We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CrestHill Suites Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$137
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveler rating
779
195
28
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
779
195
28
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront desktuesday nightgreat hotelcomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areaexcellent staywould definitely stay here againcrossgates mallwe've stayedfitness centerfresh fruitclean roomswould highly recommend this hotelking roombagelsbusiness centerup to date
Filter
Updating list...
725 - 730 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If there were a 4 1/2 I'd up this property by another 1/2 a circle. The housekeeping was excellent, the usual HIE breakfast had a bit more variety than many others, the breakfast space was lighter, airier and had a bit more space between the tables. Our room was up to normal HIE standards and very clean. The room included microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker, and the refrigerator included a small freezer section, which is not always the case.

Unlike a number of HIEs we've stayed in, this one did have a guest laundry, which we find useful when travelling for longer periods.

All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

The only fault was that, although our reservation clearly stated we'd reserved a king bed room, we were first sent to a two queen room, but when we called down to the front desk a key to a king bed room was sent up to us, with apologies and an offer to help us move our luggage, which wasn't necessary as we'd never taken it off the cart. When we got to the new room someone from the front desk was there to apologize again and check that everything was okay. A shame that an error was made, but the staff acquitted themselves well by correcting it efficiently and apologizing. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Only negative that comes to mind

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rags2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Our thanks for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of these as we know how busy everyone is. I wanted to say a quick I'm Sorry for not getting the room right. It happens sometimes but we really try to avoid that. We are meeting with the front desk on Wednesday so will chat about it.

Have a wonderful fall and thank you again for the great review!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here during the Altamont Highland Games that were held just 13 miles away. Check in could have gone smoother. Waited 15 minutes to check in at 8pm due to the fact that both front desk personnel were trying to fix a messed up reservation of the person in front of me. It would have been nice if one of them had simply moved over to the other check in station and helped me instead of staring at me all that time. The room was very nice on the other hand. Clean, Comfortable and Quiet. I was told that breakfast started at 6am. I showed up downstairs to get some early breakfast and the woman running the dining room, rather gruffly told me to come back at 7am when they opened. On my second trip to dining room I found hot food, danish, coffee, juice, milk, cereal, and an assortment of fruit. Breakfast was worth the wait. Coffee was in abundance. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for anyone in the Albany area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 655BarbaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Aack! So sorry. Cathy at our Breakfast Bar also extends her apologies if she came across gruff. She most certainly did not mean to. She now has a new nickname though...Gruffy. She has promised to never ever sound that way again if we stop calling her that.

Honestly though, sincerest apologies for that and for the front desk. I am having a meeting with the entire staff on Wednesday and we will spend some time discussing this. It seems obvious to not let both front desk agents get bogged down on one issue.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for giving us your perspective on how we can do better!!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed twice in late August. Very nice family or business hotel. No problem with adjoining rooms (there seem to be quite a few) which was important for us. Kathy was very helpful in making sure that was available for us. Would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ensco3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for the comment!

Promising connecting rooms can be a bit scary, you never know when something can go wrong (a guest extends their stay or something breaks) knocking everything out of whack. We are lucky to have 20 sets of connecting rooms offering flexibility and it always helps to let me know directly so I can keep a close eye on the reservations .. just in case!

We hope to see you back again someday and have a fantastic fall!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found this great Holiday Inn Express on our way to Washington and stayed there for one night. The service at the front desk was friendly and efficient. The room was clean, well-decorated and spacious. We had a good night's sleep, thanks to a comfortable bed and a quiet environment. There were NO bedbugs (I always double-check !) and the bathroom was very clean too. The free breakfast was the usual fare (eggs, bacon, pastries, pancakes, yogurts and so on), but with lots of fresh fruit as well, which we appreciated. The swimming pool is rather small, but it's warm and we appreciated it. The hotel is well-located, with plenty of restaurants around. If I ever return to Albany, I will certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

A kindred spirit!! I always check too!! :)

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy we were able to make your stop in Albany pleasant. Any ideas on what we can do better are welcome as well...when we can we love 'borrowing' ideas that guests see in other hotels too!

Hope you enjoyed Washington!!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After a long day of driving, this hotel was an oasis of comfort. The staff at the front desk were
efficient, quick, with an appropriate sense of humor. The rooms (2) were spotless and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. A good sized fridge and microwave were in the room.

Guest toiletries and towels were generously supplied which was appreciated. The staff's recommendation to eat at the restaurant 99 was ideal. The breakfast was fabulous and
suitable for this diabetic. Well done everyone and thank you.

Room Tip: Our rooms on the second floor were quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thank you for a lovely review! We are very happy that we were able to hit all the right notes for your stay!

It is especially nice to hear that our breakfast suited your needs. We try to offer as many choices as we can; understanding that everyone is looking for something different. Hopefully everyone can pick something they enjoy, muffins, bagels baked fresh, scrambled eggs and omelets (pre-made but always real!), cereals, whole fruit, fruit salad...

If there is anything we can do better, we actually love to hear that too!

Have a wonderful fall!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews