We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rates, decent rooms, good location, nice simple breakfast, and they let dogs stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great rates, decent rooms, good location, nice simple breakfast, and they let dogs stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is a nice simple place. The rooms aren't fancy but are nice, especially for the very low cost. The beds are comfortable (at least for a long-weekend length stay). Even if the decor may be a bit dated or old-school hotel looking everything (counters, sheets, towels, blankets, table) has always been clean.
The hotel has just recently bought a new wireless system with repeaters. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable when we had trouble getting connected with it at first. After that we could connect most of the time. When we couldn't we weren't sure if it was a connection, device, or bandwidth issue. Always had 1-2 bars.
We always enjoy the breakfast. There's basic bread, bagels, cream cheese, english muffins, butter, jelly, doughnuts, muffins, 2-3 cereals, milk, OJ, coffee, and tea. There's 2 toasters and a microwave so multiple people can prep what they want at once. The breakfast materials is our from 6-9 and the staff is great about keeping everything stocked throughout the entire time.
The location is fantastic. It's easy to get to off of 87 and is right near the Colonie Center Mall and all of Wolf Road. This gives lots of options for meals and shopping. There's several gas stations, that aren't over priced for the area, between the hotel and the highway too.
The other point I'd like to make is about the staff, who are very kind and helpful. The main gentleman, Bob, is always happy, smiling, and courteous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    58
    41
    11
    24
See reviews for
42
37
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I visited here with my father and 11 year old son over the weekend and stayed 2 nights. My father had his own room and I had mine. My father's room was updated and had a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave. My room was not (old bedspread and 1980's decor) and had no frills other than soap, shampoo and a dirty ice bucket.

The room itself was clean with a decent bathroom. Good water pressure in the shower. Towels were clean, but scratchy. Broken air conditioner and the fan on the unit was poor. I couldn't even open a window to get any fresh air. Free Wifi was hit or miss and seemed to kick you off the system after about an hour of use. The tv had cable and HBO, but the local channels all came in snowy and unwatchable. Only one outlet in the room to plug in for charging my laptop or phone.

The hallways and stairwells were filthy and dimly lit at night. Since my room was nowhere near my father's, I didn't feel safe walking back to my room after dark. There were quite a few people milling around the stairwells as well.

My room was located at the rear of the motel and near what I believe to be long term residents. They spent all day Sunday playing loud mariachi music and even had a smokey charcoal grill out front of their room. Quite annoying.

OK free breakfast, but the coffee was watered down and weak.

You get what you pay for. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sewalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the reviews I had read here that stated it had improved. Now, I have never stayed here before so I have no idea if it was terrible or not previously. That being said, it was a one night stay for a concert up in Saratoga. The building is obviously older and the decor is certainly less than stellar and you shouldn't be expecting 5 star service but the room was clean (again, way cleaner than I had expected) and the place was quiet. The employees were very polite at check in and check out. If you have to stay in the Albany area and need an inexpensive place to do so, this place will fit the bill nicely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDonadio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reasonable location, reasonable rooms, reasonable staff, reasonable rates, good free breakfast. What more do you want?! Not going to be your favourite ever stay, but did the job for a stop-over when travelling through the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We needed a reasonably priced place to crash over Travers Stakes weekend at Saratoga. This place got the job done. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and the location right near the highway and the restaurants on Wolf Road was good. It was a solid budget motel which was a good place to sleep. The only downside was the air conditioning unit which was very loud and droned on all night, but when you're tired enough, it doesn't matter. The appearance might be a little rough around the edges, but it was clean, quiet enough and not a bad place to spend a couple nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueGold75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The room was clean, all the items were stocked. I would suggest bring an extra pillow because they were very flat. Friendly staff as well. Truly believe they are trying to change everything to make it better. All in all a great price for a great room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was in town with a couple friends for a concert, just looking for an inexpensive place to crash. I have no complaints about this establishment. Easy check in, room was clean, all amenities we used were in perfect working order. Certainly nothing fancy or flashy, but you get what you pay for. It was certainly worth the $, and I would stay here again. Great place if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in the Albany area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncm7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albany
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#31 of 50 in Albany
3.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
1.0 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites / Wolf Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Property: Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
Address: 1630 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing