We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Business Hotel
Ranked #14 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

From the outside, the hotel didn't inspire confidence that we had made the right decision to stay there, and to confuse us further, the reception was located on the 9th floor, which meant we had to drag all our luggages up there as we happened to be packed full. Then we had to cramp our luggages into the lift again to get to our assigned floor.

However, once we stepped into our room, we were met with a modern layout with a comfortable double bed. It was a tight squeeze even for the two of us, but a bit of imagination in using confined spaces meant we could walk around the room without falling on each other.

For a room this small, we were surprised to see a full bath in the ensuite, as well as a 2nd vanity outside the ensuite just adjacent to the wardrobe. Storage was limited but adequate, and it was clear this room was certainly not designed for long stay guests.

We found the airconditioning inadequate in cooling our room even though it was sub zero Celsius outside. A request the next day to have it checked out resulted in a marginal improvement, and we still needed to have the temperature setting at the lowest possible to feel reasonably comfortable. We're from Australia where it's summer and the temps are in the mid to high thirties, so it's not a question of acclimatisation. We're quite sure something was wrong with the aircon system.

Apart from this, we were happy with the room and facilities. The TV had the most number of channels of any hotel in our 3 week travel staying at 6 hotels. I counted more than 200 channels of viewing, the vast majority in Korean of course.

The location of the hotel was excellent, being just a couple of minutes walk from Haeundae Beach. It's also handy to numerous restaurants, fast food joints, and western chain restaurants that made it more "homely" for us. It was also opposite the Haeundae Market which featured live seafood of every species imaginable.

If you have 2-3 hours to spare, I recommend strolling along the beach to the APEC Nurimaru House on Dongbaekseom Island towards the Gwangan Bridge. It's a very refreshing and scenic route, and there's plenty to see along the way. You must bring your camera with you.

If you want to go outside of Haeundae Beach, the subway and bus services are about half a kilometer away and quite convenient.

This hotel didn't seem to provide any other services except for the standard reception and housekeeping. They did have a restaurant which provided breakfast, but we didn't try it out.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay for us with the convenience of the location being a major plus. If we ever plan to stay there again, we'll have to remember to reduce our personal baggage !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cougar_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    137
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
103
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

1. nice location: near the train station, beach, restaurants, subway sation and so on. . 2. very cheap compare to the facilities: they almost have everything and price is very cheap ( I stayed Ondol room it was tiny size but okay for one perso. maybe small for two. I payed only $56 from Agoda. due to low price room was small and it wasnt ocean view, room was warm and cozy for me!! If u like Ondol room and travel by ur self, it is nice

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeHKIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is a block from Haeundae Beach which is quite convenient. It has quite a few positives about it but the negatives keep it from being a four star. We booked our room for 3 thinking it would have 3 twin beds, but apparently, "Ondol" means the Korean mats and no beds. Fortunately, the front desk was kind enough to give us a room with a double bed where one of us slept on a mat and we could upgrade to a room with 2 twins and a sofa the next day. The rooms are very clean with heated floors and Korean style to take your shoes off once inside. They offer large size shampoo and bath wash to use which is pretty nice. If you want conditioner you're screwed with the crappy quality minis they give. The twin deluxe is pretty roomy and very comfortable. The only thing that bothered me was the stench of the sewage permeating from the drain. It was pretty unavoidable every time I had to use the bathroom. Complimentary breakfast is offered here too which is nice, and I hate to blast it for the friendly, nice service. However, don't expect awesome. Everything is usually cold despite the attempt to keep it warm on a ceramic plate over hot water on a warmer. There isn't much variety either. The milk for the coffee was curdling one morning. It does the job. WiFi is reliable in the lobby, but not so much in the room even with a router tacked to the ceiling in the hallway. They have the A-team on during the day who speaks English and offers excellent service. After hours, you can expect some challenges if you can't speak Korean. They're nice enough. If you're checking out but still want to hang around, they will keep your bags behind the counter which is convenient. Overall, the important thing is a comfortable place to sleep which is of paramount importance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinesegirl2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is in the center of Haeundae Beach. If you turn right when walking out of the hotel entrance, you will be walking directly towards the beach and the aquarium entrance. None of the hotels are really right on the beach. There is a street that runs right in front of the beach and then the hotels run down several intersecting streets. To enter the hotel, go into the elevator and up to the lobbyl. We got a corner room suite and I thought it was very nice. It had wood (or wood looking) floors, nice bedding, and a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub overlooking the beach. There are some buildings in front of this hotel, but they aren't as tall so that you can still see the beach from this suite. The hotel room was clean, quiet, and had some toiletries offered. I thought things for purchase were clearly labeled. There is also a mini-fridge with some things for purchase. We went to one of the stores right across the street or at the corner for water and snacks. It was very convenient. At the base of the building is Burger and Pasta with a variety of food and good drinks. There was also a Dunkin Donuts across the street; great for coffee in the mornings; a traditional market is a few steps away from there walking away from the beach and is worth taking a look.

Room Tip: Try the corner suites for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lini04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double room on a Sunday and Monday evening. Our room itself, on the 13th floor, was nice. Great views and a decently comfy bed. However, the thumping base from whatever restaurant/club from wherever could be heard throughout the night. I read reviews about the noise, but was hoping that being on a higher floor would help. Not so much. It was better on Monday night, but only because the scene was much more subdued.

Strangely, when we came back to our hotel room on Monday from being out all day, cigarette smoke smell came wafting through the bathroom (we were in a non-smoking room.) We had to shut the door and turn on the bathroom fan to prevent the whole room from filling with cigarette smoke smell.

Finally, there was an issue with the free breakfast with room - I booked through asiarooms.com, and that showed that one breakfast per room was included. However, the front desk was hesitant to give us the free meal coupons, as the price we paid didn't include a breakfast according to their matrix ofpratts. I had to show my confirmation email that showed proof of breakfast. (By the way, paying the additional 10,000KRW for another person for breakfast isn't really worth it.)

I'm not sure I'd stay again, but the price was right, and the location was good for a trip in November.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsquiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

When the cab dropped me off in front of the hotel, I got excited because it was in a nice area with such proximity to the beach. However upon entering the building I realized that the hotel was not the entire building but just the upper floors. The first few floors were restaurants, a tanning club, a bar and a Karaoke place.

I arrived a little past 3pm so check in was a breeze and my room was already ready.
Upon arriving in my room I was happy to see that it let a lot of light in, there were huge windows with a view of Haeundae beach which was a pleasure waking up to every morning.

The hotel is situated right beside a KFC, Baskin Robins, several Coffee shops, restaurants and a G25 convenience store, which is like a 7-eleven and a FamilyMart. (now called CVS, not to be confused with the US based Pharmacy)

The room was very spacious for a solo traveler like myself but it could comfortably fit a family of 3. The bathroom was spacious as well, and the room had 2 sinks, one in the main bathroom and another in the Budoir Area.

Everything in the room was great except for the air conditioner which was hard to figure out, there were 2 remote controls (both in Korean) So I gave them a call in the lobby and guess what? They can control the Air conditioner from there so that fixes that problem.

The TV had mostly Korean channels so I just didn’t watch that much of it.
The internet in the room was rather slow and glitchy, My unlimited data roaming on my mobile phone was faster. Although, there are several computers that you can use in the lobby to surf the net and to print boarding passes, tickets or maps.

The Breakfast was pretty basic. They served sausage, eggs, rice, bacon, bread, fruits, cereal, salad and yep you guessed it, Kimchi. Don’t feel bad if you wake up late and missed it.

Checking out was such a breeze just went to the lobby surrendered the key and that was that.

It was such a nice treat staying at this hotel, the area was nice, rooms were clean and big

pictures at www.francosaycon.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francosaycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in standard ondol room for 3 nights. 3-5 minutes away from Haeundae Beach, 5-10 minutes away from subway/bus station, a distance away from the main KTX station though via subway. Room is great, clean, spacious shower, good heating system. My only complaint is the noise during one of the nights, there's music ongoing for almost the entire night disrupting my sleep (not sure where it's coming from, the hotel shares the building with other shops, with its lobby on the 9th floor and rooms from 10th floor onwards). Otherwise, overall it's pretty good.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.3 mi away
Citadines Haeundae Busan
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Ambassador Busan Haeundae
0.1 mi away
Novotel Ambassador Busan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
0.3 mi away
Haeundae Grand Hotel
Haeundae Grand Hotel
#5 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
6.0 mi away
Lotte Hotel Busan
Lotte Hotel Busan
#1 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Business Hotel

Property: Sunset Business Hotel
Address: 46, Gunam-ro, Haeundae-gu, Busan 48094, South Korea
Phone Number:
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Hotels in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Business Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Business Hotel is located on the shoreline of Busan's beautiful Haeundae Beach, which is an international resort with an endless and shining beach. Sunset business Hotel was launched on October 28, 2008. We are very confident that we will provide the best quality service through our own management skills. We continually strive to establish a close relationship with our clients to insure complete customer satisfaction. The Hotel's 85 rooms have been designed with individual concepts, which are luxurious, modern, and classically comfortable to provide customized service. We are proud of the views of Haeundae Beach from the hotel, which the customer can conveniently enjoy while taking are relaxing rest in a whirlpool bath. Escape to Sunset Hotel for elegant rooms, first class service, karaoke entertainment, relaxing Thai massage, and a quality restaurant. Let us take care of you for an up grading life experience at a most reasonable cost. Our promise is to provide the best service and to make the Sunset Business Hotel the best facility for the customer. Restaurant : 3rd Floor (Coffee Mandalay), The Sunset Business Hotel will provide the best quality service to you, so you can enjoy your stay in our hotel. We are looking to forward meeting and serving you in the near future. The 8th-15th floors are the accommodations of the Sunset Business Hotel, which is our newly designed hotel built in 2008. We offer different styles of rooms to meet the requirements for our customers, from lodgings to business meeting rooms. We cordially invite you to come and enjoy your time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing