We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Standards met, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Baden(outside Toronto)
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Standards met, great hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For the value this hotel was great, up to what you expect with a Holiday Inn.
Very clean, even though it was busy and we got a smoking room, there was the faint smell when you first walked in. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean.

Beautiful indoor swimming pool and hot tub. Fitness area as well.

Awesome continental breakfast.

Shuttle service was fantastic. Our drive actually gave us a history lesson of the different buildings as he drove us to our restaurant.

As for surroundings, I wouldnt say this is a great family spot. Construction, off busy interstate and then your directly across from bus terminal. The city is old, but for tourist attractions I don't think there is a lot to see or do. If you are going in to see something at The Egg or have businiess I would highly recommend. We were stopping through with a 3 & 5 yr old so not the best area with them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtpiede19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello qtpiede19,

First let me thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany and for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Being that we are in the heart of downtown close access to the highway does sometime make it challenging to find activities for families with children however there are some parks and dinner cruises that are alternatives.

Also I am glad to hear that you were entertained by our shuttle driver. He really prides himself in making sure the guest experience is a great one and knows that many people are not from the area so he wants them to feel at home.

Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope you choose to stay with us again if you are ever in the Albany, NY area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    175
    90
    42
    17
See reviews for
116
110
38
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way back to NYC from Lake George and wished we had more time there. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The hotel itself is very clean and the decor modern. No tacky floral bedspreads here. We arrived late at night so the kids weren't able to use the pool though we did take a look and it seemed to be clean and well maintained. There was also a hot tub, which is always a plus with me. The fitness room, though small, was impressively equipped and I wished I had more time to squeeze in a workout. Breakfast was more than some stale bagels. There were warm cinnamon buns, assorted breads and muffins, plain omelettes, cheese omelettes, bacon, a pancake maker, fruit, hard boiled eggs, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, etc. We were able to have a healthy, hearty breakfast before hitting the road. Our daughter is considering SUNY Albany (which is just a 10 minute drive from the hotel) and I mentioned this to the young lady at the front desk and she told me that they were in the process of putting together a parents' club that visiting parents could join to get discounts on rooms and neighboring restaurants. Sounds like a great idea and just one more incentive to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmommaNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear travelmommaNyc,

First off we would like to thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany. Also thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is reviews like yours that at the end of the day make us proud that we have done our job correctly and met and exceeded the standards of our guest.

With the demands of a fitness conscious travelers on the rise and myself having an important interest in fitness we recently upgraded our fitness equipment to effectively utilize the space that we have with the most effective equipment.

Finally we do have a program now in place called our Parents Fraternity Club that parents that have students that are attending area colleges can be a part of. Not only does it offer a standard rate for any stay it also offers discounts to local attractions in the area along with area restaurants. We feel the parents have made a commitment for the next 4 years so we should do something for them. Any questions please contact us directly.

Once again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany and we look forward to being your choice hotel in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel had service that some bigger hotels should learn from. the staff was freindly and very helpfull. called ahead and made aspecial requests. It was ll taken care of. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Area is a little shady, but i would stay here again. easy to get here from the NYS thruway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManiBagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
ManiBagga,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Downtown Albany on your most recent stay in Albany, NY. Also thank you for your comments regarding our staff. Guest satisfaction is our main priority in all we do. Traveling can sometime be tiresome and not having the same amenities you may have at home can be frustrating. That is why we try to go above and beyond for every guest to ensure their stay is as comfortable as possible.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to you staying with us again on your next trip to Albany, NY

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olean, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was very clean with modern up-to-date décor. The complimentary breakfast and breakfast area was excellent. Most of all we would like to than Anthony for his outstanding service (front desk staff). Although he was very busy when we were checking in he was friendly, pleasant to both customers and staff, and very accommodating. You would be lucky to have an Anthony at all of your hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank House3133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
House3133,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany for your most recent stay in Albany, NY and your positive comments in your review. We are glad your stay was a pleasant one. Also your comments regarding Anthony's service will not go unlooked (we are busy developing a cloning machine at this very moment). Time after time Anthony's positive and outgoing attitude has been recognized and this time is no different. Superior customer satisfaction is something we strongly encourage on all our hotel employees.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Albany, NY.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for just one night for a show. The only cons: pretty rough area but there are many areas in Albany where it feels kind of rough! The beds were "okay" a little too firm. We did find a really big (looked like coffee) stain on one of the blankets.The many pros: fair price, clean hotel and room, nice modern decor. Parking was a good perk but those lots are kind of tight when the hotel is booked up. The staff we encountered were GREAT. From check in to check out the staff smiled.. Greeted us and really seemed to like their job. A++ for the staff they really made the stay pleasurable. I will be staying here again next week and I hope for a similar experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catny402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
catny402,

First let me start off by thanking you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany and for taking the time to review our hotel. Cleanliness is something we take very serious and always strive to make a priority. I will be notifying our housekeeping and making them aware. I would also like to thank you for the comments surrounding our staff. I believe it is positive comments like yours that makes our employees enjoy their jobs the most. We understand that being away from home can be stressful on some people and feel that sometimes all it takes is an extra smile or an extra helpful restaurant suggestion that makes that easier for our guests and can make that day pleasurable like you mentioned.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Nassau, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We live 30 minutes from hotel. Parked the car and walked to dinner at the Merry Monk ( 2 for 1 mussel dinners on Wednesday) and a concert the TU Center. Very close to venue about 4 blocks. Was able to stop for a drink on the way back to the room. Very nice night away from home. Breakfast was great. Great pool also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrosCrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
CrosCrek,

Thank you for your kind review. I think the new term for stay away from home close to home is a little "Staycation". We are happy that we made that little mini vacation a pleasurable one for you. Next time I might even suggest a dinner cruise on the Dutch Apple which we are conveniently located next to as well.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted to park our car once and walk to a concert at Times Union Center. Sometimes listings SAY you can walk, but really you can't. It actually was true in this case - this hotel really is just 4 short, easy blocks from Times Union Center. No need to deal with parking, gridlock traffic, fees. We stopped and ate at Franklin's Tower on the way. Great spot with outdoor section. (Jack's Oyster House was another good high-end recommendation on the way.) Holiday Inn was very nice - clean, breakfast included, friendly and helpful reception, indoor pool. We walked under the highway out to the Hudson River - turned right to the USS Slater ship, and left to The Barge for drinks and appetizers on the water. And the free shuttle from the hotel came and picked us up there when we called. Perfect.

Room Tip: This is the place to stay if you're seeing a concert/event at Times Union Center. Ask for 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seneca1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXALBANY, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Seneca 1201,

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany was a pleasurable one. We feel that our location does play in an important part of our guests experience of Albany, NY. We are fortunate to be located close to the Hudson River and many other attractions like you mentioned like the Times Union. Next time you might also want to take a cruise on the Dutch Apple which is located conveniently next to the USS Slater.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
4.5 mi away
Best Western Sovereign Hotel - Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to The Times Union Center, Albany Capital Center,The State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and the Port of Albany. Our courtesy shuttle runs from 7am-11pm Monday through Friday and can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station or airport for free! We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing