We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Chinese Food”
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
Ranked #89 of 687 Restaurants in Albany
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Latham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Chinese Food”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We go to Chang's about once a month or so. It's a bit of a pain to park at Colonie Center, but it's worth it. We almost always sit at the bar for quicker service. My DH always orders the same food items (dumplings and Mongolian Beef) and and I always order from their gluten-free menu. I love their chicken lettuce wraps as well as the egg drop soup and spicy chicken, but this last time we visited, I decided to try some dishes I'd never had before. I ordered the GF Vietnamese crab salad as an appetizer (which could have been my whole dinner for the size of it, not to mention the price $16.95), but after the first bite, I had to send it back as all I could taste was lemon (which I dislike a lot). But I really enjoyed the beef a la Sichuan. Overall, we are usually very satisfied with our visits to Chang's. I'd recommend going if you like freshly made Chinese food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    44
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“An "off" night”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I recently had the occasion to meet some friends for dinner at P. F. Chang's at Colonie Ctr. Having dined there many times before, I was surprised at how disappointed I was this particular evening. The restaurant was quite empty and yet the hostess seated us at a table right near the door. The music was going full bore which made it hard to hear our somewhat soft-spoken waiter. Even though we asked to have the music turned down a bit, I don't think that ever happened. I have never understood why restaurants insist on blaring music that is far from "music to dine by". Although our waiter was very pleasant, he seemed a bit out of his element that evening. I am sure it was just an "off" night for him. Our soup and appetizer were very tasty. My friend ordered a chicken entrée but was delivered the beef version (OK, mistakes in the kitchen happen) and a replacement was brought out quite quickly but with white rice, not the brown rice ordered. Again, not a big deal. However, the chicken in my sesame chicken wasn't very good quality meat (a fair amount of fat and gristle) and the brown rice tasted as if it had been reheated. The accumulation of dirty dishes and glasses on the table through the night was a distraction as well. Would I go back? Yes, but with expectations of a better meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Family Friendly..........”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family of 4 adults and 4 children ate at PF Changs this past weekend and throroughly enjoyed it again. Service was excellent and spot on, the food was hot and tasty and the price for 8 people was reasonable. I highly recommend this restaurant to you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good bar”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I just needed something to eat before heading back to the hotel room, so I stopped in and ordered some scallops. They brought me shrimp instead. I told them that it was ok, but they gave me the shimp anyway and then brought what I ordered. All great. The bar staff is very nice as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great food...”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

great selection of food and prepared to taste. There were many vegetarian options which was a good surprise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ravMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing