We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is a hotel that cares and caters to their customers in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“this is a hotel that cares and caters to their customers in every way”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

we booked seven rooms for a week-end of family celebration. We had specific religious needs and the staff went out of their way to accommodate all our requirements in every possible way. They were friendly, curteous and went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel very highly.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sylvia38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    183
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
318
141
42
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2010

This is the 4th time my husband and I have stayed at this wonderful hotel. Last year our son moved to Norwood St., so we tried the hotel and our first stay was perfect and we have stayed hear since. The hotel is very, very clean, the rooms are perfect and the breakfast bar is terrific! Everyone working at the hotel is very helpful for our every need. The hotel is walking distance from a very nice mall and restaurants. I recommeded this hotel to friends and family who have students at Albany U. Thank you to the staff for our wonderful stays, you will see us again soon.
Judy of Manhattan

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyfrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We used this hotel for a stopover between Niagara falls to the White Mountains.There was little to complain about this hotel, it ticked all the boxes for comfort. The only moan would be that the room smelt of smoke although there was a sign saying no smoking and I felt that the filter coffee machine should not be in the bathroom, not very hygenic having it next to the toilet. It did have a fridge and a microwave in the bedroom and microwave dinners could be bought in the shop behind reception, but there was adequate restaurants in the area. There was a coin op laundry available on the third floor and the room had an ironing board and iron available.
The staff were helpful and the breakfast offered hot and cold choices and it was complimentary. I did not use the pool or the business centre. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannyjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This was like a welcome oasis after a very long day of driving. I found this place on TripAdvisor and the reviews were correct. Exceeds expectations, from the minute you walk in to a warm welcome, to the last bite of a huge breakfast buffet before departure, Large, clean room, soft clean beds and good temperature controls in room. The only negative was a small, noisy refrigerator at the foot of the bed against the wall which kicked on and off constantly all night. Maybe it was defective. Except for that, couldn't ask for more in a hotel.
Good restaurant/bar within walking distance. Good food and service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my wife and 2 young child on our way to south Jersey... The location is perfect (near the highway and near the CrossGate Mall and a big Wal Mart). The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The free breakfast was very useful and pretty good. I would stay there again...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We recently visited Cooperstown, NY and every hotel was booked, so we decided to stay in Albany. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we ended up in the Holiday Inn Express. What a great hotel. Very clean, friendly and accommodating. The kids loved the pool. It was very warm and clean. The beds are very comfy with "firm" and "soft" pillows. Comforter is amazing! Breakfast was more than adequate, included fruit, bagels, yogurt and pre-made omelettes and sausages. Coffee was great. Very crowded Sunday morning, but the crew kept up with the food and the place was very clean! Would stay again when in the area!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmancusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We've stayed here a few times and have not been disappointed. It is very convenient, being less than 3 minutes from the highway and there are a variety of restaurants within a 3-to-10 minute drive (important, since only breakfast is available in the hotel itself).

We've always gotten a 2-room king suite. The rooms are quite spacious and the beds (even the pull-out sofabed) are supportive and comfy. The air-conditioners (there are separate controls for each room) work well -- fast and quiet. Each room has its own flat panel TV and the hotel gets many HD channels. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, including in the rooms. A definite plus when everyone wants to get online at once.

The bathroom is spacious, well-lit and well stocked. The counter runs the entire length of the bathroom, providing ample space to lay out all one's bathroom-type stuff. My only wish would be for a separate (and stronger) exhaust fan. The lights must be left on in order for the exhaust to work, and even then, it doesn't clear out very fast.

Everything is spotless -- in the rooms, in the hallways, in the elevators and in the lobby. The staff is attentive and very pleasant. All in all, it's a pleasure to be here.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaTravelsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing