent to the shopping street of Yeondong in Shinjeju. The staff at the reception is a man of few words, but he gets the job done. There appears to be no major attractions in this area, but the location is a great base for moving to different parts of Jeju island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asianms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed 2 nights recently from 17th February till 19th February 2014. We first try self driving at Jeju (recommend as cost be much cheaper) from airport to Hotel W jeju is just driving distance around 15mins. Hotel W located convenient location, restaurant, bar, 24 hours convenience shop, jeju cultural street & etc just walking distance!

We staying Deluxe room, the room is spacious! room is clean, big and have a big LCD TV! the bed is seem a bit harder but still can acceptable.Mini bar fridge with free consumption everyday which are 2 mineral water, 1 can coffee & 1 can corn drink ( but the taste a bit weird, we cant finish it). The room have provide you with the computer too & WIFI consider stable. The bathroom is big which have bathtub and electronics toilet bowl (similar like Tokyo).

The staff is friendly but is limited English speaking, you be advise to use your smart photo dictionary to translate for communication with the receptionist.

The hotel have limited car park lot, so you need make sure available parking space if you back late or during peak season. and the parking is really need those good parking experience for park the car because the entrance to car park is quite fix for only 1 car and without the extra space.

Overall for this hotel I will give 4/5, room rate is reasonable which only USD 80 per night at Jeju island with convenience location! sure be back again for holiday unless 4 nights!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jesphannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was staying in Hotel W in the month of November 2013.
Location:
The hotel located in the city (Jeju island is not big), we took taxi from jeju airport to the hotel is around USD$30. Walking distance to may places, like the happening shopping avenue, full of restaurant / cafe/ bakery / beauty pruducts/ supermarket all around the hotel. Few steps from the hotel can get a 24 hours convenience store, so great.
Lobby:
Lobby is not big but provided with sofas and free coffee machine (very good coffee wspecially in cold weather). Reception counter is small only handle by 1 man, i booked the room via Agoda, he just read my confirmation sheet and immediate pass me a room key and toiletries bag.

Room:
Big. Big in size, big in feature wall, big in TV and big bed. Although is big but is lack of classy feeling, but in overall is comfortable stay for my 2 nights there.

Wifi are provided free for multiple users, signal not so stable either too strong or weak.

There are few drinks in the fridge for free consumption, they will replace it with everyday. They also provide tea bags and instant coffee for the room guest too.

There is air conditioning unit in the room but not functioning, although in the autumn time and cool outside, buut as a residence in south east asia for many years, i still feel a bit warm at night even though the window have open. This is one of the bad point i want to highlight.

As normal hotel in Seoul, they have provided face toner and moisturizor for man and woman, also provided hair gel and hair sprayer, so u no need to bring all this thing if stay in this hotel.

Bathroom: Spacious, they provided big bottle of shower gel, shampoo and conditional for guest use. Shower on the bathtub. The water pressure is strong enough but a bit difficult to control the water temperature by just moving the paip, so you will feel either too cool or too hot until u found the right place.

Just now i was mentioning the toiletries bag, the contents consists of disposable tooth brush, tooth paste and face cleansing form. I never request the 2nd night since i used my own products.

There is no restaurant in this hotel nor swimming pool, so there is no comment about this facilities.

Overall staying experience is good,

Room Tip: Try not to walk in and rent a room as full house for the 2 nights when i was stay there. Many walk i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jeju hotels
0.3 mi away
December Hotel Jeju
December Hotel Jeju
#9 of 157 in Jeju
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
MJ Hotel
MJ Hotel
#45 of 157 in Jeju
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leo
Hotel Leo
#8 of 157 in Jeju
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amber Hotel Jeju
Amber Hotel Jeju
#15 of 157 in Jeju
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Jeju Hotel
0.3 mi away
Urban Island Hotel
Urban Island Hotel
#34 of 157 in Jeju
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel W Shinjeju? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel W Shinjeju

Address: 42, Eunnam 4-gil, Jeju, Jeju Island 63123, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Jeju Island > Jeju
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 157 Hotels in Jeju
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel W Shinjeju 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel W Shinjeju reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing