We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Pretty average motel Fairfield Inn, nothing special, but nice comfortable bed and room. Breakfast adequate, pool looked clean, hot tub not operational (looks like has been out of service for a while. We did get a very good rate on Priceline, so it was worth the stay for an overnight sleep/stay.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maine04428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We have a number of changes afoot in the upcoming months that will hopefully make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Regarding our hot tub: There have been changes in the regulations that relate to hotel pools and hot tubs. While we will be able to make the changes necessary for our pool to remain in operation, our hot tub is being removed. We hope to move our fitness room to that location as part of a planned renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 228 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is right across a street from SUNY (as are a few other hotels on Washington Avenue). It appears to be fairly new and is quite fine for a short stay in the area.
It has a very small work out room, but SUNY has a 5k track around it's perimeter that makes a great run.
The hotel is very convenient to downtown Albany (10-12 minutes) and Schenectady.
Adequate hot self-service breakfast area.
Very nice staff. Everyone I met was quite helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Really enjoyed Albany Pump Station for their own beers and food. Burgers are HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relambjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that it met your travel needs -- and that you were able to enjoy The Pump Station! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at this Fairfield Inn on previous visits to SUNY Albany. Our Feb 2013 stay was the first in very cold weather. The hotel was lightly occupied. Desk gave us a room on the ground level floor (rm. 130) easy in and out to the parking lot, though the parking places adjacent to the closest exit door were unplowed during our stay.
The swimming pool area is going to undergo some spring 2013 construction to comply with NY regulations that hotel pools be all-mobility accessible. This means the hotel is taking out their jacuzzi spa to install a sloped entry into the pool. Jacuzzi not available, though the pool continues to be open for those without special mobility needs.

I slept on the bed closest to the exterior wall, on the side that faced the exterior wall. Overnight the outside temperature was in single digits F. The ground level rooms are likely constructed on a concrete slab with no heated space beneath. The floor adjacent to the bed (and window & heater unit ) got very cold at night. I had dropped my jeans on the floor and they were frigid the next morning. if you stay in winter, I would recommend an upper floor room as the floors on those levels would have heated spaces below and the floors should not get so cold. Or dont use the bed closest to the window.

Another design quibble- there is a full length mirror along the entry hall. When lying in bed and someone else is using the bathroom or shower, the Bathroom light shines around the door frame or with door slightly ajar reflects off the hall mirror onto the bed area. A bit of a distraction i had not noticed in previous visits when we were just 2 guests.

Still, this is a very clean and new building and a good value at just over $100/night

Room Tip: book an upper floor room in the wintertime. ground level rooms floors may get cold by the outside w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.

I was sorry to hear that our parking lot was not adequately plowed during your stay. Our plowing company is typically very vigilant but I will be sure to keep an eye out for this in the future.

Thank you also for sharing your travel tips. We hope to be undergoing a renovation in the near future and perhaps we may be able to address your mirror observation at that time.

If I can be of assistance in providing a room that better meets your needs for a future stay, please do not hesitate to let me know. --Chris Devaney, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took at shot at Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" and was pleasantly surprised to get booked at the Fairfield Inn SUNY. From check-in to check-out our stay there was very relaxing and enjoyable. The chocolate chip cookies, hot coffee and complimentary newspapers in the lobby were a welcome sight after a not-so-enjoyable ride up from NY City. Very clean and comfortable room, especially the bed (5 BIG pillows), big flat screen TV with lots of good cable channels, and lounge chair. I was especially happy with the chair because dad (85 with bad arthritis) can no longer sleep in a bed. We both enjoyed use of the exercise room and indoor pool (great pool hours -- 6am to midnight). Breakfast was more than adequate with fresh waffles, an assortment of Jimmy Dean microwavable offerings (French Toast, Sausage or Bacon/Egg/Cheese Biscuits, Egg/Cheese Omelets), oatmeal, yogurt, muffins, bread/bagels and an assortment of fresh fruit (a real assortment.. not just bananas and apples). The breakfast hostess was especially helpful and in spite of how busy the breakfast area was, she managed to keep everything well-stocked and exceptionally clean. Dad and I strongly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel; the main road can get quite noisy with lots of traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MariosDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I especially appreciate your kind words about our breakfast hostess, Gail. We are happy to hear that both you and Dad recommend our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you for a future visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is not a five star hotel. However, it is a fine place to spend a night or two if you want to stay as close to SUNY at Albany as possible. There are about four hotels across from SUNY at Albany and we have stayed in three of them. While Fairfield Inn is not necessarily my favorite, I was pleased with my stay. The lobby is small but had 24 hr coffee and water available as well. The hotel has an indoor pool. The clerk at check-in was very pleasant as were the rest of the staff I encountered.The rooms are a decent size and furnished with typical hotel furniture including a low dresser, a desk, and a night table between the beds. There was also one chair by the window. The carpet was typical industrial carpeting but it was clean as was the room. The beds were comfortable and there were extra pillows. There was a nice, flat screen tv in the room. The bathroom was a nice size and clean although nothing fancy. I appreciated the Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. Deluxe continental breakfast was included and consisted of yogurt, bagels,pastries, bread, waffles, breakfast sandwiches (microwavable), cereal, fruit, coffee and juice.We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be pleasant and our rooms to be clean. We hope to see you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived there on a Friday evening. It was a quick check-in. The rooms were very clean and accomodating. The bathroom was big, and we had a pleasant stay. We had breakfast the next morning and the hostess in the Breakfast Room was so accomodating and she was rushing around and making sure the milk, yogurt, everything was kept full and in stock. I had an empty plate on my table and she took it and I said I could do that, and she said that's her job, that's what she's here for. She was a very, very nice and efficient hostess. We will stay there again if we ever visit Albany.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananacake60789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review onyour stay with us. I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and i will make sure make sure I pass on your compliment to Gail who was your Breakfast attendant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Travelling through Albany at Thanksgiving. Chose this hotel based on price and location. The room was large, clean with a very comfortable bed. Close to I90 and traffic noise. Try to get a room that's on the south side. The breakfast was excellent. One of the better offerings we've had at this type of hotel. Staff was friendly. Traffic patterns are difficult due to construction which Makes finding this place a bit difficult at night. Will definitely stay here the next time we're in Albany.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank vtcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am we could give you a clean and comfortable place on your thanksgiving holiday away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#18 of 50 in Albany
480 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Address: 1383 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: $88 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing