We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Less Than $40 USD/Night”
Review of Elysee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysee Motel
Ranked #2 of 544 Busan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Less Than $40 USD/Night”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Elysee Motel was the perfect stay in Busan and is a short five-ten minute walk from the Nampo Metro Station. Mr. Sun was always responsive to my emails and a credit card was not required to book a room (a ten percent premium is charged if you use a credit card to pay for the room though). Mr. Sun let me check-in until I got some currency exchanged with one of the many money changers located near the motel. A map of the area/sights was provided and explained upon check-in and a map with directions to a laundrymat was provided upon request.

I stayed in a very large room with a large big screen TV with several English-speaking channels (around 100 channels total), a DVD player is in the room, and complimentary movies can be ordered by contacting the front desk. A large private bathroom and sauna with more than adequate hot water and an excellent air conditioner was always available. No breakfast is provided. I was impressed that an emergency fire escape ladder was in the room. When you enter the elevator a voice greets you in Korean.

The ceiling above the bed was interesting and different, a table with two chairs and two nightstands were in the room, a mini-fridge for storing water/soda/etc, a fan, coffee and tea and a hot/cold water dispenser was in the room. Free and fast wi-fi, bathrobes, hair dryer, toiletries and soft/hard pillows were available for use as well. They provide sheer and full drapes and screened and non-screened windows. Mr. Sun also helped me reserve a seat on the Busan City Bus Night Tour after I gave him 10,000 Won (both the day and night tours are 10,000 won each) and he used his credit card and provided a receipt. If you want to take the night tour, I encourage you book early as I couldn't get a seat reserved for several days.

I would strongly recommend this motel to any traveler desiring very reasonably priced lodging and an excellent room right smack dab in the middle of the Nampo area. Elysee Motel was selected as a Tripadvisor's Travellers' Choice 2013 Winner - I selected this motel based on this recognition and can vouch they are clearly deserving of this rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    114
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
95
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first time in Busan.
Son Songha, the owner was most helpful.
His recommendations for restaurants were excellent.
His directions are printed with pictures of landmarks which make finding the restaurants easy.
He speaks English well.
The location just below Busan Tower is central. The hill is a good work out! Nampo Subway station, Lotte Department Store, and the street food vendors around Busan International Film Festival are easily walkable.
The rooms are clean. The remote control is used to manage all room amenities. The beds are Korean style - firm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Only a short walk from Nampo-dong metro station, Jagalchi fish market, Yongdusan park and shopping areas. Owner speaks good English and is very helpful. I booked the wrong date & he still checked me in (just had to wait till 6pm for an available room), was able to leave bags there while I checked out the city for a couple of hours. He also gave me some local information, maps etc and booked a taxi for my early morning trip back to airport. He told me what it would cost (about 15000 KW) and the taxi was waiting for me when I came down to check out.
Room was big, large tv, shower, bath, fridge, hot/cold water for drinking, air con etc......sure room was dated and a bit tatty, though for the price it is a bargin.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danchichris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I paid USD 100 for two nights. Taking account the excellent location of this motel, it was a deal. Moreover, the owner was very helpful. He sent by email me the different ways to get to his motel from the train station.

My room was comfortable although a little dark. Otherwise, it was very well equipped especially the remote control that could control also light and air conditioning. The only thing that bothered me a little bit was the bed and pillow: pretty hard for my taste.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patcParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The PLUSES:
The Elysee Motel is located on the hill just below Yongdusan Park so it didn't have any major traffic to deal with. It was quiet at night even with the windows open (Requested a room on the top floor). Mr. Son, the owner showed us how to use the backstreet to get to the stairway leading down to the major shopping area and the escalators which take you back up the hill on return. Mr. Son sent a booking confirmation email with 5 attached files: a detailed map showing the location of Elysee Motel, a Busan tourist map, a Busan subway map, and 2 files with colored photos showing buildings and streets with detailed directions for walking to the motel from either the Nampo or the Busan subway stations which you could printout. When I told him we would be arriving at the KTX Busan station, he provided detailed step-by-step directions for 3 ways to get to the motel from there as well as the cost for each mode of transportation. We opted to use the taxi which cost just KRW 3,000/USD $2.65 to deliver us right up to the motel. Mr. Son provided an attached file with directions in Hangul and a map for the driver which we printed before leaving for our trip. We asked Mr. Son to recommend a traditional Korean food restaurant for dinner, and he gave us a colored printout with a map, photos, and directions to Sutgarak Jeotgarkak (also printed in Hangul) along with the restaurant's card so we could easily identify the signage. The food was delicious and so reasonably priced. The deluxe double room was spacious with a large queen-size bed and the bathroom had a large jacuzzi tub (we did not use) and a full shower with good hot water flow. No bottled water provided but a water dispenser was available in the room.
The MINUSES/COULD BE IMPROVED:
Elysee is a former 'love motel' which has not been fully renovated...yet. It could really use some major clean up and updated decor, especially the furnishings and lighting. Mr. Son told us he does everything himself to keep the room prices low. We understand that point, but we think he could start small...maybe start work on one or two rooms at a time. We would be willing to pay $10-$15 more per day for a slightly nicer room. The ceiling over our bed was just like the photo on the Booking.com website with planets, but the rest of the room did not look like the bright and clean room in the photo. We had a small red plastic table with 2 matching saucer chairs--looks like maybe 1960's? The wood counter/desk shown at an angle in the photo was actually a little cluttered with things on it...such as a small tiered glass cabinet with drinking glasses and cups that we didn't use because they looked a little 'cloudy'(not clean or old?) Under the counter was storage full of equipment--dvd player, computer, small refrigerator, cabinet with tray, etc. There wasn't any closet--just some double hooks and 2 plastic hangers on a wall to hang clothes. The bathroom was very large but we think the shower stall was installed where the toilet once was because the toilet 'shifted' when you sat on it. And the water from the shower runs out to the floor...the drain is not in the shower stall but outside of it near the wash basin. That's a little dangerous because you could slip on the wet floor. New brighter lighting fixtures could be used especially in the bathroom. We hope Mr. Son will invest more time and effort to improve his motel's facilities because Elysee Motel is in a great location and we want him to be successful. He is such a helpful and nice person.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent location, 2 minutes to walk to Busan Tower. Walking distance to all the attractions in town. Motel owner speaks good English, very knowledgeable, helpful and provide very useful information. Highly recommend this motel.

a family from Hong Kong including an 80-year-old lady

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love this hotel. Good location & Nice owner. The owner sent us the directions how to get the hotel. When we arrived the owner gave us an direction to shopping center, food and sightseeing locations around the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtieHandayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
0.3 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#6 of 136 in Busan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.5 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
0.0 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#21 of 136 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crown Harbor Hotel Busan
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noah
Hotel Noah
#20 of 136 in Busan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Motel

Property: Elysee Motel
Address: 22, Daecheong-ro 126beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 544 B&Bs / Inns in Busan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel Busan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing