We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has the good points of a Marriott, but a few minor issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has the good points of a Marriott, but a few minor issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've stayed at this Marriott twice. It's new-looking, very modern and sleek without being cold or unfriendly. Staff are as pleasant and helpful as Marriott staff always are. A big reason for us to choose Marriott is the quality of the bed and the bedding - it almost guarantees a good night's sleep. For some unfathomable reason, the beds at this hotel are a little higher than usual - I'm 5'5" with long legs, and I could barely get up there. The other issue was the whirlpool - and I book hotels because they have one. The pool area opens early and closes late, which I appreciate. But on Friday I had extra time before going out to dinner, so decided to soak and relax for a few minutes. The key word turned out to be "soak", because the jets in the little tiny jacuzzi (maximum occupancy 3) are so strong, they sprayed and threw water everywhere. I was not quite shoulder-deep, but within a minute, my hair was soaked, and I'd had water thrown into my eyes and my ears! (So much for being ready to go out.) The floor all around the tub was also wet, which could be dangerous.
The next morning we went out for breakfast, as the "Bistro" has a limited menu and serves only Starbuck's coffee. There are a couple of Marriotts very near by, and another under construction. Next time I'll check them out, as the location is ideal for reaching our favorite restaurants, and for getting on the road quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VTOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There was plenty of food options close by. Hotel was clean and quiet in spite of location near freeway. This location easy to access from major roads. Renovated interior was nice and food available on site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

More expensive than regular marriott across the street and breakfast was much better at regular marriott. I was disappointed by the breakfast at courtyard. It is not buffett and took way too long for the food to come out. If deciding between the 2 i recommend regular marriott.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakabaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here en route to Crane Music Camp for my daughter. Recently renovated hotel was great--close to highway, clean, nicely appointed and well situated for a quick return to travel the next morning. Staff were really pleasant and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Great stop along the way!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baysidedmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you're in Albany in business or to visit the university this is a fine place to stay. It is close to major highways and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and clean. The fitness club is small but ample. The pool is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckNY352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family in the area. The location adjacent to SUNY Albany is great, with easy access to I-90. And the room was excellent! We have stayed in several Albany hotels previously, and the Courtyard Thruway is by far the best. At check-in, we were told that the room had been recently renovated and it showed. The room was bright, sparkling clean, and very, very quiet (even though the room looked out onto a major road - Washington Avenue!). The bed was very comfortable - had a good night's rest -- and the bathroom was spotless. The lobby is well appointed and the bistro was good for breakfast, although it is a bit expensive. All the staff (front desk, bistro) were excellent and welcoming. Overall - a great stay. We would stay here again when visiting Albany.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor which was nice because there was only one room adjacent. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I were in upstate New York for a week-long vacation and stayed here. The staff was terrific in meeting any request we had during a really unpleasant heat wave. The location was convenient, adjacent to the interstate. We found several good eateries in the neighborhood, and many of the venues we wanted to visit were conveniently close. The room was clean and comfortable, even if the bathroom was a little cozy. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Albany Washington Avenue
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Marriott
Albany Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing