We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$137
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CrestHill Suites Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveler rating
165
188
96
44
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
188
96
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexpress breakfasttimes union centerfree shuttletrain stationroom was cleancinnamon rollsshuttle servicehudson riverthe hotel offershi expresswalking distancefree breakfastalbany downtownlight sleeperflat screennew yorkpool and hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 512 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Wow!

I'm no great traveller, but when I travel I like to stay in a decent hotel. When you think Holiday Inn, you generally are pretty sure to get a decent room in an ok hotel.

In october the Blue Man Group was performing in Albany so I drove down from Montreal for the show. I wanted a decent hotel within walking distance of the Times Union arena where the concert was held.

I booked online (which was a snap) with confidence knowing it was a Holiday Inn and well, I was pretty sure I couldn't go wrong.

Then curiosity got to me and after I booked I started to read hotel reviews on sites like this one and ouh-lala was I in for a shock! Almost all the reviews I read were awefull, nightmarish! Oh no! The place is going to be a dump!

That is until read a few recent reviews metionning the hotels recent renovations.

And then I arrive at the hotel with my boy and WOW am I ever amazed!

-Ample of convenient parking
-Easy check in
-EXTRA friendly staff!
-Brand new room, clean as a whistle
-Plasma TV in the room
-Clean pool and hot tub, sauna and steam room!
-Very decent "continental" breakfast buffet!
-Walking distance from the Times Union Centre
-Very quiet despite being next to the highway

I'd like to give the management and staff of the hotel 2 thumbs way up. They were friendly and helpfull, always a "hi how are you" or "how is your stay" when I came across them in the hotel.

Pat

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We stayed at the hotel (for 3 days)and was concerned due to the bad prior reviews. As the last reviewer stated, the hotel is totally redone. The hotel was closed for total renovation and now the rooms are modern with all new carpet, bedding, furniture and towels. The breakfast area is bright and clean with many selections. Try the special cinnamon rolls! The business center has several computers and printers available. Do not have any reservations about staying at this property; it is an awesome place to stay. The staff was most accomodating and helpful during the entire stay, striving to exceed our expectations. An all around excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night on 18 Oct 2007. I must admit that I found some of the previous reviews quite disturbing - especially since I'd seen them only after I made a reservation at a non-refundable rate. Alas, though my fears were put to rest. The property has been completely renovated and I found every aspect of the hotel acceptable. My room was very clean and neat as was the lobby and common/breakfast area. Bed was comfortable, linens & towels fresh, new and clean. Location was close to downtown, Empire State Plaza, etc. as well as the highway. Staff were friendly, helpful and capable.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jjjingleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2007

Was excited to get a Suite for 117.00 dollars knowing there was a whirlpool and a bathrobe. The Front desk person was completely incompetent and the opposite of service oriented. Its painted over old walls and elevator same as the old red carpet inn. but the suite was ok, whirlpool was nice, but was told they have no bathrobes on the property even though the website said they offered them in all suites. there are flat screen tv's in each room. suite smelled like smoke and they only offered housekeeping to come up and spray it lol. no offer for other suite even though property was dead (housekeeping never showed)! called on 2 other matters with no response.. rooms are nice service is a 0!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KayDubya66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews