We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel, ideal location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Albany Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Albany Airport
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, ideal location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

If you want a clean, comfortable and conveniently located hotel-then stay here. Right off the highway, near the airport, and steps away to lots of restaurants and shopping. The rooms are adequate and clean. For a quick overnight stay in Albany, this hotel works. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
20
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I travel a lot for work and I am a Marriott Platnium member. I usually avoid staying at the Courtyards because despite the fact they market this as the hotel for "business travelers" it is anytinng but that.

I was running late and called ahead to make sure they knew I would be there. As a frequent traveler I know the later you check in, the chances are you will get the worst room. So I called ahead to let them know I would be checking in later hoping they would assign my room. I checked in at about 10:30pm. No recognition of my Platnium status, no welcome smile. Checked in and was told that for my Platnium status I can receive a free cup of coffee in the morning or an item from the "market" (basically a candy bar). Really , a free cup of coffee in the morning? That's what I get for being Platnium? If I stay at a regular Marriott you get access to the conceirge lounge for breakfast and basicall dinner at night. If I stay at a Residence Inn everyone gets free breakfast. At a Courtyard ..the so called hotel for business travelers you receive nothing..well a free cup of coffee. So much for loyalty. It is just bizare to me that this chain of the Marriott brand hotel markets the business travlers and the most loyal business travelers, staying over 75 nights a year at Marriott brands, you receive nothing but a cup of coffee.

I think I stay at a Courtyard every couple of years and then I am reminded why I don't stay at Courtyard hotels.

This hotel is old and outdated. After checking in I knew that my room would be the worst of the hotel despite calling ahead and despite being a Platnium member. Sure enough, I walked the long hallway down to a small corner room that was freezing with the heat not working correctly. Outdated bathrooms, carpet and old beds.

The person who checked me in could was not necessarily rude but just not very friendly.

I was immediately sorry I book a room here. For that matter, sorry I booked a room at the Courtyard.

No paper delivered to my door, no breakfast but hey for your Platnium status we will give you a free cup of coffee !! She didn't even offer me the points which I thought was standard.

I would never stay here again and I will never stay at a Courtyard again. Just find it very bizare that a hotel that markets to the frequent business travelrs does not recognize them.

I really need to rethink my whole Marriott loyalty. Maybe it's time to switch brands.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any "good" rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina R, General Manager at Courtyard Albany Airport, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. I really appreciate your feedback. It allows us to share with our staff what our guests think of our hotel and also helps other travelers make decisions about where they want to stay. I want to sincerely apologize and let you know we are always looking for ways to provide better service for our guests and have taken your comments into consideration for further improvement. We strive to offer excellent service for all our guests and I am sorry that we fell short of that expectation. We appreciate your loyalty as a Platinum member and wanted to let you know that starting March 3rd of 2014 not only do Platinum Members receive a Market item or Starbucks beverage but this is in addition to 400 points which is automatic upon check in. Again, I apologize if this was not communicated properly by our staff. Thank you for your feedback and I hope we will get the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a few days on business. This courtyard is located in a prime location for shopping and eating and is very close to the airport property but just far enough to avoid the noise of planes or traffic.The only downside was there was a small cafe in the lobby so free breakfast isnt there.. it appeared by the setup even coffee required payment. The rooms were we kept, staff was friendly, pool, weight room and the wifi was good. I would surely stay here again when in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LoneTraveler401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised (and happy) with this hotel. We got a great deal on the price (we'd booked about four months in advance and paid for it) and paid less than $100 during the Christmas holidays. The staff was pleasant when we arrived late -- and even helped us with amenities (toothbrushes/toothpaste) after some lost luggage with a smile and sympathy. The bed was very comfortable and my husband couldn't stop talking about how comfortable the pillows were. All in all, we were impressed and happy with our choice and -- if we arrive into ALB late again -- we are likely to be back if we can get the same rate.

There were only a few downsides (only two of which were under their control). First, the location of the toilet was very poorly executed. There was literally 2 inches between the front of the toilet boil and where the door is. So don't even think about closing the door while you're sitting down. Second, we arrived at 10:50pm and didn't have our luggage, which meant we arrived after the last free shuttle went to the hotel (11pm). So we ended up just renting a car a bit early. Third, we had the misfortune to be there when a group of high schoolers were there and they were very loud running up and down the hall. But once they went to bed, the insulation in the rooms was okay. The front desk was also apologetic about this when we left.

Overall -- a big thumbs up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here on business. Average Courtyard. You know what you are getting here. Would have rather stayed in Marriott across street, but they were booked. The room was very clean, and the furniture was in in very good shape. The lobby is very nice as well. Nice chairs to work in, as well as a great bar with beer/wine, and light snacks. Great for if you do not want to leave the hotel. There are a couple very good places to eat right across the street. One is the Macaroni Grill, and the other is a Seafood place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fool for the Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice Courtyard near lots of eating options. Front desk staff was cheerful, helpful and efficient. Room was clean and up-to-date and in-room ventilation was also very good. Was here for only one night after a long 4 hour drive and had a good nights rest and productive work session.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zhq01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My son wanted to treat me to a special night at this hotel while on a trip together to NY...he had spent his last money on this room and we looked forward to a fabulous experience. The room was over $200 for one night. I asked for a senior discount and was told it would be $169. When the bill came, it was $194.66. Wish they had told me the REAL price sooner. The clerk was not friendly, no smile. After entering the room, we called for a wake-up call...no answer. Then tried the front desk number, no answer. This was at 9:45 pm. We had to set the clock alarm. I got up the next day and went down for coffee and a little breakfast and was told it was not included with the room because I had a special rate. I'LL SAY!!! I spoke to the manager and he had no apology, not even a coffee to offer me. The night before I stayed in a Quality Inn for $59 and had coffee, a Danish and a banana that was free for all guests. They even had waffles and eggs. I will never stay at a Marriott again, and would encourage others to avoid them...the name no longer means an upscale experience. Also, the coverlet on my bed smelled like dirty laundry...I told the manager and he did not apologize, just looked surprised and said he'd tell the maid.

Room Tip: Pick one in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Albany Airport

Property: Courtyard Albany Airport
Address: 168 Wolf Rd, Albany, NY 12205-1116
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Albany
#15 Business Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Albany Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Marriott
Albany Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing