We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice simple hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice simple hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel Oct 29-30th 2011. The hotel was clean and nice. It is near hwys and shopping. The free WiFi in the rooms was great and breakfast was included in the morning. The only criticism I have of this hotel is that the lighting in the parking lot was non existant and it was a bit creepy if you had to park farther away from the lobby. I would stay at this place again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girlwithcurlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel not only do we appriciate the nice things about the hotel, but also what you did not like. I do apologize about the lights in the parking lot, they were off due to a timer malfunction that was corrected immediately the next moring. Once again thank you for your time.

Mary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    87
    48
    22
    10
See reviews for
76
40
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent just one night here. We had a room with 2 queen beds, beds were very comfortable, the room looked very clean. Bathroom was clean too. The lobby had a strong smell to pool chemicals as the pool is right next to it. It was a bit too strong for one of us who is allergic to certains smells... nothing major. Breakfast was average. Well located if you are driving into Albany. All in all, we would probably stay here again if we need to stop in Albany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtl_chick_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The cholrine level in the pool is regulated by the County Health department, and those are the level we maintain and check several times a day. Once again tahnk you for taking the time help us improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Tiny lobby with a sofa and a few chairs, 2 computer stations. Nice spacious indoor pool. Staff was indifferent, only helpful if sought out and asked . Housekeeping staff was better than front desk or breakfast staff. Better experience in other area Marriott Hotels. Free breakfast offered as in standard at Fairfield Inns. Very convenient to Suny Albany, right off the highway, gas station and Dunkin Donuts on the same road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintagebydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank You for taking the time to do a review for our hotel, this always gives us input on areas we need to improve for our customer satisfaction, and once again thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn SUNY for your stay from all the various Marriott Brands offered in Albany, NY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Hotel room and premises were nice and clean. Did not seem old. Stayed in room with two queen beds. The room size was more than ample for two queen beds. Breakfast is okay. One thing we did not like was the towel changing policy. Inspite of keeping the towel on the floor as instructed, it was not changed and we got the same one back but folded. We could figure out because there were some dirt mark left by us on that towel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to do a review on our hotel. This is a tool we use to help improve our services. I would like to apologize that your towels were not change, and we have reviewed with our staff to make sure everyone understands the towel exchange program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The stay was pleasant and reasonably priced. We arrived late, rested well, and were on our way in the morning. The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet offered healthy alternatives for breakfast. We'll stay again on our annual trip to Maine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling_Mammy_of_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the beds and the hotel in general was. The staff was really helpful and the breakfast was great with lots of variety!!! Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLOVESTOTRAVEL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

My family and I had originally booked a 2-bedroom suite at CrestHill Suites, just a short distance away. However, before we had the opportunity to settle in, we had an awful experience with a very rude staff member at the front desk. Our room was very dirty as well. So, we did not stay there overnight, and ended up checking availability at Fairfield Inn.

After a long trip from Maryland, and our poor experience at CrestHill Suites, we were delighted to meet the very friendly and polite staff at Fairfield Inn. They were extremely helpful. We needed to accommodate 6 people, preferably in a suite. They were unable to put us in a single room. Therefore, the staff assisted by calling around to various other Marriott hotels in the area to find out pricing and availability. It was Memorial Day weekend and most places were already booked. So, we decided to stay in 2 of their rooms. They selected rooms for us that were near each on the first floor. The rooms were not fancy, but very clean. The beds were the most comfortable my family and I have ever slept in at a hotel. It was great to get a good night's sleep after a long trip, in preparation for my son's graduation from RPI the next morning.

The free breakfast buffet had a good variety of items to please many different eating habits. They had Belgian waffle irons, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, egg omelets, etc. If I should visit Albany again, Fairfield Inn will be one of my first choices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latkwat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELDMGMT, Manager at Fairfield Inn Albany University Area, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay, and we are happy to have made your visit to Albany more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Albany University Area
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Albany Thruway
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Albany University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Albany University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn Albany University Area
Address: 1383 Washington Ave, Albany, NY 12206-1009
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Albany University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn Albany University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Albany Suny Hotel Albany
Fairfield Albany
Albany Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing