We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to shop and food paradise restaurants” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwangbokro Culture and Fashion street

Gwangbokro Culture and Fashion street
Ranked #17 of 209 things to do in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good place to shop and food paradise restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at Terra Guesthouse on the 7th floor of Jagalchi Market. The opposite of the main entrance of Jagalchi Market, you can find many adjumma waiting at their restaurant inviting you to dine in. Most of the seafood restaurant, the food are good. Try the eel cooking on the hot plate. Take the non spicy ones. We took three main dishes that costs 30,000 wons per small plate should be enough for 9 person because most restaurants provide a lot of side dishes. You can also dine on the 2nd or 5th floor of Jagalchi Market. The 5th floor provide buffet lunch and dinner. I remember seeing the cost is about 40,000 wons per person. If you like to purchase dried pack seaweed go to the Dried Fish Wholesale Market which is about 5 minutes walk on the right side of Jagalchi Market after the row of restaurants or the 2nd floor of Jagalchi Market besides the seafood restaurant.

Shopping - Start from Gwangbokro shopping street to Gukje Market then to Changseong Food Alley, BIFF Square, Jagalchi Market to Nampo Underground Shopping Street. (Gwangbokro Underground Shopping Complex). The merchandise are not cheap. You can't bargain. Go to the International Wholesale In Gukje Market. Try to walk between the alley behind BIFF Square. Not many people knew that merchandise there are cheaper. I was given this information during my 12 days stayed by a citizen. You can bargain up to 40% if you knew how to communicate in Korean Language. Most of the Busan citizen could not communicate in English well. It would be a great advantage if you study 30% of their language before you arrived in Busan.

Go to Yongdusan Park. It would be a great experience during the night visit. You could see Busan all light ups from the tower. It is on the left side of Gwangbokro Shopping Street. Look out for a signboard and the elevators almost at the end of the street. You need to pay 4,000 wons per person to go up the tower. Bring along design padlocks, write your loved notes and hung it along side of the verandah at the park for memory.

From Gimhae International Airport to Nampodong-gu by taxi would be around 29,000 wons. If you are travelling alone backpacking like us, it would be more advisable to take Light Rail (the purple line) to Sasang which is only 3 stops from airport. Adults fare 1,300 wons, child below 12 years 650 wons and teenagers 13 - 18 years 1,050 wons per person. Transit to the Green Line at Sasang station. Sasang station is near Lotteria. Purple Line to Sasang Station is about 500 meters or about 10 minutes walk. You may purchase your ticket up to Jagalchi Station. Sasang Station is on the GREEEN Line. Please transit from Seomyeon Station to ORANGE Line. Sasang Station to Seomyeon Station are 8 stops. Seomyeon Station to Jagalchi Station are 9 stops using ORANGE Line. Adults fare about 1,700 wons, child 950 wons and teenagers 1,150 wons.

May you have an enjoyable journey using this information given. I just came back from Busan 5 days ago.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
32 Thank Babygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    90
    45
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Always lively there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This place is popular amongst the youngsters and tourists. I visit there several times and noticed there are more happenings during weekends. On Sunday afternoon, can see street vendor demonstrating the making of popcorn the traditional way. People selling handicraft of grasshopper and frogs made from leaves.

This place is like A smaller version of Myeongdong of Seoul. I prefer to shop here then Myeongdong as I find that the sales staff here are less pushy and aggressive.

Gwangbok-ro is also where you can find the escalator to Yongdusan Park where Busan tower is located.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Guesswhat229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not Just A Street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Well, this area is not just a street. It is a street with all sorts of interesting shops. So many cafés and eateries to choose from. Although it is not the longest street there is, I seemed to just keep going back and forth for 3 days. Kept trying out the different cafes and each time I would come to notice things like the different bronze sculptures, the boards containing descriptions of nearby places of interest including the description of the Yongdusan & Busan Tower. You can also find all sorts of boutiques and shoes shops. You can find just about anything I suppose. Not far from the area are the underground shopping malls, the Lotte Shopping Plaza, BIFF Square. I walked and did not even realise the distance. That is how interesting I find this place was. Will be bringing my sister there this weekend ;)

Helpful?
5 Thank gina_a_r_htc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Well connected to different shopping areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

For value for money shopping, this is a place to go. It is within the yongdusan park area. One suggested itin is to start from Gwangbokro shopping street to Gukje market, then to Changseongdang Food Alley, BIFF Square, Jagalchi market and then Nampo underground shopping street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank PamelaCheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
207 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice shopping in Nampo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is where the nice shops in Nampo are. If you don't find what you want for the price you want go to the gokj market next door (to the left)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gwangbokro Culture and Fashion street also viewed

 

Been to Gwangbokro Culture and Fashion street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing