We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Always a nice stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a nice stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have been staying at this lovely Holiday Inn Express over many years, most recently on July 4 and 5, and will be there again on July 24. It is an especially nice Holiday Inn Express, set way back from the main road, with lovely landscaping. It feels like more of a full-service hotel and even has a pool (which we did not use.) The breakfast staff are always helpful. This last stay we had a problem with our air conditioning unit and wonderful employee Jabar G. went out of his way to make sure that everything was attended to promptly and to our liking. The hotel is just down the road from SUNY Albany, for those of you who have students attending college there. It is also about three miles to downtown and to The College of St. Rose.

Room Tip: If you are particular about your room at any hotel, call ahead and ask for what you want. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sandy G,

Thank you for the repeat business! You might actually be here right now while I am writing this! That's kind of cool!!

I am happy to hear that Jafar did a great job last time went something went awry, and thank you for your understanding.

If I haven't already I look forward to meeting you sometime!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    162
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
263
116
36
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were driving from Boston to Rochester and wanted to stop over half way. We also wanted to visit the Schyler house, the home of Alexander Hamilton's wife. We were happily surprised to find a 99 restaurant nearby for lunch. We loved the holiday express , the room was exceptionable, very clean and very cozy. Our daughter was with us and we went in their heated pool and she went to the work out room. They have a great breakfast buffet and a little garden in the back set up with tables and chairs. This stay started our trip off wonderfully.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Priscilla M,

Thank you for choosing us for your stop over! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

If you ever stop over again, there are a number of great Historic houses to check out. Cherry Hill, The Ten Broeck Mansion and the Pruyn House to name a few. You are probably already aware of them but just thought I'd mention.

Thank you again!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I recently attended a 3 night training in Albany, and had stayed at the hotel. The training was held right on sight in the conference room.

This was super convenient. Easy place to find, right off the highway. Close walk to good restaurants/ bars. Short drive to downtown.

Hotel room was very good. Service was very good. Continental breakfast was above average.

Although it was off of a main road, it was in a nice, quiet neighborhood, mostly residential.

Nice pool, limited workout room.

I had a great experience here. The place to stay in Albany.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nachotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nachotown,

Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel while you were in town for a training. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly appreciate it!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

p.s. now I want nachos!! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

After a long drive from Bangor a very nice clean room and comfortable bed was what I needed and that is what we got here for our 1 night stay. The kids liked the warm pool. Breakfast was very good with hot omelets and pancake maker plus all the regular breakfast menu items. I would recommend this place. The cold beer at the lobby snack area was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detour97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear detour97,

Thank you for review, the 5 circles and for the business. We know you have a lot of choices in our area and truly appreciate that you chose us.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This Holiday Inn Express continues to provide excellent value at a reasonable cost. It's definitely among the top 5% in its category. Our manager, Jafar, was MOST helpful in meeting some of our special requests and housekeeping was responsive to our request to have our room made up ASAP. Our room was ample and the beds were most comfortable.
We plan on staying here on future trips.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roedergd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Roedergd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor; and thank you for the shout out for Jafar. He has been with us FOREVER, keeps trying to escape but we just wont let him! ;)

A special thank you for the mention of housekeeping. That is truly a hard job and we are blessed to have a hard working team on board!!

Hope you are having a great summer!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Room smells musty and is small and feels like a cheap motel. Didn't bother to use any of the amenities. Dingy hallways and worn furniture. Really a disappointment and way overpriced. Has ruined any chance of us coming to a holiday inn express again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EBeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I am very sorry to hear about the issues surrounding your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a quality stay, clean and comfortable rooms and excellent service, all the while exceeding our guests expectations. We clearly did not provide this for you.

Please contact me directly either through this site or at the hotel directly so we can make this right. I am on vacation until Wednesday but will look forward to being able to discuss this with you soon.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Service was excellent. From check in to housekeeping to breakfast, all ensured they greeted you and asked how we were doing. Double rooms were comfortable & clean! Beds were just right firmness. A/C unit was quite strong & quiet (#227). We needed another set of towels and additional shampoo/conditioner (since you get only 2 uses out per bottle) all provided promptly. Since this was a sports weekend a lot of players around for softball & soccer. The indoor pool being quite small - gals softball team took up the whole pool! Work out room just upstairs from the pool area which is convenient (no game room tho). For evening gathering, were allowed access to breakfast area. Breakfast was very satisfactory, very good selection. Also, outdoor seating accommodates BBQ area and smokers pavilion. Only couple miles down from a couple of Malls so plenty of shopping & dining choices. This is 2nd Holiday Inn Express stayed at & would recommend again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushiray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Sushiray,

Please accept a sincere thank you for this wonderful review as well as for your business. We know how many choices there are in the Albany area and value that you picked us.

We have posted this in our employee break room as well as read it out loud for the team at our daily morning meeting. What an amazing way to start our morning!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Address: 1442 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3421
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing