We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent serivce, clean rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent serivce, clean rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms were very clean, and the bed linens were very fresh as well. I was very comfortable staying here and slept very well.

There are not tons of stains on the carpet like you might see elsewhere. The bathrooms are very clean. TV is flat screen, and there is a wireless hookup with a desk in the room.

Full-size closet with ironing board, small mini fridge. I had a King Size Bed with a sofa sleeper.

The front desk and managers were extremely nice. Probably one of best customer experiences I've had at a hotel where they make you feel like you should stay one more night.

There is a computer access area and a boarding pass printing station. Workout room and pool as well.

Small restaurant on sight - do not believe the breakfast is free.

Directly across the street from The University of Albany. Dunkin Donuts and Sunoco within the same parking area of the hotel.

Overall - I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I have had great experiences with Marriott's, and the Courtyard Thruway Marriott was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlannaB490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    17
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
39
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've stayed at this Marriott twice. It's new-looking, very modern and sleek without being cold or unfriendly. Staff are as pleasant and helpful as Marriott staff always are. A big reason for us to choose Marriott is the quality of the bed and the bedding - it almost guarantees a good night's sleep. For some unfathomable reason, the beds at this hotel are a little higher than usual - I'm 5'5" with long legs, and I could barely get up there. The other issue was the whirlpool - and I book hotels because they have one. The pool area opens early and closes late, which I appreciate. But on Friday I had extra time before going out to dinner, so decided to soak and relax for a few minutes. The key word turned out to be "soak", because the jets in the little tiny jacuzzi (maximum occupancy 3) are so strong, they sprayed and threw water everywhere. I was not quite shoulder-deep, but within a minute, my hair was soaked, and I'd had water thrown into my eyes and my ears! (So much for being ready to go out.) The floor all around the tub was also wet, which could be dangerous.
The next morning we went out for breakfast, as the "Bistro" has a limited menu and serves only Starbuck's coffee. There are a couple of Marriotts very near by, and another under construction. Next time I'll check them out, as the location is ideal for reaching our favorite restaurants, and for getting on the road quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VTOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was plenty of food options close by. Hotel was clean and quiet in spite of location near freeway. This location easy to access from major roads. Renovated interior was nice and food available on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

More expensive than regular marriott across the street and breakfast was much better at regular marriott. I was disappointed by the breakfast at courtyard. It is not buffett and took way too long for the food to come out. If deciding between the 2 i recommend regular marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakabaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here en route to Crane Music Camp for my daughter. Recently renovated hotel was great--close to highway, clean, nicely appointed and well situated for a quick return to travel the next morning. Staff were really pleasant and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Great stop along the way!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysidedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you're in Albany in business or to visit the university this is a fine place to stay. It is close to major highways and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. The fitness club is small but ample. The pool is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckNY352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family in the area. The location adjacent to SUNY Albany is great, with easy access to I-90. And the room was excellent! We have stayed in several Albany hotels previously, and the Courtyard Thruway is by far the best. At check-in, we were told that the room had been recently renovated and it showed. The room was bright, sparkling clean, and very, very quiet (even though the room looked out onto a major road - Washington Avenue!). The bed was very comfortable - had a good night's rest -- and the bathroom was spotless. The lobby is well appointed and the bistro was good for breakfast, although it is a bit expensive. All the staff (front desk, bistro) were excellent and welcoming. Overall - a great stay. We would stay here again when visiting Albany.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor which was nice because there was only one room adjacent. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Albany Thruway

Property: Courtyard Albany Thruway
Address: 1455 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Marriott
Albany Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing