We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? This is good service?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn & Suites
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Dwight V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

I pre-booked a 2-night reservation through Hotels.com, arrived and checked at 4:30 pm after a long business day expecting an economical room in an average location as per motel's web site description. The first room offered was located behind a stairway to second level. Very dark entrance area, sketch location, sketch people hanging out, dirty and poorly maintained exterior, ... it felt very unsafe. I opened the door the mattress was sagging with the foot of the bed significantly higher in elevation than the pillows! The furniture was broken, BAD smells, unclean everything, plastic protective mattress bag was ripped, bedding was stained, worth restating VERY DIRTY. I went back to lobby, explained my concerns, (clerk was polite and understanding). I was switched to a room closer to the lobby in which I discovered the same unsanitary conditions. I requested a refund, in which I was told since I booked through Hotels.com and it was 4:30 pm, I would need to contact the manager tomorrow from 8am-3pm for a resolve. I left and went down a few hundred feet to 1600 Central Ave - Motel 6... in which I found the clean economical room in an average safe location I was expecting within the same price range. Shame on Super 8 and Wyndhams for allowing a motel of this despicable caliber to be associated with their group of hotels.

Room Tip: Sort and read the Poor ratings first on the travel booking sites. Chances are if 30% or more more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank Kuo K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Needed a hotel in a pinch. I have never been this desperate. Hotel is very seedy, room smelled very bad. It looked as if derelicts or homeless were wandering the parking lot. Witnessed a "domestic disturbance" in the parking lot. Checked out immediately. Very bad hotel -- I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

we are sorry to hear you had issues with your stay. in regards to the smell of the room we spoke to housekeeping staff and correct that issues. we are apologize if some of our other guest caused a disturbance. we do not tolerate noise disturbance from our other guests we asked those guests to leave. Again we would like to apologize to you for all issues you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The kind of hotel you stay at when your biggest concern is getting a cheap and functional hotel room. Stayed for just one night. In a pinch will stay there again but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Wazobia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex1579, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

we would like thank you for staying with us. we hope you enjoyed your stay. we are glad to hear you would stay with us again in the future. Again we would like to thank you for choosing super 8.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Anne E R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in Albany NY to deliver a transit bus, which is what I do for a living. I had made the reservation earlier in the day and was told the cancellation time was 4p.m., which is not the normal time. I stay in hotels almost every night, I'm not that difficult to please, but this was the worse hotel I have ever stayed at!

Upon arrival, I noticed there were several people gathered around their room doors, "hanging out" and the property looked poorly maintained.

Upon getting my room key, which had to be redone four times because it wouldn't work, I checked out my room. The chairs were stained, the desk had gross looking stuff on it, there were gnats coming out of the sink, the tub was filthy, the sliding window in the bathroom had no lock so for security reasons I put a coat hanger to block it from sliding. The TV had "no signal", I decided to go online and read reviews. I saw one lady had posted about bed bugs, so I decided to look...no bugs, but I did find crumbs and hair in the bed. I went and asked for clean sheets and towels...and changed the linens myself.(I wasn't sure that the towels in the room were clean after finding the sheets had not been changed) I slept little, and got up two hours early just to get out of the room. I took a shower with a towel in the tub so I wouldn't have to put my feet on the nasty tub bottom.

I couldn't find an outlet to charge my phone.....the mattress was old and disgusting, So many things were bad that I can't even remember them all. If I had been in a car instead of a bus I would have left!!!! In FACT, If I had not had a flight today, I would have been better off sleeping on the bus.

Super 8 should be ashamed for having there name on this hotel. I will be calling Wyndhams today!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#28 of 50 in Albany
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
3.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#36 of 50 in Albany
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites

Address: 1579 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2405 (Formerly Albany Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $53 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your tastefully decorated room will feature an ultra-comfortable bed, a flat screen TV that offers cable with HBO, a microwave, a mini-refrigerator, and high-speed internet connection at no extra charge. Choose one of our 59 luxury rooms that include hot tub suites for an extra touch of comfort. You're invited to start each day with a complimentary continental breakfast and take advantage of free wi-fi to check in with home or work. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day for your convenience and there are laundry facilities on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing