We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fair Haven, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews about you, my wife and I have targeted you for our next stay. Our former favorite inn was the Best Western near you which is on its way downhill. We are switching. Too bad you don't have the bar B.W. has. Great place. Add one to your extablishment, please, with lottery options and hire Bob from the 1228 Lounge (BW).

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Welcome! We look forward to having you stay with us. If there is anything we can do in advance to make sure your stay is perfect please don't hesitate to let us know. You can even email me directly through TripAdvisor if that is easiest.

OMG, I have to say I LOVE Bob! If we had a bar here I would totally try to poach him! ;)
I used to go in frequently, but then life changed so I did not attend as many events. About two years went by, I walk in and he not only remembered me but remembered what I drank, down to the brand of vodka!
Now THAT is amazing service!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    151
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
229
99
32
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The young people and all the staff make you feel right at home. They were the nicest and most friendly people I have ever met the staff at the hotel should be recognized by there company. thak you for a wonderful stay in Albany

Room Tip: Staff will take good care of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the to post a review. We really appreciate them and make sure to share these with the staff. It provids a great pick me up at our morning meeting!

We made sure to recognize all the young people and even us old ones too! :)

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We felt really special by the personal attention by the staff. Especially Ann Marie who was so helpful, even managed to do a hotel reservation for our onward Journey to NY city. Thank you so much. We felt really at home. Well done!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NarayananManoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. AnnMarie received a copy of this and we shared it with the entire staff.

Wishing you well on your travels adn we hope to see you again some day.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip. NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had a recent trip to Albany, New York for work oriented relations and chose the Holiday Inn for my stay, as I have so often in the past. This time is no diffrent from any in the past, clean rooms,nice area, a relativly decent breakfast selection, heated pool and most importantly friendly staff. One staff member in particualr by the name Nick actually came out and shook my hand upon arrivial,it was suprising to see an employee so warm and welcoming. In the future if I ever get a chance to revist the Albany area this would certainly be a top pick.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The entire staff works very hard at what they do and Nick is truly a shining star among them.

We read your review to the staff and presented Nick with a copy!

Thank you very much for helping us show everyone what a truly fantastic job they are doing.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Your staff were so kind and knowledgeable. From the moment we came in to departing 3 days later. Always calling us by our names... how do you remember all your guests names?
My husband had business in town and I tagged along with our grandson.

Our room was clean, comfortable and so quite. Thank you for the free bottled water - most places charge you for the water in the room. Breakfast was good and staff are so helpful - gave my grandson crayons and even colored with him.

Your pool is PERFECT - nice and warm. It was so hard to get out of it because it was so relaxing.

We will be sending our neice over to meet with you about her wedding plans in 2013 at the Albany Country Club. I'm sure you will be able to help her plus this is where we will stay for the wedding.

My only complaint is we had to leave, my stay was that comfortable.

Sincerely
Mary

Room Tip: Next time we're requesting a Parlor Suite. We got to look inside was and its very nice! Dont f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for writing such a rave review about your stay with us! We are very happy to have been able to provide you with such a nice experience. The staff is very good at remembering everyones names! They can teach me a thing or two about that!! :)

Looking forward to seeing you again and especailly to meeting your neice!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Room was big and clean. Area was quiet. Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Free wifi worked the best I've ever had in a hotel. A lot of places you have to keep on logging on, but here you were always on....Nice. Oh and breakfast was fantastic. They advertise it as a continental breakfast but it realy is a complete breakfast. Nice. Anyway I give it a top scor. And you are close to a Starbucks and Chipotle!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much! We enjoy reading these reviews and appreciate the time it takes to share your experience.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location for our visit, very clean modern and hospitable. Every employee was wonderful
We were part of a medium size group that was treated tremendously. Only wish we had time to take advantage of pool

Room Tip: Quite a few hotels on Western Avenue but this one is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAlbany_NY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! Believe me ... we wish it were more too! :)

We do truly value the time you took to post your review and hope to see you again in the future.

Kathy Tabora
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
Address: 1442 Western Avenue, Albany, NY 12203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albany
#3 Family Hotel in Albany
#4 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Albany, NY hotel that is as smart as you are. We built this hotel in the right location, outfitted our rooms with up-to-date amenities, and hired a staff that delivers award-winning service. All together we provide a fresh, clean, comfortable stay with solid value. We know how important it is to be in the right spot in upstate New York. Our suburban hotel is located within 1 mile of the University at Albany, College of St. Rose, and Albany NanoTech. With easy access to Routes 87 and 90, this Albany hotel is the smart spot for a rest during your trip from New York City, Boston, Montreal or Syracuse. Only 4 miles from downtown Albany, you can visit the New York State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and Times Union Center.The Hampton Inn Albany offers our guests beautifully appointed guest rooms that welcome them to a traditional space. We have created a friendly environment designed with our guests' needs in mind.ADA accessibility is important to us. Be sure to let us know your needs and we will provide the right accessible room choice for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Western Ave University Hotel Albany
Holiday Inn Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing