We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value. Plain, but clean, comfortable, convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Albany
State College, PA
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good value. Plain, but clean, comfortable, convenient.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Easy to find. Helpful and competent staff. Large, clean, comfortable room though very basic decor (e.g., no artwork on the walls). Only complaints we had were the room heater was noisy (we turned it off and were a bit chilly during the night as a result) and the bathroom fan was also noisy. Maybe we're more sensitive to noise than average. When we checked in there was a fire engine call at the station across the street so we were worried, but there weren't any more calls after that one. The street is very busy but we couldn't hear traffic at all. Couldn't hear other guests. Breakfast area was nicer than many economy motels with choices of breads/cereals. Decent coffee. Overall good value. We would stay here again if passing through, but wouldn't want to camp out here very long.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    50
    16
    27
See reviews for
48
48
34
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel held the standards of a travel economy facility very well. Well managed and nice people. It's always nice when the wifi signal is strong and really works. Breakfast was plain and simple but they didn't skimp.

Room Tip: If you're on the 2nd floor, get a room near the outside stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This motel is a fairly typical Econo Lodge. It's convenient if you're traveling through on I-87/I-88/I-90 although it is a bit of a drive to downtown Albany. It was an older motel, but my room was clean and comfortable. The service was good, and I would recommend it. The breakfast was fairly basic (bagels and cereal).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor ME
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Econo Lodge in Albany is located on a main road, easy to find, easy to park and get around. We were only in town one night to visit friends. We found our room to be clean, spacious, and freshly painted. We had no trouble with noise, and there were several trucks in the parking lot when we left. Yes, it's older, but I'm tired of reviews for $50 rooms that seem to expect service and luxuries more appropriate for rooms three time the price. If you want chocolates on the pillow, and brand-new towels, then be willing to pay the extra. We slept well and comfortably. The front desk was courteous and friendly; we did not need any extras, so had no need to ask. We were pleased with our economical stop ($62 for two double beds) and went on our way in the morning refreshed and rested.

Be sure to try Grandma's, just down the road; the pie is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanguare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was very clean and spacious. The decor wasn't too bad either. It was safe and centrally located to everything. I was familiar with Albany as I grew up there as a child. I was visiting because my mom is in Albany Medical Center Hospital. The interstates were very convenient to the Econo Lodge. The price of the motel was extremely reasonable. I would stay there again and recomend it to everyone traveling to Albany. The Capitol is beautiful to visit also.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 232 and we really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Econo Lodge Colonie Center. Yes, this is an older facility and the room does not have the latest decor. Don't let that deter you. The room was large, with a queen size bed. The bed was comfy enough. The bathroom had new granite counter tops and tile floor. The shower was excellent. Continental breakfast had a good variety of items. There are several restaurants within walking distance. We went to La Fiesta, a very good Mexican restaurant and also Truman's, a bar and grill with good hamburgers and pizza. This hotel is only 10-15 minutes from downtown Albany. If you're looking for value for money, this is a good place to stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed there on a motorcycle trip and I asked for a first floor room with parking right by the room. They accomodated my room request and were very friendly. This is an old motel and the room was pretty basic but clean, quiet and safe. There are also several decent restaurants within walking distance too. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peppegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#33 of 50 in Albany
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
2.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Albany - SUNY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall

Property: Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall
Address: 1630 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonie Center Mall Hotel Albany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing