We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expecting better service from a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Busan
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Expecting better service from a Westin”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying in a Westin your expectations are maybe a bit too high sometimes. The location of the hotel is great. The rooms are OK but especially the reception staff is quite if I say arrogant it's maybe to harsh but they really have an attitude....
The best thing I remember of this place is the buffet breakfast in the morning which was absolutely top class.
I think the hotel is OK but with a warmer and more welcoming attitude towards the guests it would be great.

Room Tip: Look your'e located on a high as possible floor facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crococat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We at the Westin Chosun understand the importance of fulfilling each one of our guest’s expectations and it greatly concerns me that you have a negative impression of us..

I'm sincerly sorry for the problem you encountered from staff's attitude and service.
Your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to prevent any similar occurrence in the near future. Once again, I on behalf of our team at the Westin Chosun Busan would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and look forwards to providing you with better services on your next visit at the Westin Chosun Busan.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park.
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    257
    65
    12
    9
See reviews for
169
138
52
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

One of those hotels that leave you with the Wow! factor. Lovely location, top class hotel. Have not sampled the food other than the buffet breakfast which was great. There is are lovely walks around the headland on which the hotel is built - super for joggers, the gym and spa are good too. Busan as a city is a super and I would consider a visit for holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntS54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan. We appreciate your good comments on a location of our hotel and facilities. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and we will do our best to fulfill each one of our guest’s expectations. We hope to have you again for our holidays and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit. Thank you. Best Regards,. Sang-jo Park. Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in Korea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've stayed at the Westin Chosun Hotel several times and always really liked it. As a result I was extremely disappointed by my recent stay there.

This time I had to stay during a business trip and really needed rest. I didn't get much. I acknowledge it was peak holiday season but I was disturbed by noise from the moment I arrived in my room until I left. There were screaming children constantly running along the corridor outside my room (which is quite common in Korea) which I can deal with OK by using ear plugs. But what I can't deal with is constant thumping from guests walking around in the room above mine which went on until after midnight and started again before 6am. Clearly, the sound-proofing between the rooms is inadequate. This made me so stressed I almost asked to be relocated.

Other than that, I felt the rooms were looking a little old and tired and in need of refurbishment. I didn't eat in the hotel but have always enjoyed the buffet restaurant. And the views are fantastic from every floor if you can score an ocean view.

I filled in a feedback card detailing my issues with the room noise but never received any feedback from management. So I can only assume that this '5-star hotel' no longer really cares about their guests' feedback and complaints - or that an English-speaking complaint is in the 'too hard basket'. That's a shame as the arrival of the new 5-star Park Hyatt Busan nearby (where I also stayed recently and can highly recommend) may really start to impact on their business.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor available to maximize the view from your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDi2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

We at the Westin Chosun understand the importance of fulfilling each one of our guest’s expectations and it greatly concerns me that you have a negative impression of us.

We are sorry for the problems you encountered from the noise and the delayed feedback. Your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to prevent any similar occurrence in the near future.

Once again, I on behalf of our team at the Westin, Busan would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and look forwards to providing you with better services on your next visit at the Westin Chosun Busan.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have stayed at many Westin hotels and this one meets the standard! It's the only hotel that is directly ON THE BEACH. We stayed on the top floor with a king size bed (however, the bed is rather small compared to USA standard king bed - I even called downstairs to ask and make sure it was the right room). I'm thinking it's a cultural difference. Breakfast on the executive floor was amazing and had great views of the ocean! I ate at the pub and enjoyed live music one night and that was really nice and relaxing. I also hung out one late evening upstairs drinking and shooting pool. (I will add that the bar tenders couldn't make great mixed drinks - pina colada / martini) stick to beer/wine. The customer service was great at every moment. The location is really great and I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be right on the beach. That's why I went to Busan, so it was perfect.

PS - there is a shuttle from the airport to the hotel - it's only 7000won - take it! It's much cheaper than taking a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel location, facilities and the services. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had a room with the ocean view which was really great. The hotel is also right next to a great park around the tip of the cove. I wish I had more time to explore. The hotel is fantastic with fantastic amenities - gym, sauna, lounge. Its right next to all the action on the beach. Also, it was all within walking distance of several eating places. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel location and the facilities. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I came just for one night as we have never been to busan and heard it was a great city to visit while in South Korea. We arrived 3 hrs early from the busan station and was hoping to just drop off our bag or possibly do an early check in. While one of the front desk employees told us there would be an additional fee, the manager Robins Kim got us checked in with no problems..he just took care if it as we were deciding to leave our bag in baggage claims. He and the rest of the stuff were so courteous and friendly...way better service than any Westin in the states. Really felt like a 5 star hotel without the 5 star price tag. View and location are amazing and the breakfast was extensive. We would definitely return again. Thank you Mr. Kim and staff for a short but pleasant stay!

Room Tip: We recommend taking a morning walk to the APEC house adjacent to the hotel. There is a stunning oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueOD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We appreciate your good comments on a location of our hotel and the services. Your comments have been shared with our front office manager Mr. Robins Kim and all our associates. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will keep trying to do our best to fulfill each one of our guest’s expectations, and hope to get another chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I love this hotel! Stayed only one night with my boyfriend and wish we had time to stay longer. It has gorgeous room views. I DEFINITELY recommend paying extra for the sea view and if it's in your budget get an "executive" room which includes free breakfast buffet, free lunch snack bar, and free open bar with snack bar from 6-8!!! (With drinks that you pour yourself! Worth it!) Wifi works great all over the hotel. The beach is very nice and there are some good food places and attractions in the area like the Busan aquarium and a ferris wheel. Beds are VERY comfy and the room was spotless.

Room Tip: Get an "executive" room which includes free breakfast buffet, free lunch snack bar, and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatsuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We appreciate your good comments on a location of our hotel and the services.
We are very happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your recent stay and we will do our best to fulfill each one of our guest’s expectations. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 136 in Busan
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
5.6 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 136 in Busan
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#5 of 136 in Busan
471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
0.2 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Busan

Property: The Westin Chosun Busan
Address: 67, Dongbaek-ro, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48100, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#4 Business Hotel in Busan
#5 Family Hotel in Busan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Busan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Chosun Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Busan Hotel Busan
Westin Chosun Busan
Westin Busan
Busan Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing