We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gwangjang Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$67
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$187
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostel the new day(Busan)(Great Value!)
$76
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Hyatt Busan(Busan)
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$40
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$139
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
0
10
8
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
10
8
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 22 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is few steps away from Busan train station. From the exit of the station, you can already see to your right a building with big letters of Hotel Gwang Jang.
Good points:
- There is a restaurant/cafe on the hotel lobby
- Restaurants and convenience store just nearby the hotel. some few steps away.
- Center of the city
- Near the Busan train station and Busan subway station (which you need to ride going to the different parts of Busan)
- Value is very good especially to budget travelers
- Didn't have any complaints to the hotel except for just an old interior. The rest is okay even the bed and blanket :)
- There's unlimited taxi outside the hotel.
Tips:
- To go to the city subway station: across the Busan train station is a big plaza with water fountain show, find the underground entrance to the subway.
- There are some small international restos across the main street. If I'm not mistaken, it's called "market for foreigners", but not much people going there.
- Go to IBK (International bank of korea) to exchange foreign currency. It is also across the main street. Just ahead of Paris Baguette bakery and Lotteria (local fastfood chain).
- Try the Korean restos in the Busan Train Station. Especially the one located near on of the exits, it is in front of Story way convenience store, "the bigger one" because there are two convenience stores there.

Room Tip: Book from Agoda.com.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank si_kat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Gwangjang was a great place to stay, we were there for 6 nights. The hotel is maybe a little dated but that gave it a sort of charm. The location by Busan station is similarly quirky. Not as seedy a station area as I worried, except if you head a couple of streets over the road. The room was a decent size, bright and cheery. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the port and had a western style room. The room had a fridge refilled with free bottled water but also had a water cooler in the hall to use. Bathroom was basic but fine with a shower, bath and sink. Also a TV, vanity desk with mirror, table and chairs. No air-con but a fan and windows that opened. No breakfast included but loads of nice bakeries across the road. There is a cafe/restaurant in the lobby but looked a bit expensive as with all hotels.
The staff were friendly and polite. The room had no iron but they found one for us when we asked. Some friends also stayed but booked an ondol room, I don't think they liked it much so we'd recommend asking for a room overlooking the port rather than the station and maybe the western rooms were nicer.
Overall its a good hotel and excellent value for money at not much more than a hostel. Its a great place to stay if you want to explore Busan as its not far on the subway to all areas

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cloudnine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

I was passing by Busan and needed a place to stayed for the night before continuing our journey. This place is right outside the Busan Train Station. You'll see it on your right, after you exit the station (if you read Korean). The hotel name is written really big in Korean on the building, but the English name is only written on the glass door. Anyway it's not hard to find.

We paid US43.00 for an ondol room. It's a really neat experience sleeping on the floor. It's actually quite nice especially during the winter time.

The place is a quite dated and can definitely use a renovation but it is still pretty clean. There's a water dispenser in the hallway so you can fill up your water bottles. Maps are available in the reception. Plus there's free sauna, but it is only for men.....hmmm.

My overall experience is pretty good. If I need to stay near the train station, I'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank vtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews