We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great hotel for price. Second time we have stayed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel for price. Second time we have stayed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Went for a weekend shopping trip and hotel suited our need for clean room and breakfast included was a time-saver. A shower cap in the room was missing but no big deal. Hotel assistant manager greeted us and was very service oriented

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlwithcurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us. I am glad to here you had a great stay with us and look forward to your future visit. We always carry shower caps and extra amenities on request at the desk. once again thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    78
    42
    21
    8
See reviews for
62
34
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
356 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

While the facility was booked almost to capacity I heard little or no noise from the others in this hotel. The door closers are set so that the doors close quietly and do not SLAM! Breakfast offerings were along the norm that you would expect. The desk staff were always polite and helpful. A warm greeting every time you passed one of them, as well as, the rest of the staff. Pool looked nice, but I had no time to visit it as I was on business with long days. The SUNY Albany campus across the street is enourmous and well manicured. A nice place to take a long walk. I would recommend this facility and would visit on a return trip.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the highest floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
191 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a funny place, in parts up to date, in part a little run down, old, and a little pungent. However the staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool looked appealing but is situated where everyone can walk past to look at you, all in all an ok place to rest your head for a night or two, but not much more than that.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on you stay with us.Being an older Fairfield design we are schedule for a future renovation of the property. Once again thank you for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way to New York City and used the Fairfield as a place to spend the night and take a break on our drive to the big city. The positives: great location, right close to the interstate. Free breakfast, which was as good as what you might pay $15 a piece for in NYC (as we found out a couple days later) theres a nice pool and a hot tub and the staff were helpful and friendly. They were able to locate a crib for our little one even though we were there pretty late and also moved us to a new room when we found that someone had broke the rules and smoked in the first one.
The negatives: really just one and it wasn't TOO bad. Most of the facility was very clean but there was a some dirty looking spots on the walls a little. It didn't really bother us too much, just took the overall experience down a notch.

Overall, recommended. I've been to many many hotels and one thing that seems to be constant is you can typically count on Marriott to deliver.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MunktopiaJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us. I am glad we could meet most of your needs and would also like to let you know that we are scheduled for future renovations and the paint color match issue in on the walls will be corrected. Once again thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The staff was very nice, especially the front desk. The location was good. There was a nice looking pool on the first floor, but we did not try it. The hallways were clean but shabby. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but the room was a bit run down. There were no alcoholic beverages available on the premises. Would have had to get back in the car and drive down the street for a drink. If you want a drink after a long drive, be advised to bring your own. I prefer the Courtyard down the street and will probably stay there next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p169649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us and your brand loyalty. I would also like to inform you that we are scheduled future renovations to freshen you the hotel look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The inn was great with privileges to their sister property next door.

The service and staff were so helpful, friendly, and cordial. The breakfast was really good, plenty of choices for the light to heavy eater.

The inn is also directly across from SUNY-Albany campus and very close to major restaurants and the Colonie Mall, Rt 87 and the NYST.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank yu very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is right across from the SUNY Albany campus, along with a bunch of other hotels. It's clean, has an indoor pool and includes breakfast in the rate. It's nothing spectacular and not near any restaurants. It's worth it if you need to be near campus and you can get a good rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#23 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing