We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive, clean motel for short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Albany Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, clean motel for short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

The rooms at this motel have been recently refurbished so they are in good condition with new carpets, furniture and bathrooms. We found the bathroom to be of above-average quality for a budget motel. The outside of the motel is the normal Red Roof style with exterior corridors. The motel was quiet the night we stayed. Overall a good choice if you need an inexpensive place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 4travelerswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    143
    79
    31
    26
See reviews for
96
61
62
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

Needed a place to stay for one night. Seems we can always count on a Red Roof Inn. Clean and Dependable!
Also, truly pet friendly......not just lip service! No designated "pet rooms"....every room is clean! No dirty hallways to walk through, doors lead right to the outside, but are tight closing and the outside noise stays outside! We love Red Roof Inns!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — ecommended
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

To their credit, Red Roof has done upgrades on rooms in an attempt to look like a real hotel. New fixtures and floors. Out with the cliche art work and in with some kind of hip appeal. Still just a motel, but with bigger TV and internet access.
Not good if you have kids, no pool, but there is an Olive Garden next door.
The major issue on our visit was the airport Jet Traffic - right out side the window ! When the wind blows from the north-west, all the jets come in over your room, great if you like jet noise. The photo here is from inside guest room. rm. 338.
So if you stay here, get a room on the Wolf road side. If you have a choice, go to the new Hilton right next door. Red roof is a good value despite the noise.

  • Liked — New furnishings
  • Disliked — Jet noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Book room on Wolf Road side
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dukegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

One night stop before heading for New York City. Good price, clean and enough space for two adults. I normally feel safer with a door in a hallway. These rooms have an access directly on the balcony. I would probably choice one with an indoor room next time. But if you don’t mind it, this Hotel is a good place for the price.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irondequoit, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2006

We booked this room because we needed an overnight stop before we headed west across NY state - and it seemed popular with the wise travelers on this site. Price was of primary importance, as was convenience. With taxes all added in, our stay cost us just 71.00 - and it was a Saturday night! It is extremely convenient to the throughway, but we didn't hear cars all night (which can frequently be a down side of convenience). The room was obviously recently redecorated and looked pretty up-to-date. There was even pergo-type flooring on the little bathroom floor and a nice bowed-out shower curtain rod so that you weren't accosted by the shower curtain while you were trying to get clean. The room was very clean and the bed, although not luxurious, was comfortable. All-in-all we had a good night's rest and were up and raring to go in the AM.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2005

My father has a habit of staying at this Red Roof Inn as a stopping point on long business road trips. The accommodations are very basic, but consistently of very high quality. I personally visited a king bedded room in October 2005 and a room with two doubles in November 2005. Both rooms were very clean and well maintained. Nothing broken, nothing out of place. Tastefully decorated, but again, simple.

Staff have always been flexible and professional.

Hotel provides T-Mobile wireless access at $9.99 per day-- signal strength looked excellent.

Just watch out, it's easy to drive right by and miss the entrance, and that would be a shame.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjs7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
187 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

From the outside, this hotel doesn't look like much. It is motel style with the doors on the outside of the hallway. I don't care of this as I am a woman travelling by myself and I don't feel that is as safe as a hotel where you need to go through the lobby to get to the rooms. But, the room did have a double lock on the door and after I put my suitcase in front of the door, I felt secure.

The lobby is average, parking OK. The location is great. Easy to find and lots of restaurants to choose from in the area, not too far from the highway or the airport.

My room was much nicer than I'd expected. It had a large L shaped desk and a trendy, blue colored desk lamp. The bathroom was small but updated with mustard and sienna colored faux stucco walls. I was pleasantly surprised with the look of the room.

There is an elevator and also vending machines.

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel for budget travellers. But for business travellers, there is no high speed internet access.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bugfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Albany Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Albany Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Albany Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn Albany Airport
Address: 188 Wolf Road, Albany, NY 12205
Location: United States > New York > Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Albany Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany is the capital city of New York State, located at the southern gateway to the magnificent Adirondacks and the northern edge of the scenic Hudson River Valley. Vermont and Western Massachusetts are less than an hour's drive away, we're midway between Syracuse and New York City along the New York State Thruway. At Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, we're proud of our city and its heritage, and want to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. We offer Wi-Fi Internet connectivity in all guest rooms, voice mail in all guest rooms, elevator service, and the convenience of exterior corridors. Take advantage of our meeting facilities, our proximity to nearby restaurants, pick-up and drop off laundry service, discounts at local fitness facilities, and our pet-friendly hospitality! When coming to New York's capital district, enjoy our convenient, remodeled Red Roof Inn Albany Airport, your best economy lodging choice in New York's capital district! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Albany Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Albany Airport Hotel Albany
Albany Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing