We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took at shot at Priceline's "Name Your Own Price" and was pleasantly surprised to get booked at the Fairfield Inn SUNY. From check-in to check-out our stay there was very relaxing and enjoyable. The chocolate chip cookies, hot coffee and complimentary newspapers in the lobby were a welcome sight after a not-so-enjoyable ride up from NY City. Very clean and comfortable room, especially the bed (5 BIG pillows), big flat screen TV with lots of good cable channels, and lounge chair. I was especially happy with the chair because dad (85 with bad arthritis) can no longer sleep in a bed. We both enjoyed use of the exercise room and indoor pool (great pool hours -- 6am to midnight). Breakfast was more than adequate with fresh waffles, an assortment of Jimmy Dean microwavable offerings (French Toast, Sausage or Bacon/Egg/Cheese Biscuits, Egg/Cheese Omelets), oatmeal, yogurt, muffins, bread/bagels and an assortment of fresh fruit (a real assortment.. not just bananas and apples). The breakfast hostess was especially helpful and in spite of how busy the breakfast area was, she managed to keep everything well-stocked and exceptionally clean. Dad and I strongly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel; the main road can get quite noisy with lots of traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MariosDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I especially appreciate your kind words about our breakfast hostess, Gail. We are happy to hear that both you and Dad recommend our hotel and we hope to have the opportunity to host you for a future visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    86
    47
    21
    9
See reviews for
75
38
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is not a five star hotel. However, it is a fine place to spend a night or two if you want to stay as close to SUNY at Albany as possible. There are about four hotels across from SUNY at Albany and we have stayed in three of them. While Fairfield Inn is not necessarily my favorite, I was pleased with my stay. The lobby is small but had 24 hr coffee and water available as well. The hotel has an indoor pool. The clerk at check-in was very pleasant as were the rest of the staff I encountered.The rooms are a decent size and furnished with typical hotel furniture including a low dresser, a desk, and a night table between the beds. There was also one chair by the window. The carpet was typical industrial carpeting but it was clean as was the room. The beds were comfortable and there were extra pillows. There was a nice, flat screen tv in the room. The bathroom was a nice size and clean although nothing fancy. I appreciated the Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. Deluxe continental breakfast was included and consisted of yogurt, bagels,pastries, bread, waffles, breakfast sandwiches (microwavable), cereal, fruit, coffee and juice.We had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be pleasant and our rooms to be clean. We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived there on a Friday evening. It was a quick check-in. The rooms were very clean and accomodating. The bathroom was big, and we had a pleasant stay. We had breakfast the next morning and the hostess in the Breakfast Room was so accomodating and she was rushing around and making sure the milk, yogurt, everything was kept full and in stock. I had an empty plate on my table and she took it and I said I could do that, and she said that's her job, that's what she's here for. She was a very, very nice and efficient hostess. We will stay there again if we ever visit Albany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bananacake60789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review onyour stay with us. I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and i will make sure make sure I pass on your compliment to Gail who was your Breakfast attendant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Travelling through Albany at Thanksgiving. Chose this hotel based on price and location. The room was large, clean with a very comfortable bed. Close to I90 and traffic noise. Try to get a room that's on the south side. The breakfast was excellent. One of the better offerings we've had at this type of hotel. Staff was friendly. Traffic patterns are difficult due to construction which Makes finding this place a bit difficult at night. Will definitely stay here the next time we're in Albany.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank vtcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. I am we could give you a clean and comfortable place on your thanksgiving holiday away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a lower end Fairfield Inn with a few updates. The beds are comfortable. Room was very clean and the staff was nice. Great location off thruway. A little pricey but cheaper than hotels nearby. Bathroom sink area was too small - not enough shelf space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank so much for taking the time to do a review on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful service, clean and comfortable stay in great location whether in Albany for SUNY, business, or in route from Niagra Falls to Boston. Current interstate road work makes access somewhat confusing, but still a great value for a solid location and above average hospitality from staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank so much for reviewing your stay with us, i am glad we were able to meet your expectation which is always our goal to meet or exceed guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Setauket, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent hotel, but nothing fancy. With AAA, included breakfast for under $100. How can you eat that, directly opposite the University. Very convenient and very clean with a wonderful free continental breakfast buffet which was outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give a review your stay, I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Albany-Colonie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing