We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Near To Everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So Near To Everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The inn was great with privileges to their sister property next door.

The service and staff were so helpful, friendly, and cordial. The breakfast was really good, plenty of choices for the light to heavy eater.

The inn is also directly across from SUNY-Albany campus and very close to major restaurants and the Colonie Mall, Rt 87 and the NYST.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atila70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank yu very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    91
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
80
42
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is right across from the SUNY Albany campus, along with a bunch of other hotels. It's clean, has an indoor pool and includes breakfast in the rate. It's nothing spectacular and not near any restaurants. It's worth it if you need to be near campus and you can get a good rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JAGR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Family of 4 on a long weekend (Labour day) getaway.

Very reasonable rate, clean room, well-maintained indoor pool and hot-tub, small workout room on 2nd floor with brand new elliptical & treadmill, hot breakfast included, close to the University, minutes away from the huge CrossGates mall complex, as well as the Colonie area.
For sure, you need a car to get around more efficiently- but you would anyway... Everything is within 5-10 minutes and easily accessible. Good shopping.
Very hospitable folks trying to ensure return to this as a choice hotel, on a strip of many, many choices.
...we'll be back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is okay, room was clean, but felt in need of a bit of an overhaul. Reasonable bathroom supplies, the usual items in a hotel of this price. As usual with Marriott a refrigerator was an optional extra. On mine they had not even bothered to peel the bright yellow energy information sticker off the front, and by virtue of the constant shuffle from one room to another was rather beat up.

I tried to buy four items from the vending machine, three of them failed to vend. Not a good percentage, but the staff were good about refunding my stolen money.

The lobby had some complimentary cheese and crackers along with some ordinary cookies. I never tried the free breakfast.

The hotel is nothing to write home about, nothing offensive, just blah. Could use some sprucing up in my opinion. Good location for the college though, and a handy gas station with Subway inside just a couple of minutes nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZCT808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that your refridgerator had an energy savung sticker still on it, but we have tracked down the refridgerator and it has been taken care of. I would also like to let you know that we are scheduled for future renovations. Once again thank you for your review and time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice location if you are waiting for dorms at SUNY to open like us.
Breakfast was nice.
The room didn't smell nice but was acceptable.
Free Wifi was good.
Receptionists were helpful, especially when we asked about food delivery brochures.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review on your stay with us. I am sorry we did not meet our fresh smell standards and would love to discuss with you more, so i can find out what the issue was. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 518-435-1800.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Rhode Island. The location is good if you are going to visit the university, but it is not convenient to any restaurants that are within walking distance unless you want to eat at a neighbouring hotel. The hotel itself was clean and the check in quick and painless. The rooms were clean and the breakfast (which was included) was fine but ended at 9:30 a.m. There is a computer in the lobby if you don't have access and there is free wireless throughout the hotel. It was quiet throughout the night!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor so you don't have people walking over top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you very much fro taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here while en route between Montreal and Baltimore. Provides the standard amenities from Fairfield: free Internet, decent rooms, decent selection of stations on the cable TV, basic workout facilities, free parking, and a location near the highway (as well as Crossgates Mall). The only thing a bit off was that the pool is right off of the lobby, and the lobby smells of chlorine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAC-from-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking t the time to fill out a review on your stay with us. I apologize for the chlorine you smelled inthe lobby, we do monitor it and make sure it is at the required level. If I could be of further assistance please contact me directly at the hotel tel. 518-435-1800. once again thank you for your time and choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing