We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sanctuary”
Review of Terra Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terra Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Clean, quiet, with a fantastic view from the seaside terrace. Spent two nights and three days here, each day I would come back in the early evening to relax on the terrace and get ready to go back out to Nampo (downtown). Which is blocks away with street food, bars, restaurants, little shops, and lots of people.

Below you have Jagalchi Market, another treat to walk through and/or eat at. There is also a cute, friendly kitty that joined me outside for breakfast each morning. To top it off, your hosts will be friendly and very helpful.

Went to a lot of the areas in Busan during these three days, and have to say, you'd be hard pressed to find a better experience for the money. Just book it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkinnyBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    20
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
11
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

As have been mentioned ample times, location was right at the Jalgachi fish market, and provide easy access to Busan Tower. Opposite the street at Nampo dong, I had spend a lot of time walking around shopping for good food with my friends..too much nice restaurants and shops in the area. Good base to explore Busan. Owner was friendly and speaks good English..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dynastyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a room facing the sea. It was a very cozy room. Warm, spacious & clean. Bathroom was very clean & big too. At the lounge, it is just heavenly to be sitting outside listening to the music they play at the observation terrace. Will definitely return to this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HunneeLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for shopping, an amazing and largest seafood market with many rare and unusual fresh seafood to choose from their fish tanks at the adjoining restaurants.
Terra is located at its central. The place was welcoming and affordable. The guesthouse has an MAGNIFICENT view of the harbour from their balcony.
Facilities in the guesthouse is first class clean and modern. Amenities in the toilet and huge shower area were sufficient. It would be good if there were heaters in the shower area.
The staff there especially Ms Kay has an outstanding performance. She has a big kind, very helpful and loving heart.
I highly recommend this place to everybody staying in Busan.
Daedanhee Gamsahamnida Ms Kay and Amy for your hospitality and hope to see you again soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Babygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is the 1st accommodation of my 10-day trip in Korea. Booked this guesthouse since we are foodies and really wanted easy access to fresh seafood. We were so thrilled to find that there is actually a guesthouse at the highest floor of the famous Jagalchi Seafood Market in Busan. The owner of the guesthouse speaks very good English too, so there is no communication barrier. All bookings and arrangement were done smoothly through emails.

There is no regret of staying at this guesthouse. The only regret is that we wished we have stayed longer here and in Busan. We moved on to Seoul the next day since the airfare to Busan is cheaper than directly to Incheon airport.

Location:
The guesthouse is within walking distance to the subway stations, in fact, it's between 2 subway stations. To me, it’s at the best location possible if you want to experience the true life of a Korean. There is a huge live seafood market on the 1st level, many authentic Korean seafood stalls serving cooked or raw seafood on 2nd level. Besides that, just a few steps outside the building where the guesthouse is, there is a huge local open-air market selling not just seafood but daily necessities. There are rows of stalls selling yummy pork based soup and dishes that you can’t find anywhere else in Korea. So if you want to experience the daily life of a Korean in Busan, choose to stay at Terra Guesthouse. Though it's above a fish market, the ambience in the guesthosue is very peaceful and doesn't feel like it at all that it shares the same building with a fish market.
I had a wonderful experience walking around the guesthouse and snapping photos at 1am in the morning. I got the to see the hard work a fisherman/fishmonger, including auctioning of the fresh catch. It was a busy scene at the port in the wee hour.

The rooms:
The rooms are very beautifully decorated and clean with comfortable Korean mattress and heated floor to warm us during winter. All the ensuite rooms with private toilets face the ocean so you get great ocean views as well as the beautiful night city skylight. There are basic toiletries such as shampoo, bath gel and towels provided. Hair dryer is also provided in the room.
There is a very cozy common area/dining area that serves good coffee and various drinks. Getting together with friends over a cup of coffee would be really great here. There is also an open balcony that overlooks the ocean.

Free Breakfast:
Breakfast items: fresh milk, cereals, coffee, toast with jam.

Other services:
There is laundry service provided but not sure if needs payment. Didn't make use of the laundry service.

Would want to visit Busan again and spend a few more days here. Terra Guesthouse would definitely be my 1st choice of accommodation in Busan.

Room Tip: For ensuite rooms, there is room with real bed and rooms with Korean mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Its was my 1st time to Busan and I was there on October, just a nice weather to travel in Busan. After arrive in Gimhae International airport in the morning and I get a bus from Airport to this guesthouse. I have waited around 25min for the bus to arrive and heading to the last stop name Nampo-Dong. Its was a 50min for the bus to stop at every stop.
The location of this guest house is not that difficult to find as you can see the tall Jagalchi building after you out from the bus. Its just across the road. I reach the hotel in 7th floor for check in at 10.30am. Unfortunately they not allow me to check in early and ask me to leave my lugage at the side of the corridor and come back to check in at 3pm. I request for a shower in one of their sharing bathroom because I have a connection flight from Milan and have taken more than 20 hours flight, and was not allow to taking the shower there. And I feel not so flexible and uncomfortable.
The room for my 1st impression is simple and clean and can fit well up to 4 people and of course the ocean view is super and can't replace by 4* hotel.
The attach bathroom is good got hot water and with shampoo and toothpaste provided but the towel smell cockroach for me and I din't really use it. Maybe is the water that using to clean the towel got smell.
The fish market downstairs is a happening place for any hour on day or night and for food hunting is not a big problem for me. Getting a taxi to any destination you wanted is just easy with a little fare. Busan Station is a station for you to catch a train to Seoul by KTX train and its only take you about 2 hour 45min, Its ther most easy and convenient way. Beside the Busan Station there is a Busan city tour Bus for you to take with a little fare and you can have a very good eye catching tour round the Busan city.
If you need a quite break or want to be alone, you can buy some snack to our guesthouse balcony with the ocean view and enjoying your day with reading some books or catching some fresh air with your love one.
Busan is a truly relaxing place and with the guesthouse provided for me the stranger to this beautiful place is just as good what in my plan. I will come back again on my next visit and hope will be more things for me to review. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms with attach bathroom more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jertaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place is very easy to find. It is just sited in Jagalchi market building itself. The awesome view from the balcony is exactly what you saw in pictures posted. It is so near to the seaport and you can see LOTTE Dept Store light up at one corner, a bridge that will change color at night and on the left, a cluster of houses (I am unsure if it is Gamcheong-dong). The balcony is a great place where you can order a drink form their bar and chill out.

This guesthouse is only 5 min walk to Nampodong and Jagalchi subway. Walking distance to BIFF Square,Gwangbok-dong fashion street, Busan tower, Lotte Dept store etc. Very convenient to get to attraction like Taejongdae and Gamcheong-dong. It is only few stops to Busan Station too.

Although staying in Haeundae may be easier if you plan to travel to Gyeongju by commuter train but you can simply take subway line 1 to Bujeon subway station (about 20 min) and walk over to Bujeon rail station, without changing line.

The bed and room is clean. Air-con, Wifii, shower etc..all working fine. There is even a powder room..Very helpful and cheerful staff that always ready yo attend to your needs. Oh, their cat is really qute too.

I have indeed made a right choice staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guesswhat229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.2 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#6 of 136 in Busan
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noah
Hotel Noah
#21 of 136 in Busan
80 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#35 of 136 in Busan
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#20 of 136 in Busan
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blueboat Hostel Nampo
Blueboat Hostel Nampo
#5 of 169 in Busan
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sky Island Guest House
Sky Island Guest House
#8 of 169 in Busan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Guesthouse

Property: Terra Guesthouse
Address: 52, Jagalchihaean-ro, Jung-gu | 7F Jagalchi Market, Busan 48983, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Terra Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Guesthouse is a clean and modern guesthouse which offers relaxing atmosphere to guests. We have both dormitory and private rooms with affordable rates. There is a lounge where travelers can purchase beverages and sit on the outdoor patio to enjoy the panoramic view of the ocean. Terra Guesthouse is the ideal place for travelers who wish to see Jagalchi Market. DirectionsUpon arriving at Jagalchi Station (line1), exit the station through exit #10. Take a right turn at your second intersecting street (approximately 30m). If you continue walking straight, you will see a large building (i.e., Jagalchi Market) perpendicular to the street that you are walking on. Enter the building and take the elevator up to the 7th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Terra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing