We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riviera Haeundae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riviera Haeundae
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Busan
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Riviera is a nice hotel in a great location. It seemed a little over-priced for your standard hard, Asian bed though it did have a balcony and the room was quite spacious. Fortunately, the balcony had screen doors so that we could leave them open all night since the air con was not working properly. We slept through 3 warm mornings because we had to close the doors early in the morning to avoid not being kept awake by traffic and human noises on the street. Overall, a decent place to stay but slightly over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    26
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
17
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is located between Haeundae beach & subway station. It's within 5-minutes walk to either destination.

There are restaurants, pubs, convenient stores & fast food outlets nearby the hotel and the supermarket is at basement of the hotel's building.

However, the room furnishing is old & tired-looking. The interior setup looks like 80s design and furniture. The chairs' cushion are also thin & flat. The room is also stuffy with slight odour smell when first enter. I've kept the balcony doors open for ventilation throughout my stay although on Friday night, one can hear the loud partying from nearby pubs. Luckily, the bed mattress is comfortable & bedsheets clean & neat.

Staff speaks very basic English and are prompt to my request.

Although good location but unfortunately I would not stay in this hotel again due to the interior room setup.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KlayShrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
227 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Riviera at Haeundae, Busan, South Korea from 23 June to 27 June and found it to be very conveniently located property easily accessible by public transport. Value for money as the rooms are spacious and well appointed. Service is overall fairly good. However, there is no lobby as such in the hotel and as such people cannot meet at any place other than the rooms.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at the Riviera Hotel in late May. The hotel is located on top of a shopping centre. Level 9 is the lobby area and the rooms go up from there. Our room was on level 15 and the views were spectacular. The room was very large, at least for the two of us. The staff spoke English and were very helpful. The restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch till 4pm was very good and the meals were huge and the restaurant had equally spectacular views. The Haeundae subway station is about 10 mins away in the opposite direction to the beach. Buses are also available there. The beach is about 10 mins or less depending on what you stop to look at since the markets are on the way to the beach. ATM's are also available in the direction of the beach. There is a Casino about 15 mins away and you have to produce a passport to get in. Free Wi-fi is available at the hotel. Excellent value and well worth staying at. We would recommend the hotel and will stay again when we visit Busan. The
Haedong Yonggungsa Temple (built in the 1400's on the beach) is well worth a visit and is about 15 mins by taxi or bus from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is located half way between Haeundae subway station and ocean beach, about 7 minutes walk from both. Initial access is not obvious however - it's down a small street on the left side of the road leading from the station to the beach - there is a sign but it's easily missed. The hotel reception is on the 9th floor above shops. Staff are friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant, but use of English is limited.

The American breakfast is nothing special, but the Korean one is a delight. We cannot comment on the dinners - we bought local treats from the small Market in the next block - excellent.

It's very easy to walk to the beach and explore other attractions like Daegon Park at the western end of the beach. Haeundae subway station is really handy for getting into Busan itself, or catching the 181 bus out to the Buddhist Temple on the coast.

If you catch a taxi to the hotel make sure you have it's phone number. If the driver gets lost you can then ring the hotel and get them to give the driver directions in Korean.

The free wifi is excellent in the lobby but we had to go out into our corridor - there was no signal in our room.

Overall, a very good hotel and a bit cheaper being back from the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2ozgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

the Hotel is not Bad Bad. But for this price really you can expect MORE. Even though I know Haeundae Beach is expensive area. I stayed there for 4 nights.
First : I got a room on the 17th floor. the smell of humidity was awful and we only have a very tiny window which I open as soon as I was in my room. Explanation : no efficient ventilation system in the bathroom.
Second : the rooms are NOISY. You can hear people talking in the corridor and in the rooms around you. It was terrible. I have been awake 2 nights at 4am by young people coming back from party. Ok, it was summer vacations, nut when you pay more than 120$ you have the right to have a peaceful night. + the floor carpet, I think is not that clean.
Third : Breakfast is disguting. Only sal version and even this salt version is not good. Doesn't worth at all the value.
Four : no luggage service. and entrance by the commercial mall. Beurk.
Five : no safety box in the rooms.but available at the front desk
Six : No map in english of the surroundings, even though you can find FRee ones at the information center on the beach. They can go and pick some for themselves. I brought some for them. And I was not the only English-speaker in the hotel.
Seven : but not the least : No INternet connection. You can only use Wireless and it was not working low signal. I had to go to the business room to get a wire cable and be able to work among family and people talking on Skype or this kind of thing. If you go for business iot is really annoying.

what is ok : location is nice if you want to spend time on the beach (awfully crowded by the way) and close to the subway station haeundae.
Staff is nice, I have to say, but actually they have nothing else to do for you except hello and good bye.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac_elina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

Stayed in the Riviera hotel in September 2006; paid about $80/night for a twin room, booking through asia-hotels.com. The hotel is located a few blocks from the very nice Haeundae Beach and visitor's information booth; about 5 minutes walk from a subway stop (Haeundae Station). The rooms were standard and clean; the bath was small, as expected, but adequate (with shower and tub). There's nothing spectacular about this hotel but it seems a good safe bet at a reasonable price for Busan. I can't speak about the air conditioning as we didn't use it.

The best part was the location. The hotel is situated right over a large department store with decent shopping. Up and down the nearby pedestrian streets are tons of small local eateries, shops, a wet market, and a few bars. We didn't have a problem with noise. We had a neat view of the neon lights from our balcony. A few blocks down is Haeundae Beach and Western fast food/restaurants such as McDonalds and Outback Steakhouse. Pretty easy to find your way back. The hotel also had a restaurant but we didn't try it. Parking for the hotel is in the department store garage (a little confusing but convenient).

I have stayed in the Commodore as well and I think this represents much better value and is not nearly so isolated. I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Busan.


  • Liked — Location near beach and local scene; value
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lambiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
0.9 mi away
Benikea Premier Marianne Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Haeundae Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Industrie Hotel
Industrie Hotel
#15 of 134 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Louis Hamilton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#12 of 134 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera Haeundae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Haeundae

Property: Hotel Riviera Haeundae
Address: 21, Gunam-Ro 29beon-Gil, Haeundae-Gu | Save Zone, Busan 48095, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 134 Hotels in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera Haeundae 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haeundae Riviera Hotel offers guests beautiful rooms, wedding halls, banquet rooms, restaurants, coffee shops, and business centers equipped with the high-speed Internet network. It tries to provide the excellent services as a'business and resort hotel'that can offer a great venue for your business and shopping convenience for customers. Amenities Free wired and wireless internet at Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera Haeundae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing