We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upstate N.y.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay with great value.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were in Albany for the day, for a family Baptism, and unexpectedly had to stay overnight. We showed up at this hotel with no reservations and nothing but the dressy clothing on our backs. The front desk was wonderful. Got a comfortable room at a great price (although we would have preferred a little firmer bed), and the front desk clerk gave us all the complimentary toiletries we needed (toothbrushes, toothpaste, deodorant, combs, razor & shaving cream). They couldn't have been nicer or more concerned, asking us if everything was OK each time we passed the desk. The breakfast had good variety (fresh, fruit, yogurt, cheese omelets, sausage patties, pancakes, bagels, muffins, cinnamon buns, etc.) and "doggie bags" if you wanted to take breakfast on the run. Room and bathroom were very clean, with lots of towels, microwave, refrigerator and in-room safe. Would definitely stay there again on our next "unexpected overnight stay" in Albany. By the way, other relatives who stayed at another (unnamed), big-name suite-hotel nearby, for more money, and were "upgraded" to a 2-room suite, were very disappointed in their stay. Guess they too will be staying at the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western on their next trip to Albany!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
What a nice review, brought smiles to our faces!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for having chosen us in the first place! Your business s sincerely apprecaited. We are happy we could assist you with your unexpected overnight stay and that the toiletries came in handy!!

oh! and blessings for the baptism!!

Hospitably yours,


Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    179
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
303
132
41
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After getting really fed up with the Holiday Inn in Latham, I decided to check in to this one, and it's so much better. The rooms are clean, modern, the breakfast has a very large variety (with grapefruits!). The pool area is very spacious, and the water temperature is warm. The fitness center is very spacious and luminous too, with modern equipment. Both the pool and fitness are accessible from the lobby but also from the stairs leading to second floor and so on. Very nice staff at the front desk. So far the best Holiday Inn I've stayed. And the morning I left, brand new linen was delivered. The only downside... not many places to eat around. I look forward to check in again at this hotel, definitely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerieh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to check us out and for sharing your experience. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The next time you are here, seek me out. I like to eat and can recommend a dozen or so restaurants withing a mile of the hotel; most within a half mile!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights when in the Albany area. We also had several family members also make reservations here and stay. The staff was friendly and professional. They went out of their way to ask if we needed anything and if they could do anything to make our stay better. I have never had anyone ask that at a hotel before. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast they serve has plenty of choices and is fine. Pool was clean. Had wished for a hot tub, but that was not an issue. Parking is no problem. The area around the hotel has a lot to offer... right across the street from the mall. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagull404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you! What lovely review!, happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our hotel and all the amenities!

We look forward to seeing you again!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our stay here was great - no complaints. It was easy to find, not far off the interstate. Check-in went smoothly. Our room was clean and neat. Breakfast was more than sufficient for what we needed. Service was great and if you are in the area visiting, this is a recommended place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank challengefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience!!

Since you have been here we have added a new element to our check in process to make it even more efficient; we have gone paperless!!

There is a little gadget, device, doodad or whacha-ma-call-it at the front desk now where our guests can view all their reservation information and confirm without paper! The latest in our sustainability efforts!

Next time you visit let us know what you think!!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We now consider the Holiday Inn Express Western Ave to be our go-to hotel when visiting family in Albany. This was our second visit to the hotel, and the experience was FAR better than our first. The service is first-rate: friendly, supportive and immediately responsive. We did not take advantage of the breakfast service, so that's no longer an issue for us. The location cannot be beat: anything you want from shopping, fine dining, quick meals, highway access and other amenities are within a very short drive from the hotel. In fact, some wonderful restaurants and coffee shops are DIRECTLY across Western Avenue from the hotel. (Not a walkable distance, but an easy drive.

The best news? It's QUIET! Given the central location, you might think noise would be an issue. The hotel is set back off the main road and nestle around residential neighborhoods and office parks. We did not hear a THING at night; you would have thought we were in the woods.

I just don't understand why this Holiday Inn is #2 among Albany area hotels. It should be #1.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We TOTALLY agree on the #1 thing and we are trying hard!! LOL ;)

Very happy to hear that this second trip was so much better than the first. The team here really does listen to our guests and when something is wrong, tries to make it right or when we get a great suggestion, seriously considers whether we can implement it.

Come the end of April we will have some new items on that Breakfast Bar...even more choices for our guests. The eggs will still be the same, real - still pre-cooked, and there will be a turkey sausage added to the hot offerings.

Also, if I didn't mention it last time.....the bagels are super yum from a local kosher bakery

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Many Holiday Inns are tired looking rather smelly hotels. This one is super clean and "fresh" with an excellent breakfast. Only negative is the outdoor parking which in the winter can be a pain but staff says they clean off the cars. Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Honest! We really do clean off the cars in the winter. It can definitely get ugly sometimes when the snow falls; this year I kept reminding myself of how much more I will appreciate the spring, summer and fall after making it through the polar vortex!! :)

At least the parking is all around the building so fairly close to every entrance!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a girls weekend in Albany and had no idea where to eat/drink, etc. The staff was incredible, the concierge, Tyler, Laurie and Jafar gave us great recommendations on restaurants and their overall attitude and personas were incredibly willing and eager to help us book reservations and find great spots. The cleaning staff was also extremely friendly and prompt with getting our room clean. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Thanks very much to the concierge!!! Keep it up you guys are great!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and for the compliments to Lori, Jafar and Tylor. The hotel team works very hard and, while they often get great comments, there isn't enough we can do to say thank you to them. When it comes form a guest, well, it just means even more!!

Hope to see you again soon!

Hospitably yours,

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Best Value Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing