We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Chosun Busan
Ranked #6 of 184 Hotels in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After taking a walk on the beach, I turned around to look at our hotel and was amazed by it's placement on the beach and its breath taking location. We left the Westin in Seoul to go to Busan to be closer to our two adopted Korean children's birth places. Going from the Westin in Seoul to Busan felt like a giant step down, but come on, the Westin in Seoul is impeccable. When you are in Busan you are less likely to run in to English speakers, the concierge is top notch and can help you with any needs you may have. Our view in room 622 was amazing, I loved watching the swimmers and rescue practice operations, was so pleased to have a 5 star view. The one reason it didn't get a 5 star is the micro-small bathrooms, not enough counter space and is in serious need of some elbow room. The one hilarious sign, and one I couldn't quite wrap my head around is the entrance to the Atlantic Beach Club, the pool, sauna and work out area "Please be advised that any person who has tattoos on their body is not allowed to enter the center." A massive cultural difference there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We appreciate your good comments on our hotel location and the concierge service. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, regarding the size of the bath room, your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to improve the quality of our hotel facility. Thank you again for your time to write about your stay, and we look forwards to providing you with better services on your next visit at the Westin Chosun Busan.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 666 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a Beach View room which was definitely worth the extra cost since the views are breathtaking any time of day. I was disappointed though with pretty much everything else. The room walls are paper thin, so you hear everything in the hall and adjacent rooms. There were a lot of kids on my hall so that proved frustrating. Second, the sauna is an extra cost which was news to me. So, even though we are paying a high price for this room, we have to fork over another 20,000 won each per visit to the sauna. And we are told this is a 50% discount. The coffee in the room is not unlimited as you would expect in a hotel of this brand. You get two complimentary nescafe pods and after that its extra. Its not the cost that bother me so much but the add ons here and there ruins the experience of staying in what you thought was a at least 4 star hotel.
When I checked in, they had no record of my reservation even though I had booked and paid in full and had received confirmation. It took over 20mins as I had to go to a back room and retrieve my email confirmation. The staff is very nice and pleasant but am not sure I would bill them as english speaking.
The restaurants inside the hotel are very overpriced so I would recommend venturing out for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We at the Westin Chosun understand the importance of fulfilling each one of our guest’s expectations and it greatly concerns me that the problems you encountered from the noise, sauna entrance fee and in-room service during your stay. Your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to prevent any similar occurrence in the near future.

I on behalf of our team at the Westin Busan would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and look forwards to providing you with better services on your next visit at the Westin Chosun Busan.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This Westin hotel keep up with the offering of the Westin hotel worldwide : great room and service. The hotel is located in the Hyundae district ( new city district) of Busan . This is a touristy spot adjacent to a beach that stretch for 1 km and begin just outside the hotel backyard. Near the hotel main gate there is a scenic walk that take you around the small promontory where the hotel is located. Once you have reached the opposite site of the beach the road goes uphill and there are more scenic walks in the bushes available . the hotel location is great for holiday guests and for convention/seminar events but a bit far fom the city if you are in Busan for business. ( about 30 minutes from the city center and about 50 minutes from the airport). Having said that, I was there for business and I didn't regret to commute extra time.
The hotel common facilities are very well maintained and clean. The staff is polite and capable. My room had a great view of the whole beach ( #823) .The only thing I didn't like in thehotel was the food quality and choice. But this is not a problem with the hotel itself but with S. Korea: I travel a lot the peninsula and consistently the western food quality everywhete I go need improvements. I strongly recommend you to eat Korean to the small seafood restaurants that are located outside the hotel to the opposite end of the beach . They are not fancy but the food is good

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank LucaFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We appreciate your good comments on our hotel location and the services. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, regarding the food quality, your comments have been shared with our management team and the correct measures will be taken to improve the quality of the food.
We look forwards to providing you with better services on your next visit at the Westin Chosun Busan.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. As SPG Platinum Member was upgraded to a Suite overlooking the beach. The room was pretty decent. Lounge on top floor offered breakfast - western/korean choices and also an evening happy hour from 5-7pm where snacks and alcohol were available. The location is great at the end of Hyundae Beach and the subway stations are nearby. If you need to get to other locations around Busan, taxis are very cheap. Staff very polite and the hotel was very clean. Would reccommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel location and the services. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 7 nights,a mix of business and pleasure. We had a room on the executive floor which was overlooking Haeundae Beach. It was a nice bright room with great views. The inclusive breakfast and happy hour in the evening were very good. The location is right on the beach with a promenade and walks around dongbaek. Check-in was fast and we found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant. On the first evening we had a problem with the safe which was fixed right away. Air conditioning in the room could be adjusted to suit which was great as we like a cool room. The air con in the hotel was a little warmer than I am comfortable with but I suppose that's subjective. The bed was a bit on the firm side. Food in the hotel was really good and ate in the Panorama lounge, O'Kims and the buffet. We also attended 2 functions in the hotel, a barbecue evening and a formal dinner in APEC house which were superb. Thanks to Mr Kim who organised everything. The concierge Chelsea Lee was very helpful in explaining the sights to see in Busan and how to get to them. We were able to use the Metro and the Mipo ferry thanks to her information. Entertainment was a singing duo in O'kims which were very good. We liked the location of the hotel in Haeundae as it was beautiful and peaceful in preference to a hotel in downtown Busan. All in all this is a great hotel whose lovely staff make it an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room on executive floor as it includes breakfast and drinks with food in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We appreciate your good comments on our hotel facility, service and a location. Your comments have been shared with our all associates and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your time, and we hope to get a chance to provide you the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed 3 nights using Starwood points. The staff were great and really do their best to communicate in English. My advice is to be patient when communicating with staff and the resulting service will meet or exceed your expectations. Front desk and door staff were very helpful at check-in and we were in our room quickly. Our first room was a 3rd floor with two beds (1 Queen and 1 Single) facing the front/park side. More on the view in a moment. The room was good but we wanted to upgrade to a King bedroom for my wife and our 3 year old son. I called down and even though the King bedrooms were fully booked the next two nights (meaning we would have to potentially move again), with a little patience, they found a King bed 9th floor club room and charged me the same amount of upgrade points (versus a higher amount). They even apologized that the room would be facing the park instead of the ocean... That did not matter to us. Our priority was the King bedroom. The room was great and we had free buffet breakfast with that upgrade. Sweet! The views: Oceanside all rooms have a great view, park side is also very pretty but rooms on higher floors are better (you won't see the lobby roof as much). This hotel has WiFi. solid access in the 3rd floor room, a bit tough getting a signal in our 9th floor room. Closer to the door was better/reliable. No complaints. The buffet breakfast was good with a nice selection of North American options as well as Korean and other Asian items. The views from the restaurant are facing the beach and oceanside. The pool is nice. There is a small wading pool (2-3ft deep?). Again the recreation staff are great. You need to wear a swim cap and they provided one on loan when I asked. Even for the little ones. Outside the beach and boardwalk are nice. It was a bit cool to swim in the ocean (late March) but great for walks and exploring the sand for shells and stones. Others have sad this and I agree... The Busan Aquarium is 15-20 mins walking distance along the boardwalk and we had a fantastic visit. Children under 3 are free (~wink, wink~). I'll do a separate review on that place. The selection of restaurants in the area was good. American chain restaurants, ones from other counties plus great local seafood. There is more but this review would be huge. Let me say that we will visit Busan again and will stay at this Westin again.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank CanKorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel room and the services. We are looking forward to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group of business executives. Excellent overall service and staff. Gym was small but acceptable. Adjacent park great for walking/jogging. Group had a reception at the nearby APEC facility that was stunning and memorable.

Opt for a club level room for access to breakfast and evening cocktails. Hotel is out of the way from the main center city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen K, Manager at The Westin Chosun Busan, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for staying at The Westin Chosun Busan.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also we appreciate your good comments on our hotel services and the location. We hope to have you again and get a chance to provide you with the better services on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sang-jo Park
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hyatt Busan
Park Hyatt Busan
#2 of 184 in Busan
1,068 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 184 in Busan
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#3 of 184 in Busan
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
0.4 mi away
Shilla Stay Haeundae
Shilla Stay Haeundae
#18 of 184 in Busan
76 reviews
1.5 mi away
Haeundae Centum Hotel
Haeundae Centum Hotel
#17 of 184 in Busan
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chosun Busan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chosun Busan

Address: 67, Dongbaek-ro, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48100, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Busan
#4 Family Hotel in Busan
#4 Business Hotel in Busan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Busan
Price Range: $194 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Chosun Busan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chosun Busan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chosun Busan Hotel Busan
Westin Chosun Busan
Westin Busan
Busan Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing