We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Shinsegae Centum City Spaland
Ranked #1 of 84 Spas & Wellness in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Attraction details
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Feels like 5 Star Hotel experience. Lots of small baths, each of a different temperature. In the middle great naturally-fed hot springs , one sodium chloride, second sodium bicarbonate, both have the benefit of reducing the amount of water absorbed by the skin due to higher concentrations of salts in the water. There are also a massaging tub (around 38* with varied positions and a cave), a cool tub (~25*), a cold tub (18*), 2 dry sauna rooms, and an outdoor spa (women's sauna only). Outdoors are two more naturally fed pools. Indoors there is a huge choice of small rooms to relax : Charcoal Room, Yellow Ocher Room, Ice Room, Hammam Room, Bali Room, Pyramid room and many more. Other : Massage & Therapy, nail shop, cafe & beverages, restaurant, DVD, PC, business rooms.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    95
    34
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Time will fly by”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I can spend hours in this place relaxing, traveling between the steam rooms, and dipping in the pools. I just don't understand where the time goes? Go after 9pm to take advantage of the discount as the spa is open until midnight. This is also a Korean experience that is not to be missed if you are traveling to the country. The Shinsegae spa is spectacular

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ReyShaunMadolora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small bathing area, tepid baths”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The bathing areas at SpaLand are surprisingly small and the baths are pretty tepid. Only one or two pools is over 38 C, which was disappointing. The relaxation rooms outside the bathing area are full of couples, and while some (like the hammam room) are interesting, I wasn't thrilled by SpaLand. The hot springs in Japan are far, far better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Asiabytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to South Korea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Because of the review of other visitors from Tripadvisor to South Korea, we've toughen up and forced ourselves to try an authentic Korean Jjimjilbang ("heated bath") experience. We expected to be embarrassed and too shy to move around, but the atmosphere inside Spaland is different. I've read reviews that locals might stare at you, but we've experience differently. They've assisted us and we very considerate. This experience because one of the most memorable parts of our trip to South Korea, now we are looking forward to it next time.

The Run-down:
1. Pay (around 12,000 KRW/pax around 10 USD/pax). Tip: even lower price if you came in before 8AM.
2. Go up the escalator. Go towards shoe locker area. Locate your number and use it to store your shoes. Take the keys and proceed to Step 3.
3. Enter the gender-segregated locker rooms with the key with the same number that you got.
4. Strip to the level of adam and eve (everything!). Go to the public bath, Get a pink body scrubber. Shower and Scrub. Tip: Shampoo and body wash is available.
5. Explore the different hot pools with labels of the type of water that they use and temperature. Explore the cold showers in between hot pools to cool down. Explore bubble pools and jacuzzi. Ladies will have an extra open-air hot pools surrounded by mountain rocks (Men area does not have this.)
6. Quick shower, dry up using the provided extremely small clean smelling towels. Go back to the lockers, get dress using color-segregated baggy clothing.
7. Proceed to the Common Area. There is an area for different foot baths (outdoor), Finnish Sauna, and various themed Sauna (around 13-14 different kinds). Relax in an ergonomic cushions scattered around, watch TV, go up the entertainment rooms upstairs. Phones and few small things that you left in the locker can be brought inside the common area.
8. If hungry, EAT. This is one of the best places where we ate Patbingsu, a popular shaved ice dessert with red beans. The ice that they use simply melts so softly in your tongue. You can also get slow-cooked hard boiled eggs (taste different). Use only your key to register the payment.
9. After a few hours of relaxation, proceed to the lockers and do the final shower. Freshen up. Dry yourself in the open powder room where they have everything you need to face the outside world - gel, blow dryer, cream, ear buds, etc.
10. Explore Add-ons on the 3rd floor - Massage, Light room, executive rooms, beauty centers.
10. Go the counter and pay for any additional balance.

I assure you that this part of your trip would be the most memorable and something that you'd want to do again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Whiteliter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience, but tattooed travellers be adviced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spaland in Busan was my first time at a spa in Korea, though I've been to onsen in Japan before. Because Spaland doesn't seem to have an English website, I had two concerns before visiting. 1) Do they have any English signs? I can't read or speak a word of Korean. 2) Do they allow guests with tattoos? I was with a friend who has one, and I wasn't sure if people with tattoos are prohibited from using spa facilities in Korea, like they often are in Japan.

In good news, Spaland has signs as well as a brochure in English. In bad ones, the first sign we encountered prohibited people with tattoos from entering.

Because entering Spaland with a tattoo goes against their policy, I can't really recommend the place for travellers with tattoos. Since we figured the tattoo in question could be covered up by the clothing provided for use in the co-ed areas, we decided to enter anyway, though obviously I can't recommend that others do the same. But if, for a reason or another, one wants to spend most of the visit in the co-ed areas (the relaxation areas, restaurants, outdoor footbath and most of the saunas) and clothed in the Spaland pajamas (knee length shorts and a t-shirt), I think it's both doable and enjoyable.

Compared to Japanese onsen, I wasn't particularly impressed by the pools in the spa area, and it looked more busy/restless than the saunas. But I think Spaland is worth a visit for the wonderful sauna area alone, since there are so many different saunas to sample.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kasasagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinsegae Centum City Spaland also viewed

Busan, South Korea
 
Busan, South Korea
 

Been to Shinsegae Centum City Spaland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing