We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah, this is a good one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Checked the reviews posted here when I had to stay in Albany.

Nice to report that everything was not just good, but excellent, and I can see how this facility got to #1 as a combination of price and quality.

Wife says "VERY CLEAN" and impressed by the material and workmanship in the bathrooms.

The only problem I had was getting there, and that's nothing to do with the hotel.

The breakfast bar was really good, the front desk staff was completely over the top not just with me but from what I could see, every body.

And these guys KNOW that they are being watched by TripAdvisor, very aware of it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 960 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed overnite here while on our way to visit family on the east coast. We selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The staff were very friendly and when we had to call the front desk about our malfunctioning air conditioner, they sent a maintenance man right away. The complimentary breakfast was great and we'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Albany. The only negative thing I can comment on was the plugged shower drain. A minor glitch to an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We planned a last minute trip to see the Giants practice at the University of Albany. I read reviews on Trip advisor for the best hotel in the area and low and behold Holiday Inn Express came up. We were really happy with the accommodations. Clean, friendly, close to training fields. The staff was extremely friendly but I have to give Elektra, the front desk girl, the highest accolades. She was so amazing. She made sure our stay was perfect! Breakfast was free and it was wonderful for your average continental breakfast. Cinnamon buns were the best, omelets not so much.
Bathrooms were clean and looked very new. Beds were comfortable and they had pillows marked soft and firm. One of the most remarkable things was the quietness! Our room was 233 right in between 2 elevators, this made me very nervous because we were recently in another Holiday Inn and the walls were paper thing. We heard NOTHING! I would definitely return to this hotel again!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
Thank Crrizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Came across this Holiday Inn Express on way into Albany on college search trip with 2 sixteen yr olds.... Price & location were right, so booked one night. I am a priority club member and have stayed at 6 other Holiday Inns within the past year. They do vary from location to location! Booked a second night after we found how CLEAN, ACCOMMODATING, AND COMPLETE this facility is. Everything there that should be there and in working order. Each staff member friendly and helpful, even in busy times. Especially liked the warm temp of the pool -- so relaxing after walking miles through college campuses. Also nice to have a 24 hour store next to the front desk. My grandchildren always are in need of something! This is far enough off the interstates to be very quiet. Not a lot of choice for neighboring restaurants. Next time I will ask the staff for ideas.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very comfortable and clean room. Location is ideal. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
Thank Randiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We needed to break our journey from Toronto to Cape Cod, drove all day in pouring rain - missed the exit onff the Interstate 90 and found ourselves hurtling south to the Big Apple; but arrived eventually! very welcoming and sympathetic staff, nice chocy treat to keep up the energy levels until dinner. Lovely comfortable room ; like rooms with bottled water and fridges = excellent value for money. Too late and tired to use the pool, but plenty of other folk were using it. No restaurant but we found one a block down the road, and slept like a log, peaceful and quiet. A very good generous breakfast in elegant surroundings, shame about some of the piglets making free - we felt positively slim besides some of our fellow travellers! Not likely to be in the area again (UK residents) but have always liked Holiday Inn Express chain.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvertraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have been renovating a house in the area on the weekends with my husband since February and I have stayed at this hotel on most every weekend since then and I just wanted to state that they have continued to be an outstanding hotel with wonderful customer service and clean rooms and a plentiful free breakfast buffet and I would recommend this hotel highly if you will be staying in the Albany area. Since I have been there so often I almost feel like it's my second home on the weekends :-) You won't regret staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magrock10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Albany Thruway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range: $116 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing