We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay with the family. Economical, friendly and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popcorn Hostel Haeundae
Ranked #12 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with the family. Economical, friendly and convenient!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

As a family of four, it becomes very clear there are limited hotel options when booking in Asia. Popcorn hostel gave us another option with bunk beds in their family rooms. We had a queen bed plus two bunk beds and beautiful stone bathroom with rain shower for a third of the cost at hotels three minutes away. We were on the 11th floor with a view of the ocean and surrounding area. Although directly above traffic, ear plugs at night did the trick. The staff were friendly and eager to help. The price also included all you can eat eggs and toast. It's a traditional hostel where you share the kitchen and fridge space as well as meet people traveling through Korea and Asia. The view from their 11th floor lobby is worth the visit. This is definitely a great value for singles and couples and an excellent value and experience for those with kids. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a couple of comforters to put down over the mattress as it may be quite firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2tzimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
9
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chungcheongnam-do, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I spent four days at Popcorn over my vacation and it was fantastic! The rooms are very modern and clean. The location is great: very close to the beach as well many restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly, and generally spoke good English. I especially liked the rooftop barbecues held at night, which were a great way to meet people, plus they were a good cheap meal! I have already been recommending Popcorn to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Popcorn is a clean hostel with modern facilities and a great location by the beach, but what really sets it apart are a super fun live-in staff and an owner who truly looks to provide the best service for his guests.

I came through Busan on a surface journey from Europe to the US via Asia and chose to stay at Popcorn after learning that Roy, the owner, had experience with freighter passengers before. It turns out that the first time he got a traveller who wanted to cross the Pacific by container, he got very excited about it and helped her find and book a voyage through the local agent.

I had already booked my passage after a month of research, but had I known, Roy could have provided most of the information himself and saved me 25% on my fare. Nonetheless, it was great to have an host who was interested in my travels and flexible about extending my stay day by day while the ship was delayed.

In 7 months, this was the only time I found someone in hospitality to not only have more than a passing interest in my journey, but to want to help every guest with their travel needs, no matter how unusual.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is always fun, full of energy from good people and just very special~~~

The place it self is very modern, clean, updated and locaed in the heart of town-the beach, night life, restaurants, etc!!!
The staff memebers there are even awesomer~~~

MUST Experience it for yourself and you will become a fan of it, too ♥♥♥

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolesuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was a pleasant 4 days 3 nights stays in Popcorn, the owner and staff are friendly and helpful. The room is clean and what I like is the private bathroom. Breakfast is provided too, miss the eggs so much! Read more on www.loveanqila.blogspot.com there are more pictures too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANQILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is located on the building at 10th and 11th floor. The room was huge and clean, lots of space for us and the luggage. Location is near Airport Limousine Bus Stop, at the Paradise Hotel, walk around 10-15 minutes to the hostel. At night there were people singing at the club below us, its quite annoying. Near to the beach and restaurant/market at the Haeundae. Subway is quite distant, about 15-20 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faldy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hostel is by far one of the best I have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly and attentive. From the moment I walked in the door I felt welcome. They also suggest great places to eat and drink in the area as well as some attractions to see while staying in Haeundae. 5 minutes from the beach and surrounded by great bars! What more do you want!
Rooms were clean and kept well complete with en-suite (Very rare for hostels to have rooms with their own en-suite's).
Tea, Coffee, Toast and Fried Eggs for Breakfast. Great way to kick start your day especially before spending a day at the beach or roaming.
Could not be happier with this place and I will definitely return when I venture back to Busan!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank king07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
0.3 mi away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#11 of 135 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blueboat Hostel Haeundae
0.3 mi away
Hostel the new day
Hostel the new day
#2 of 159 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pobi Guesthouse
Pobi Guesthouse
#10 of 159 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popcorn Hostel Haeundae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popcorn Hostel Haeundae

Property: Popcorn Hostel Haeundae
Address: 321, Haeundaehaebyun-ro, Haeundae-gu | 11F Marine Tower, Busan 48096, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Popcorn Hostel Haeundae 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a real backpackers Hostel in Busan Korea.We offer 8 beds Dormitory rooms, Family rooms and VIP room.All of our rooms are with shower, hot water, air-conditioner and floor heating system. 2~6 minutes walk to Haeundae beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Popcorn Hostel Haeundae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing