We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“ORIORDANT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albany Inn
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ORIORDANT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in room 243 in this motel for one night, would not stay here again. We were allocated a room near reception on 2nd floor. We experienced a very uncomfortable night with several unruly folk in rooms nearby. In fact it was after 3am before we were allowed to sleep. This area was near reception, yet staff allowed this behaviour to continue.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORIORDANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Albany Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
we would like to apologize to you for issues you experienced during stay. we are sorry so of our guests made noise. i want to assure you we address all noise complaints with guests. again i would like to apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    18
    39
    83
See reviews for
44
27
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Region of Waterloo, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We booked this hotel simply because of the price - I was with a budget conscious group and we get less than what we had paid for! We got there late in the afternoon and first thing we see is some junky hooker trolling the parking lot. We simply ignored her and minded our own business and made our way to our room. As soon as we walked in, the smell of smoke smacked us in the face. As I walked into the room i noticed that the floors were uneven and even felt a small hole in the subfloor. We figured it was just a place to rest our heads so we went ahead with our plans for the night. The next morning, I went to shower - there was pressure for the cold water however there was next to no pressure for the hot water. I literally had to cup water into my hands and poor it over me to get any soap off. Aside from that, the paint was peeling in several spots and areas could have used some caulking. I've stayed in many hotels at many price points and for the price we paid I still would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Pay a few extra bucks and get something better!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomfeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Albany Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We would like to apologize to you for all issues you experienced during your stay. we addressed all issues with staff members. i assure you we want all of our guests to have a pleasant and comfortable stay. again we would like to apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are budget travellers and Super 8 comes into our price range.Lovely big room queen size bed, fridge and Micro. All this for under$50 a night.The sink didn't drain when we arrived and our query was dealt with in 5 mimnutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Albany Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We would like to thank you for staying with our property. we are glad our prices fit your needs. we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for staying with us. hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The service was fine for me. However, there could have been little things to make stay better. There were few minor maintenance issues in the room. And, the breakfast was not the best (there was choice of honey bun or 2 different types of cereal)-not much of complimentary breakfast, but will work if that is all you want. Thankfully, the TV was new and enjoyed watching it. Most important to me is the fact that I didn't notice any bed bugs. Average room for average price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlideEmHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Albany Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
we would like to thank you for staying with our property. i am sorry to hear you had a few issues with the room i want to assure you any issue that come up are addressed right away. we are glad to hear our rates fit your needs. again we would like to thank you for staying at our property. we hope you come back and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We reserved and paid in advance, so could not just leave. My wife took one look at the first room they gave us and said she would sleep in the car. Went to the office and asked for something better. He said the room next door should be better. It smelled bad. There was a lot of black residue or mold around the tub and a hole in the back of the bathroom door and a lots of small black bugs crawling and flying in the bathroom. There were globs of something on the (old fashioned) TV screen and on the wall near the head board. The refrigerator didn't work and the only ice machine in the motel wasn't working. My wife refused to get undressed in this environment and only slept a little (on top of the bedspread.) No comment on the breakfast, as we got out of there as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Albany Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
we would like to apologize to for all issues you experienced during your stay. we are sorry you had an unpleasant stay. we are looking into all issues you explained in your review we will address all issues. again we would like to apologize to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
0.7 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Inn

Property: Albany Inn
Address: 1579 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2405 (Formerly Super 8 Albany)
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albany Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Albany Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing