We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here Memorial Day weekend, and it's a fine place to stay. Only planned to stay one night even though it's an extended stay place.

We brought our dog, and their extra fee for having a pet was clearly stated, reasonable, and also explained at check-in. Although the hallway smelled smokey, our non-smoking room did not. The room was comfortable -- king size bed was firm. Also had a reclining chair. TV worked well. WIFI connected easily and worked well.

The included breakfast was "grab and go" as advertised -- just coffee, pre-wrapped muffins and granola bars, stuff like that. So if you need or expect something more, just be prepared.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 158 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel was very basic. It was actually fine for my one night stay but if I had to stay longer I may have looked elsewhere. It boasts a total renovation but my room, although very clean, did not appear to be updated. Everything in it was nowhere near new from the appliances to the furniture etc. It had little ambiance and was extremely basic, but again, if you only need to stay a night, for the price it was fine. Staff was friendly although a little overwhelmed...which was not her fault as it was graduation weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsbells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to do this for you. To uphold our company's high standards, we will continue to focus on improving our hotel and its offerings.

Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at alb@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this location recently for four months because a family member was ill and was being treated at Albany Medical. The staff at the front desk (especially Jennifer and Lucy) were very friendly and helpful....genuinely concerned about our family situation. They always had a warm greeting, and made us feel like family. The housekeeping staff was also very courteous and professional, and would always greet us. The room was clean and comfortable, and we were allowed to have our little dog with us, for which we were very grateful. The hotel was quiet, and having the fully equipped kitchen let us keep our own schedule save on eating out. We would definitely recommend this location to anyone needing a long term solution, with complete flexibilty.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, near an outside exit, making it especially convenient for taking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I seem to always be checking in when Jennifer is running the desk, and the service from her (and the rest of the staff) is always top notch. The rooms are simple yet totally worth it, with a full kitchen as an added bonus when you're on a business trip and just don't want to head back out (as the only place within 2 mins for food is a gas station two doors down).

As an added bonus, the whole establishment got a nice overhaul last year, and the improvement shows. I'm usually booking through Priceline, and this is my place of preference in Albany for an easy night's stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipO1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I am still in this hotel, and would most probably extend my stay. Nice room, nice place to stay. Lucy at the reception is great, very good in customer service, very freindly lady. Thanks, Lucy
and keep it that way.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay and the price is competitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aristides A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Everything was great, clean hotels, great little kitchens, pots pans, refrigerator, the staff is great and friendly especially lucy. Have had no problems with gettin anything jsuch as towels, ans things of that nature and the beds are very comfortable Ill be stay here for the duration of my stay in Albany, New York

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakesmith01233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

"Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I will only stay here any time i am in Albany Rooms are grate Lucy is amazing and sweet lots of help. Wood be nice if there was a in door pool and wight room. I stayed for several weeks and Lucy always had a smill and was willing to help. Her attitude was always positive. Best hotel for the price. Great value! The location has easy access to I - 90 and is centrally located. The rooms are nice with everything needed to make a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DustinM274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
1 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#17 of 50 in Albany
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#38 of 50 in Albany
969 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY

Address: 1395 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $86 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Albany
Extended Stayamerica Albany Capital
Extended Stay Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing