We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premium hostel in Busan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo
Ranked #41 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although I only stayed at Sum Guesthouse one night, I was thoroughly impressed. The awesome decor and free beer lure you into the hostel, but the owner's hospitality will make you want to return. I was especially impressed by the private lockers and individual night lights in the dorm rooms. The breakfast was simple and hearty!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palabracrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had a nice time in Busan and at SUM Guesthouse. Welcome pack provide two towels (even thou kinda small) and slippers. Whole guesthouse is modern and everything look nice and new. Walls between the rooms does not reach the ceiling so you can heard everything that happens in the other rooms like is happening in yours. In the shower the body soap and the shampoo is already provided. WiFi works well and the provided PC in the common room even better. Only things: the doors are tricky to close (mine coudn`t close from the inside) and around the area there`s not much to eat that is not non-korean, you must take the subway to Seomyeon to find more offer. There is a convenient store right in front of the main guesthouse door.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank branca90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you're looking for a new clean dorm room with good service and location, this guesthouse is the best choice. It takes 3 minutes to walk to the subway, shopping area, Yongdusan Park/Busan Tower and 5 minutes to Jalgachi market and street food area. When you book this guesthouse, ask them to show you how to get there. It's so easy to find the guesthouse by following a video clip they send to you. Free wifi, internet service and breakfast are included. KRW1,000 for laundry (at the time i was there) and the staff are so helpful. I'll stay there again if i go back to Busan.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I went to Busan for a 3d2n trip. For the second night of our trip, we stayed at Sum Guesthouse Nampo and I personally think that it's really a worthy place to stay at. The staff are very helpful and one of the staff recommended us with a number of great places to visit (which are only walking distance). And we were really grateful for that as we went to one of the greatest places to see the beautiful view of Busan. Moreover, the beds are also very comfy and really suitable for tourists like us who go out the whole day and come back to have a good rest.

What's really surprised us is that this guest house even provides hair straighteners and curling iron equipments (besides hair dryers) for the guests, especially for women who wanna style up their hair. and this is something beyond our expectation as from all the guesthouses that we stayed during our trip in Korea (both Seoul and Busan), only this guest house provides something to customers that we never expected. Furthermore, breakfast (from bread to eggs) is all fully prepared by the staff and this again was beyond our expectation (as from the rest of guesthouses that we stayed at, we had to cook the eggs ourselves).

Overall, I must say the services of Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo are really thumbs-up and hence, SUM guesthouse is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are to visit Busan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megg27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My friend and I had a great time staying in SUM hostel in Busan, and we ended up staying longer than planned because we liked it so much. It comes highly recommended.

The atmosphere in SUM is very pleasant: Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful, and co-owner Jae speaks excellent English and will help you with everything - great for people such as us, who don't speak Korean.

Fees includes continental breakfast with eggs and Korean cream-soup, and we were also served a beer every night, which I think is also included, since we were not charged for it.

SUM is newly opened, so the facilities are new and clean. We stayed in a 4-bed, female dorm, which was very cutely decorated with pink pillows and blankets, clean and comfy beds. There is a very nice lounge-area downstairs with two computers that you can use. There is also free wireless in the hostel.

The Nampo-area in Busan, where the hostel is situated, is a cool, "young" area with many restaurants and bars, not too touristey. The hostel is in walking distance from the famous Dagalchi fish-market. It is also very close to a subway.

For us, what set SUM apart was really the atmosphere and the people who run the place: Friendly, open, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. When we stayed there, they were having a small party in the lounge-area, and invited everyone to join them, and we had a super evening drinking "soju sunrise"-drinks and talking. Really one of the best experiences on our entire trip.

So if you go to Busan, I highly recommend SUM Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sum Guesthouse is a new, nice, good hostel located in the Nampo Area. Just minutes walk to the Subway Station and the Nampo Dong. Nearby the Yongdusan Park and BIFF Plaza which you can find anything you want to see, eat and shop easily.

I stayed in a 8 people room with my friends for 2nights. Everything is new and clean, amenities like sleepers and towel provided. Simple breakfast starts at 08:00 in the morning but as we need to catch the train in early morning (06:00!) so the guesthouse let us to make the sandwich ourselves with their materials. Taxi to the Busan Station, just around KRW2,200! Cheaper and faster than subway if you have 2 or more people.

On a weekend, they hosted a party at the ground floor because of the heavy rain in Busan. All of the guests around but as we arrived lately, I and my friend just have some drinks and " Korean Pizza" made by the Chef (staff). We had a wonderful night and took some pictures with the staffs. It's good to have a gathering with all of the guests together. I have asked with Sum (the guesthouse) and they said party is in irregularly scheduled. Besides, guest can enjoyed a free drink (beer / tea) everynight at their kiosk.

Free Wifi all around the guesthouse, speed is good and signal can be search anywhere. In my room (8 people room), there are 4 bunk beds and 2 bathrooms. Bed is quite comfortable, with two sockets and a small self on the wall. You can find lovely pictures / cartoons all around the corridor or floor, nice and warm.

It was my first time staying in a guesthouse / hostel and I am satisfied and enjoyed with Sum!
The guesthouse is good for friends and solo traveler with resonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoalaYip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hiutungchanflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.1 mi away
Sky Island Guest House
Sky Island Guest House
#7 of 204 in Busan
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aroma Hotel
Aroma Hotel
#137 of 561 in Busan
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nampo Comma Hotel
Nampo Comma Hotel
#18 of 561 in Busan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Funstay Inn Guesthouse
Funstay Inn Guesthouse
#63 of 204 in Busan
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Yaja Nampo Lotte Department
0.1 mi away
Ekonomy Hotel Nampo
Ekonomy Hotel Nampo
#109 of 561 in Busan
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo

Address: 5-5, Gwangbok-ro 85beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan 48952, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Price Range: $23 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sum Guesthouse Busan Nampo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing