We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly, nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
411 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“clean, friendly, nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Check in at hotel was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and decently sized. The bathrooms were a bit small. The pool arean was nice although the pool was quite small. It wasn't a problem for us but we imagine it would be crowded with more than four or five people. The hotel is just off I -90 and across from the university. A mall is closeby with several eateries.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Bus_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed for one night on my way to Vermont skiing from NJ. It is conveniently located by the highway, and I can hear the Thruway traffic. I like the lobby, and will stay again next time. To mitigate the noise, ask for a room not facing the Thruway (a room with an odd room number will do it) and turn off the noise AC in the room before you go to bed. The elevator (there is only one) is a little slow.

Room Tip: an odd room number, which will face opposite Thruway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In general we've been very pleased with Marriott hotels, but this recently renovated Courtyard, while very convenient to the Thruway and SUNY Albany, had a host of quirks that disappointed us. 1) the bathrooms are uncomfortably small and fixtures still quite cheap (ie, plastic molded shower/tub combos) ; 2) the HVAC was noisy and had to be turned off for a quiet night's sleep; 3) wireless internet service was spotty/broken 4) the "Bistro" seemed overpriced and the hotel no longer offers basic amenities like free coffee/tea to its guests. We got the sense that this brand is trying to remake itself as a sort of thruway "W" hotel, but it doesn't work. There are some good features: a nice, newly renovated, small pool, jacuzzi, and gym, and comfortable beds; good desks with plenty of workspace. But we will seek out other alternatives in Albany for our stays in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Directly opposite the University of Albany and with close access to the freeways to downtown or elsewhere (such as the airport).
This courtyard not only has the new design reception and common area but must have been recently done as it is all very clean and new. This also seemed to be the case for the rest of the hotel and rooms as well, not just the lobby. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is a gem. It's small, which is great, and is clean, nicely designed, and filled with amenities I was not expecting. The king bed rooms are quite large and tastefully designed, with thoughtful extras like a mini-fridge, couch, work desk, and massaging shower. There is a microwave oven in the 24-hour market, and the fitness room had Culligan filtered water. The lobby is nice, with lots of seating and extras, like computers, printers, and cozy booths (also food, which I did not sample). The staff was fantastic - every person I interacted with (at least 4 folks) was unfailingly competent, polite, and helpful. The hotel itself is flanked by a Sunoco with mini-mart and a Dunkin' Donuts, and it is directly across from a SUNY-Albany main entrance (with the thruway on one side). I stayed at the end of a hall, room on the Washington Ave side, and it was quiet and relaxing. This is perhaps the only hotel in recent memory that has blackout drapes that actually work.

Room Tip: End of a hall, non-thruway side, is quiet and convenient to the (locked) door to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayMickeyMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at this hotel, not my first at a Courtyard. I am very impressed with the features that have been assembled for this version of a Marriott: the bedding, the Bistro, the Mini-market, the staff, the room. Courtyard has been designed to be easy, clean and comfortable, and it does it all very well. This is the second Marriott (the other was a Fairfield) we have stayed in over the past few weeks. The staff are all more than gracious and welcoming.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Baysidetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July while taking my son to hockey camp. Hotel has been updated and the rooms were nicely appointed. Very friendly staff. Convenient location to both the interstate and the airport. There are many choices for dining close by as well as a shopping mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
2.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Albany Washington Avenue
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Marriott
Albany Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing