We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and predictable basic place for a reasonable fee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great and predictable basic place for a reasonable fee”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The entire hotel was revamped last December, and now everything is brand-new and clean -- and very colorful (orange, lime green, etc) and hip! For a chain hotel in the middle of nowhere, it's wonderful. Across from SUNY Albany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    83
    19
    0
    2
See reviews for
60
41
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skaneateles, NY
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel between Boston and Syracuse and we are glad we chose the Courtyard. Check-in was extremely friendly. The lobby is modern and attractive. The rooms were quite a surprise. Very spacious, very chic, and beautifully furnished. Spotlessly clean and very quiet. Mattress and bedding were outstanding. Great night's sleep overall. I would highly recommend this for SUNY at Albany parents as it is directly across the street from campus. Was not thrilled about the bistro breakfast selections at Courtyard (not free) so we found an excellent diner nearby (Peaches Cafe in the Stuyvesant Plaza).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skantravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed there this past weekend for a trip to Saratoga Racetrack and booked what we thought was a good deal. the hotel is very nice, recently renovated and room was very comfortable. However we booked the "stay for breakfast rate". I had called the hotel directley and asked about the rate and was advised that breakfast was in their new Bistro restaurant, which turned out was just a small portioned of area of the lobby with a very limited menu. You have to stand on line at the counter to order(like fast food). With the abundance of restaurants within a short drive I would bypass this rate and eat elsewhere. All the employees from Kyle at the desk, to the lone waitresses working in the Bistro were extremely pleasent and helpful. I would stay here agin but without the meal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Spent a night on the road to get ahead of Hurricane Irene and due to previous reviews selected this Courtyard. As others have already articulated, recent renovations really give you a warm feeling upon entering and the rooms are brand new.

What I appreciated was the customer service, front desk person could not have been nicer and gave me the local directions to the best dinner options. Would stay here again next time through Albany.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobfinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The renovations are nearly done. The pool is open again and the lobby is brand new. This is a hotel I use often but have not been in quite as frequently during the past few months so it was like a new hotel when I walked in!

I really like the new patio they added. Now you can sit out on the patio and have a snack or read the paper, talk with colleagues, or just relax. They even took the extra step of enabling wi-fi

Really glad to see they've solved the technical glitches with the Internet service. Worked GREAT this time!!

As always, the staff are impressive. Couldn't ask for a better team of professionals headed by a great GM.

Congrats on the all-new Courtyard Albany Thruway!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmarshpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I stayed at this Courtyard the night before an early flight from Albany. Although there is a Courtyard in Albany situated closer to the airport, this was only a few miles away. Conveniently, there is a gas station next door (along with a Dunkin Donuts) for fueling up the rental car before returning to the airport.

I typically consider Courtyards to be a weak link in the Marriott line-up, but this one had been recently renovated and was extremely nice. (There was even a letter from the franchisee who operates the hotel welcoming comments/questions on the renovation.) It was very tastefully done. The king-sized room had a couch and mini-fridge with a decent desk. There was a musty smell in the room (perhaps the AC had been turned off until a few hours before my arrival?), but the windows physically opened, so it was not a problem. Due to its location on a busy road, there was traffic noise, but with the AC running all night it was not a problem. The fitness room at this hotel, although small, had new equipment and the front desk staff member at check-in was extremely helpful. (There was no one manning the desk when I checked out at 6 AM for my flight, so I just left my keycard with a "checking out" note.)

I would definitely stay here again if my travels take me to Albany.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChampCamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I had a quick stayover at the Courtyard by SUNY and the Thruway for a business trip to downtown Albany. The hotel is about 10-15 mins away from downtown, but since it is right next to the highway, getting to and from downtown was quick and easy.

The Courtyard is undergoing some big renovations throughout, including all rooms and all common areas. The lobby was undergoing a complete renovation (first week of June) and looks like it had been completed gutted in the last few days before my stay.

It looked like the renovations were completed that day to the room I stayed in. My sinuses were flaring up from the new carpet smell alone. But the room was comfortable, albeit small. After looking at the layout of the hotel, it looks like a couple or rooms per floor were of smaller size than the rest, and since I got to the hotel very late and many rooms were still being renovated, I can see why I wound up in a smaller room.

The bed was very comfortable for a good night sleep with alot of pillows. Bathroom was an ok size with the sink and small fridge on the outside. One negative was that the tub had standing water in it from the previous guest since the tub stopper was down. Good sized flat screen TV with alot of channels. And free internet.

Didn't interact with alot of staff, but those that I did were very friendly.

For a quick business trip, can't go wrong with this hotel, espcially given the rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#22 of 50 in Albany
454 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Address: 1455 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Albany
#7 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort and convenience, along with contemporary style, at Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway. Our Albany, New York hotel offers a premier location just steps from the University at Albany, SUNY - making us a perfect choice of accommodations for prospective students. Plus, we're close to Times Union Center and The Egg. At our hotel, guests choose from several breakfast and coffee options in The Bistro restaurant to start each day, and they unwind during evenings with cocktails at our bar or a relaxing swim in our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Thruway Hotel Albany
Albany Courtyard
Albany Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing