We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Comfortable Accommodation at a Great Location”
Review of Elysee Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysee Motel
Ranked #3 of 561 Busan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My family of 3 stayed on two separate nights in Sep 2011. Was mainly looking for accommodation close to the international ferry terminal. Motel is 15 minutes walk to internatinoal ferry terminal, and less than 5 minutes walk to Nampo MRT station. Nampo is two MRT stops away from Busan train station. The last short street (about 50 yards) leading to the motel is uphill (about 15 to 20 degrees). All the major tourist areas in downtown Busan is within 10 to 15 minutes walk.

Motel also serves as a love motel but is not seedy and surrounding area is very safe. Noticed several other families stayed there on both nights. Mr. Son provided excellent directions on how to get to the motel, and assisted with main tourist areas to visit and dining options. On the last day, he also offered to take us to the Busan station for the same fare as a taxi (W3,000, or US $3) which we much appreciated.

Rate on booking.com is based on cash payment. Credit card payment is accepted at 10% premium.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

My husband and I went to busan for a few days on our summer vacation. Realizing that we were going during the Sea festival we were a little bit worried about just showing up and trying to find a place once we arrived. I found Elysee hotel on asia rooms and we booked.

It's got a location you really cant beat. You are only a few minutes walk away from all that the downtown area has to offer. Overall it's your typical love motel. Dont expect super fancy themed rooms, it's a bit outdated and it mostly looks like an average motel. It was definately one of the cheapest options while booking online, but I have a feeling we could have done better had we looked around and priced other places out. However, sometimes its just worth it to be able to have a place to go to, rather than having to go around bargaining for a better deal.

The building and the rooms are clean, and I saw some families here as well. It's not seedy at all. They have an awesome steam shower in the rooms, and I believe you can get a jacuzzi with the deluxe room. The beds were unbelievably comfortable, and the soundproofed rooms (haha) made for an excellent sleep at night. I think what makes the place especially great is the English speaking manager. He was happy to give us all sorts of helpful information and tips about the area. This can often be a struggle in other places where the management doesnt speak any english and you run into a problem.

Note, they will add a 10% charge to your bill if you want to pay by visa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The rooms are large and we had a pleasant rest. We received many instructions to find the place, including one that we could show the taxi driver (2600 won). It is very close to the shopping area, Lotte Department store and Busan Tower with park. Despite heavy thunderstorms we had therefore a nice time. Only thing that did not work was the Jacuzzi, but that did make very little difference, the big bathtub was a pleasure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our stay at the Elysee Motel was very enjoyable for the following: Great location - Next to Subway Metro Nampong - dong, Bukje Street Market, PIFF Square, Jagalchi Seafood Center. Busan has so many festivals, night life, and shopping areas as well as great sights. Modest cost for a spacious room, albeit a "Love Motel" but on par with services, amenities, and security of a regular hotel. Rooms are pretty soundproof. Our double deluxe room came with a clean, large firm and comfortable King bed, cold refrigerator, good A/C, Fan, and bottled water and juices. Large flat screen TV w/ numerous channels including CNN and movie channels, Free internet computer. Our bathroom included a jacuzzi and a steam sauna inside of the shower stall, perfect for unwinding after a day of sight seeing. The manager speaks good english and sent very helpfull detailed travel information for directions to the motel, which is tucked away on a side street up a hill . For our first trip to Busan, we had a great time, plus a relaxing time in our room.

Room Tip: If you don't need a DVD player Or Jacuzzi, you might only need the standard double room, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MowMowHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The room has a controller that controls everything, from lightings to air-con, TV, etc. First time I saw a rooms that comes with cold & hot water dispenser. A huge toilet that has a jacuzzi for up to 3 pax and a sauna booth. This allows the occupants to relax in real comfort and privacy. The service is also great as the boss of the company even recommends food at places only the locals go to. He even accompanies us to the restaurant to help us pick the food of choice in view of the language problem with locals who do not speak English. At 55,000 won per night stay, it is great value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkuankua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

When I booked and communicated with the hotel, the response was fast and great. However, when I was at the hotel, there wasn't any kind of communication.

Pro
1. Location was good
2. Instructions from the motel was clear
3. Horribly cheap for a huge room
4. Rooms has a huge CRT TV, video recorder (mine didn't work), water is plentiful (drinkable), toiletries comes on those Big bottles (not to be taken away), etc

Con
1. Poorly dimmed lights
2. Better to bath in the bath tub rather than shower to avoid making the bathroom wet
3. The room was dusty. The floors weren't cleaned very well
4. The room was "unclean". Whatever it was, didn't disturb us and was not harmful but both husband and I had some small experiences to let us know it was there. We didn't sleep well nevertheless.

Would recommend only if you aren't afraid of dimly lighted places and the thing.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank icebaby0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Conveniently located within close walking distance to great shopping, restaurants, subway, and area (Yongdusan-Jagalchi) sites. The rooms were large, clean and affordable.

We (3) were happy we chose to stay at the Elysee Motel because of the convenient location and price. The rooms are large, clean and provide free internet (PC provided). The beds were regular king size and the air conditioning blew cold. The bathrooms are large with a whirlpool tub, separate shower and best of all have a steam room setting. This was very helpful in getting out those wrinkles in our clothes that were packed away in the suit case - in addition to enjoying the steam amenity itself!

The Elysee is centrally located in the Yongdusan-Jagalchi area. All within close walking distance is great shopping at many different locations and types of stores. from the large Gukje Street Market to the Nampo Underground Shopping Center in the subway, to the PIFF Square shopping area to the Lotte Department Store.

We were within close walking distance to all kinds of restaurants from traditional Korean foods to western foods to the Jagalchi fish Market. Yongdusna Park is "up the stairs" right next to the Elysee Motel. Close by is Busan Meteorological Observatory, Busan Sports Park, Democracy Park, Jungang Park and Sumireu Park. Again, all within close walking distance from the Elysee Motel.

The subway system is within close walking distance, it's easy and convenient to use, it's inexpensive and clean. The subway allowed us to plan day trips to other areas of Busan. Taxi cabs are plentiful and cheap for the Yongdusan-Jagalchi area. Although we did get one taxi driver who thought he was a professional race car driver.

We stayed at the Elysee, took the subway to the Busan Central Station and boarded the KTX Train (bullet) to the Seoul Central Station and arrived in 2 hours and 36 minutes. We came back to Busan on the KTX and stayed at the Elysee in simular rooms. We each slept comfortably and had a good night's sleep. The Elysee is a motel or what is commonly referred to in Korea as a "love motel." The Elysee owner was friendly and helpful.

Shopping at the Gukje Street Market is better and cheaper than any street market you will find in Seoul. The market is located on the opposite side of Yongdusan Park and the opposite side from the Elysee Motel - above PIFF Square. All conveniently located with in close walking distance from the Elysee.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timg003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Busan hotels
4.5 mi away
ibis Ambassador Busan City Centre
0.3 mi away
Aventree Hotel Busan
Aventree Hotel Busan
#7 of 156 in Busan
339 reviews
0 mi away
Tower Hill Hotel
Tower Hill Hotel
#25 of 156 in Busan
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sunset Business Hotel
Sunset Business Hotel
#35 of 156 in Busan
341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Solaria Nishitetsu Hotel Busan
0.6 mi away
Toyoko Inn Busan Station 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Motel

Address: 22, Daecheong-ro 126beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Busan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in Busan
Price Range: $44 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysee Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elysee Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel Busan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing